We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My own personal beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bersatu Nipah Chalets

Save Saved
You added Bersatu Nipah Chalets to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bersatu Nipah Chalets
Nipah Beach, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
1 review
“My own personal beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family of 5 children (3 teenagers & 7-yr old twins spent 4 nights & 5 days(19-23 June 14)in Nipah.
This is my 9th visit to Tioman Island but my first to Bersatu Nipah. Each beach be it in Salang, Tekek or Genting has its own uniqueness but Nipah is the place if you want peace, serenity, time for reflection or just doing nothing.
But we did canoeing, snorkelling and sand castling. My hubby was ecstasic when he caught many fish in the open sea. WE were jubilant to eat the fresh catch in sweet & sour sauce cooked by Amy, the chef at minimal cost. She also acceded to our request for 'cucur ikan bilis' or anchovies fritter for an afternoon tea.
yes, one of my teenager gals hated the place at first but realised it was the best place for her to reflect.
My hubby & I intend to visit this place again. Just the two of us!:))

The only downside is the ferry service back to Mersing. The co needs to revamp their service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    7
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The place is amazing... Wonderful beach, magnificent snorkeling, the ever changing jungle! Perfect Spot! But sadly the owner of this chalet is a greedy one! When we arrived at Genting his son (waiting for tourists to bring them to their destination via taxi boat) wanted to charge us and other people the double price (80RM) than the regular one... after a phonecall of us to his father at the chalet it was suddenly the half of the price (and we all misheard when his son told us the price). Anyway 40RM for 10Min. taxiboating sounds better especially in comparison to 35RM to come to Tioman Island with the ferry over 50km waterway. When we arrived we realized that the booked STANDARD ROOM HAS NO A/C AND NO TV LIKE IN THE DESCRIPTION AT AGODA. The owner told us that this is Agodas fail and we have to tell them... haha everybody knows Agoda don't manage the content of the information, that's the job of the acommodation... And this lie is definately quite deliberate because this persuades you to book this chalet! But they have definately no room with A/C or TV. I mean you don't need it and no chalet at Nipah Beach have A/C or TV but: The two other accomodations here have nicer hosts, nicer rooms and you feel better when you don't get soaked! PS: The mattress in Room 7 (Standard Double) is torn, the room is tiny little and has bad water pressure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had done 2 separate day trips to nipah in previous years and always vowed to return and actually stay We should have stayed longer .... It is simple, it is basic , but it is a gorgeous setting that does belong in a Spielberg movie nestled in amongst the palm trees directly under the dragons horns
Take plenty of books, hire kayaks , snorkel.
Amy's cooking is simple but delicious especially the chilli chicken
My only con? No wine :(
We hope to return again for a few nights next time.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you want to spend a couple days off everything, this is the place. The beach and the sea are beautiful, staff is helpful.

However, beware that if you're traveling during the monsoon season (and you should: perfect weather, lower prices and less tourists), Pulau Tioman and Nipah are really difficult to reach! The hotels hardly answer their e-mails and phones, and our biggest problem is that there is only one ferry/day from Mersing to Tioman. We had planned to spend 3 days at Bersatu Nipah Chalets and had warned them about our arrival time. We arrived at the ferry terminal in Mersing at 2PM (as planned) but they told us that the only ferry of the day had left at 1PM! Of course, this is not directly linked to Bersatu, but I expect from someone owning a resort on Tioman to know the ferry times and to warn their clients about it (especially when we had told them that we would be in Mersing at 2PM, they should have known that we would miss the ferry!). We missed our first night at Bersatu, and when we asked for a refund, they told us to contact agoda.com (which, of course, don't answer our e-mails). Needless to say we won't get our money back...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pros: Beautiful absolute beach front location adjacent to small forest river with isolated village and unspoilt jungle behind. Friendly laid-back staff. Clean beach with gorgeous sunsets and wildlife (monkeys).
Cons: Pricey (for Malaysia eg RM10 fried rice) food with limited choices, nothing much to see in the water unless you go to the next beach and even then (snorkelling Juara on the other side was amazing). Lots of smoke - sometimes from burning leaves in the evening which may blow into your hut all night (as it did with us) also from staff lighting up ciggies in the restaurant next to you. While we were there they were constructing another hut so lots of hammering and drilling. The other Nipah resort has a more sociable vibe, regular volleyball games run by friendly Abbas but more limited restaurant. Water supply is untreated forest water so may give you some problems if you have mixed drinks. Difficult to book detached room - ten emails and then finally on Agoda.

Room Tip: One detached room and two semi-detached rooms facing beach. Detached room was difficult to book - t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were (mu hubby,my son and me) at Bersatu Nipah Chalets for 4 nights last month. Its is very relaxing experience with all the friendly people around us the owner Abang Jalil and Kak Amy were very accomodating and wonderful . Fantastic couples who made us feel at home .The boatman DOn was fantastic , our son loved him and we must say that he is very caring and friendly person who also went out of his way to make enjoy the snorkeling experience . Hats off to him. overall all the staffs were very friendly and accomodating . The caretaker Pak Ali was very helpful and firendly and not forgetting his staff Kopi -O .One of the nights they arranged barbecue for us at the beach on request . beautiful with candlelights . Food at cafe was simple but healthy and clean , we never had any problems . THe price is a little expensive as the lagoon village was away from the main town and all the foodstuffs can only be transported by boat but its was worth the price . They also prepare certain items on request . You just have to ask to get them . THere were no hot water in the bathroom but they will supply on request . Since there were ony 10 chalets all the guest are known to each other as we met everyday at the cafe and we also played volleyball together . THe beach had beautiful golden sand and you can see the river water from the mountain joining the sea right in fron of your chalet . The night sleeps were beautiful as you can hear the waves sound just at your doorstep. Overall it was abeautiful unforgettable experience .Our son enjoyed all the 5 days playing at the beach , swinmming . kayakking at the river , snorkelling and so on until he wanted to extend our stay there . the sea water was so clear as you can see the colourful fishes inside . There were no corals or rocks at the chalets beach area and very suitable for swimming . If you are planning atrip there , please bring along your insect repellent , mosquito spray as there sandflies . You can also bring along some food items like bread , canned food , instant noodle , biscuits canned drinks .
Dont miss this location as its worth the money and you will never regret although the chalets are very simple . The beds were clean .the room was back to basic . Other locations at Tioman island were loaded with corals at the beach side and not safe for swimming

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same size , with one double bed and one sngle bed , the charges differs accordi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Overall: I think that this is the best among the seaside accommodation. I would like to come back to Nipah, lovely place again.

1. Location
The chalet is on the beautiful and quiet beach in Kampung Nipah. Completely isolated from busy and noisy city. Landscape changes drastically between low tide and high tide. This is one of my favorite place on the earth.

2. Chalet
There are 2 buildings; one has 10 guest rooms (2 rooms are only for staff), and another has reception and restaurant. Guest room is not well-maintained, but I can feel the atmosphere of village life. There are no internet or cellphone connection. I have been clam during my stay.

3. Dinning
Guests have meals at the restaurant of the chalet because there are no other restaurant, shop or bar. Meals cooked by manager's wife are delicious but simple.

4. Airport transfer
I have booked airport transfer by phone. The fare is RM 150 one way. Make sure that there is no ATM around the chalet. It took half an hour from Tioman airport to the chalet by boat.

5. Staff
Very kind and friendly. I have never met such staffs of accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bersatu Nipah Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bersatu Nipah Chalets

Address: Nipah Beach, Pulau Tioman, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Rompin District > Pulau Tioman
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty lodging in Pulau Tioman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a humble island resort sitting in the south west of Tioman Island.Our room are a long house type of chalet. We also have a restaurant with seating capacity for 30 pax or maximum of 80 pax at any onetime. Apart from the single and double room that we provide, we also have an ample space by the Nipah Beach for campers who prefer outdoor environment overlooking the open sea. We do serve barbeque on request with minimum of 10 pax and normally on the weekends and public holidays. Outdoor sports like volleyball, kayaking, snorkeling, island hopping, fishing, and jungle trekking are available for you to enjoy. We are also located near to the Asah Waterfall(biggest waterfall in Tioman Island). Boat services are available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bersatu Nipah Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bersatu Nipah Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.