We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill to your Saves list
Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill
Jalan Lady Guillemard | Darul Makmur, Bukit Fraser 49000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Bukit Fraser B&B and Inns
selangor
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

The best hotel to stay away form the hustle and bustle of the city life and city dwellers. Excellent holiday spot for couples who loves green and peaceful holidays on top the hill.Frasers is very cold at night and chill in the day time and this hotel provides us a comfort stay. The food is moderate but the service at front office is excellent.
The room is in condition and well maintained . The facilities in the room is useable and caters to our needs. It was indeed a pleasant stay in this hotel.

Thank you .Happy New Year

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    24
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
23
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We were a bit nervous booking our holiday with this inn because of the numerous bad reviews here. But to our pleasant surprise, the staff there were very friendly, the rooms were clean (they were a bit old, but maintenance was quite OK) and the buffet breakfast provided is the standard fare for hotels in this price range.

It's proximity to the town is a definite plus as we could walk to town (about 3 min walk) yet it was far enough away that we couldn't hear the town noise. We took the Garden View room and requested that it be facing the hill.

Apparently they only have 5 rooms with queen sized beds (golf view room) so do book in advance!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
175 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

We booked this hotel for a two night stay in February 2010 with some trepidation having read the reviews posted on Trip Advisor. However, using the hotel website, we emailed a request for reservation. We did receive a quote on a form to fill out to confirm the reservation. Due to security reasons we decided that we would fax the hotel the form. An e-mail confirmed this and a fax number was given. We faxed the form (and received a confirmation that it was successfully delivered). We e-mailed the hotel seeking confirmation of receipt. No response for days. After numerous further e-mails, we finally received a response stating that the hotel had not received the fax and could we re-send. We e-mailed back that we would not but asked them to hold the room. So as you can read not a very auspicious start.

On arrival at check-in, out comes the fax, the room was ready and the whole process took only a few minutes. It sure would have been nice to have received a confirmation e-mail prior to our departure. The room was large and relatively clean. The bedding was fine as were the floors. However the bathroom walls could have been cleaner. Towels were fine. Amenities only included a small soap. But it was much better than anticipated given the reviews. Breakfast was approached again with some hesitation given the reviews. It was fine, not great but fine. We had hot omelettes or scrambled eggs on demand, baked beans, a very good bread pudding and sauce on the first day, with similar dishes on the second. Cereal was limited to two choices. The Asian food looked OK but we did not try it. The coffee however was awful, so we switched to tea. Since there was no fruit we decided to ask for some. We were gracefully given a plate of fruit, no charge. So all in all the breakfast was much better than described in some reviews.

Bukit Fraser is very small and the hotel is centrally located in the village. There is only one road going in and out of the town. The new second road has washed out and has not been rebuilt. There are only three independent restaurants in town. We ate at the Hill View for excellent Chinese food. The restaurant is nothing to look at, but the service, price and food are all excellent. We met a man of Chinese descent in the hotel, who was also at the same restaurant. He asked us how we liked the food and we told him we had really enjoyed it. He said that the food was genuine Hananese style Chinese food. The main attractions of Bukit Fraser are the walking trails. It is a lovely cool respite from the Kuala Lumpur. It took us about three hours to drive from Kuala Lumpur city centre.

In looking again at the reviews, it seems to me that people are expecting five star service at a two or three star hotel. If five star service is what you want, then don’t stay at the Shahzan. But if you want affordable and clean accommodation in the centre of town, then this hotel is a good choice, understanding that it is a two star hotel in our view, with an enhanced hot breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

We checked into the hotel after a long 2 hours drive along trunk roads packed with lorries. We stepped in to the room, we were astonished by the motel similarities. Although the room costs us aroung RM 180 per night, they gave us a room which I can only classify as a unworthy.

The walls were tainted by water marks and by the looks of it, we were not expecting a comfortable stay. The bed was ridden with bed bugs and the room was filled with a musky stench due to the lack of inhibitance and high humidity levels.

The lobby area was nothing of interest at all. They had a restaurant which was un-manned and we had to wait for about 15 mins before someone came to take our orders. We ordered a local cuisine which comprised of squid cooked with dried chilly and cashew nuts & a vegetable. What we got instead, was an overpriced, tasteless plate of disappointment. The hotel is generally aged and unmaintained and staff head count was obviously not enough to support a good service. Having had this experience, we are sure not to ever step foot into this resort again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Things that I like:
1. Location is good
2. Nice large balcony with relaxing view (Golf View)
3. Room - Just OK

Things I didn't like:
1. The facility is very dated and needs some serious upgrading and renovation
2. Breakfast ..very poor quality margarine (no butter) !! LOL
3. Overpriced

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We didn't plan to go to Fraser's Hill actually. However, due the hot weather in KL, we drag ourselves through the winding roads from Kuala Kubu Bharu up to the resort of Fraser's Hill.

When we arrived in Fraser's Hill, the area seems so nice and untouched.. Shahzan Inn is one of those good rated hotels in that area. It was rated 3 star (but we don't know by whom). We were given a room but the rate is shockingly expensive for a 3-star hotel.

In describing the room..... well... imagine this... we are now in the 21st century.... take the back to the future ride and go to the 80s.... That's where you will find this hotel at its peak. The rooms are a so-so. I get claustrophobic when I enter the bathroom. The corridor is so low (I wonder whether they pass the Uniform Building Bye-laws or not). However, the room is just cozy (maybe because of the cold weather)

After 12 midnight, they switch off most of the corridor lights (very dangerous if you can't see well in the dark) and basically nothing to do after dark, you will spend most of the time lounging around at the lobby or go for a cold night stroll.

The food is terrible. imagine... a 3-star hotel charging you RM45++ per person for a buffet dinner that is just simply not worth it. Speaking of breakfast, I really suggest any of you to take a short drive or walk to the stalls next to the mosque for a "Roti Canai". That is even more fulfilling that jamming your throat with half-star rated fried noodles and "so-called orange juice" that is actually low quality Orange Cordial. To the chef, perhaps butter is not in his dictionary as margarine is used as spread...

Personally, Shahzan Inn is a resort that really needs refurbishment and perhaps new staff. Although the current staff is just as warm as the climate in KL, but they really need to open their minds and perhaps rebuild the hotel to be much better. I hope that they are aware that they still receives a lot of patrons due to the fact that they are the ONE and ONLY hotel there (the rest are apartments or private bungalows).

However, thanks to the staff and the cold weather there, our stay was QUITE enjoyable but pls replace your chef as I think that I can cook better than him

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Great view from balcony. Room furnishings very tired and patched. No plug in washbasin but good shower with efficient hot and cold. Breakfast pretty bad, very poor selection of cereal, no fruit, fruit juice diluted until it was impossible to determine of what it was supposed to taste. very poor quality margarine - no butter. Omlette OK. No safe in room. Staff delightful, very cheerful and smiling. Evening dining ok.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill

Address: Jalan Lady Guillemard | Darul Makmur, Bukit Fraser 49000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Raub District > Bukit Fraser
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bukit Fraser
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shahzan Inn Fraser`s Hill Hotel Bukit Fraser

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shahzan Inn Fraser's Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.