We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 3 Star Anymore” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Selesa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Selesa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Selesa Beach Resort
5th Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Port Dickson
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Not 3 Star Anymore”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have been a frequent visitor to this hotel since the day they were called Regency Hotel till they change to a new management and changed its name to Selesa Beach Hotel.
I normally will try not to go to this hotel if I visit Port Dickson but due to last minute booking unavailability of other hotels/resort, I therefore have no choice but to stay at this hotel. Not surprising to find out that they still have room available on the day that I wanted to stay with my family when I called at 4pm on the same day.
Looks like they have painted the hotel with different paint color but to a much worst color choice and reduced the look and feel into looking like a budget hotel. The rooms are basic and still doesn’t look impressive even after refresh job done. I can see that they have change the room color, curtain and bed head board, that’s it. The rest looks the same.
Paid RM260 for 2 single bed room for one night with breakfast for 2 which I consider reasonable. The food served for breakfast was decent for Malaysian food choices. They normaly charge RM15r per adult for breakfast.
Few things that I like about the hotel;
1. The location – near to the pasar malam and happening place
2. Nice beach and sand area
3. Near to eating place by the beach – just next door
4. Nice and clean surrounding
Few things that I don’t like about this hotel;
1. Old looking hotel
2. Looks like a budget hotel
3. Limited parking
4. Slow room service
5. Not so friendly staff
The hotel is no longer in my list of hotel that I want to stay when I visit Port Dickson due to the drop in its standard. I notice the following during my recent visit:
- They do not provide pool towel as they keep saying that all the towels are taken and most of it has been sent to laundry. However, I didn’t see anyone at the pool with hotel towels at all.
- No life guard even after few incidents where small children have lost their life in the pool
- ALLOWING GUEST TO SWIM WITH FULL ATTIRE.. You will see guests wearing polo shirt, 3qtr pants and long sleeve shirt in the pool. Btw, I stepped on a tudung brooch which was at the bottom of the pool.

Sad to see a good hotel with good reputation over 5 yrs ago is going downward in becoming a budget hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    15
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
30
12
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I am here now when writing this review,(21/12/2012) doomsday :p.. i really like staying here,maybe i got a neat room compared to others.Yet, this is the best place so far in PD. But really.... there is a lot of room for improvements such as replacing the old furniture like the side bed table with chanel and volume control... man... that was the technology of the jurrasic era...hehe... probably a 32" tv would be better compared to current 19"@22" tv..thus that is good enough for me as i'm more to the beach. overall this is the nicest in pd so far for now that i visit.surely will come again... off the school holiday perhaps...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The only thing bad about the place was the food spread breakfast, lunch and dinner were poor in variety and standard. The rooms were good clean and neat, the service of the check in and check know out staff was good. The beach was good great for kids shallow and hardly any waves.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just randomly picked a hotel from the net and i came across this beach resort in Port Dickson. Well..Port Dickson is not far from Kuala Lumpur but just for the sake of a brief getaway so i made my reservation.
OMG...the resort was just too average. I've booked a deluxe superior room. The room was spacious but everything was 'old' and shaggy. Have to remind myself next time not to pay more then i should. There was a blockage in the drain of the bathroom and i have to call for the maintenance in order to make sure that i would drown myself while in the tub. The LCD television or whatever it was have its own mind in controlling its volume. I have to lip read to know the conversations. Then it was time to go to bed.... and suddenly the air-conditioner tried to turn the room into an igloo... pacing here and there after trying meticulously adjusting the degree of coldness i went to sleep..the only thing that soothed me when i opened my eyes that morning was the pool. It looked inviting...

Room Tip: ask for the room overlooking the sea. it helps.. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here for a three day vacation with my fiancee..it turns out that the hotel was just an 'ok' for us..but not excellent nor great at all..the service of the restaurant there is very bad..or i cn say worse..no greeting or smilling when u approach them..n the worst of them all,we found a crockcroach at the dining area..the hairdryer in the room had a 'run out' n almost burn my hand..its not safe at all..upon our check out..we have a few extra bags that we have to carry..the bellman there don't have the initiative to help with our bags..instead just showed us the reception..this is enough reason for us to never come back again..thats all..no value for money...

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel over the years, and long ago it used to be The Regency. Now its been taken over by a management that seems to have let things slip and the rooms are musty and dingy, esp in the corners. Service was friendly although it took a few calls to get towels in the room ( there were none when we checked in). Probably best to give it a miss if better options are available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is categorised as "old" but sufficient basic facilities are provided and available for guest. located in nice area with direct private access to the beach. Room size is ok with basic tea & coffee making facilities available in the room, small fridge and TV but some TV channels are not that clear, toiletries (only shampoo & soap). Food wise - traditional Malaysian food but if you want to taste better and varieties Malaysian food, drive out to the many food stalls around the area. Overall, ok.

Room Tip: Block A which has seaview and direct/nearer access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Selesa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selesa Beach Resort

Address: 5th Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Selesa Beach Resort is nestled on a stretch of white sandy beach on Malaysia's West Coast. With a scenic view of the Malacca Straits, Selesa Beach Resort is an ideal retreat for a getaway or convention venue. Easily accessible via the North South Expressway, it is just an hour away from the ever bustling city of Kuala Lumpur and historical Malacca and 45 minutes drive from the Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA). Selesa Beach Resort welcomes you with a truly Malaysian Hospitality. With 213 elegantly appointed guests rooms and suites, the resort offers a comfortable Four Star hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Selesa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Selesa Beach Hotel Port Dickson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Selesa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.