We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible room design; functionally poor” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avillion Port Dickson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Avillion Port Dickson to your Saves list
Avillion Port Dickson
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3rd Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BFF Retreat
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Port Dickson
Pantai Tengah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible room design; functionally poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I stayed here for business for 5 days. I couldn't enjoy the luxuries of the resort because I didn't have the luxury of time. Two things that pissed me big time:
(i) Design of chalet - how much time would you spend in your bedroom and how much in your bathroom? Well, surely Avillion thinks otherwise because the bathroom is very well lit and the bedroom has just three lamps with no overhead lights. So all evening, while you work or relax, you sit in a dark room and I don't like it.
(ii) WiFi - many one star hotels in the region offer better WiFi than Avillion. It has poor strength and tends to disconnect every few minutes. Even a WhatsApp image of 150 kB took 10-15 s to load. That is how bad it is, that is when you can connect.

Food is OK, breakfast could be improved with options on bakery and vegetarian items.

The planting of coconuts and arrangement of wooden structures is good and beautiful. However, it makes it very congested.

I hope I don't have to stay here again. I prefer Lexis a few kms away.

Room Tip: I am told chalets close to lobby have better WiFi connectivity. That would be chalets starting with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    337
    129
    94
    67
See reviews for
344
206
18
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Selangor, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall the place is nice, comfortable and well kept. They have petting zoo which is very good for kids to explore the nature rather than spending most of the time in the pool.
Room is spacious and a great sea view.
The downturn is to park across the road. Carpark near to hotel is always full due to peak season.
If you have babies which on bf the chiller is not cold enough. However their kitchen will help to keep it for you.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Took the free shuttle bus provided by Avillion to PD Town, but the bus did not come as promised to pick us back. Had to call Avillion to ask for the bus. When I feedback to the manager (this very arrogant and defensive man called Yaafar), his so called apologies were not the least sincere. Worse still, he said since this is a free service, I should not be expecting too much. Ridiculous, if Avillion is not keen to provide the free shuttle service, then just don't show the shuttle service time so prominently on the TV screen in the lobby. I am very disgusted by the service standards and especially puzzled why such a person without any service attitude can raise up to become a manager. The management ought to review their promotion requirement. Anyway, I will NEVER return or recommend anyone to stay in this kind of place.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The thoughtfulness of the builder/ designer was apparent as you walk along the gardens and spot heartwarming messages. The pet farm and roaming peacocks were especially nice touches. But we still couldn't wait to check out and have even cancelled our breakfasts.
1. We were here on a Fri and checkin staff insisted we have only 1 room booked though we'd booked 2. After showing my confirmation emails, they still asked if I hadn't checked in already. Took a real long time to finally get our rooms. No smiles no apologies. Probably overworked.
2. We took a garden chalet facing the sea. It must have been glorious when first built. But signs of wear and tear were everywhere from the table, bed and especially the bathroom/ toilet. The wood on the shower door is already half rotten.
3. We eagerly anticipated the water slide and pools for the kids but sank our heads with great disappointment when we saw how crowded and murky the water was. Didn't have much choice but to still use the pool as the kids were roaring to go. After some time in the pool, one of us broke out in hives and we finally decided it was really too filthy. Deckchairs were limited but don't fret if you don't get one as the deckchairs cushions were badly stained and dirty. It's a 24hour pool which makes one wonder when it ever gets cleaned. My room is quite a distance away from the pool but I could still hear screams and play at midnight.
4. Mosquitoes galore in the room though we had the bathroom door closed and aircon on.
5. Considering the above and having paid ~500 ringgit for a night, I'd say it's really poor value.

Still something must be going right for this resort as it's packed and we were given a letter to not expect to get a late checkout as rooms are full! U bet we were out as soon as we could!

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place was awesome with all the tropical setting (despite the flies) and the room was ok and good enough for resting and sleeping. The window and doors are old and mottled and cracking. One bad thing about here is there would be no wifi especially if you're staying at the furthest corner of the chalet (no phone signal either, perhaps it will be good if you are on leisure but not when you are on business trip).

Foods are ok, flies are annoying.
And would be good if they have buggy service for customers wouldn't need to walk and run in the uncovered areas to their room when it's raining and get all wet.

Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Receptionist are nice and friendly. Beach was short and dirty. The service of waiters/waitresses could be better such as refilling food and add more plates(Imagine going to a buffet without plates to take your food. Not too pleasant right?). Food wise, not much choices. I'd noticed that they served almost the same dessert from breakfast, lunch and dinner. Room was clean but the bath tub was dirty. I have to clean it myself to use it. The most disappointing part of my stay is going for a massage at AviSpa. The spa receptionist recommended me a "famous masseur" who sleeps during the therapy session. Made a complaint and all I got was "I am sorry". Nevertheless, the ambience was relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The general setting, layout and landscaping of the property is fantastic however there are some aspects of the hotel that is not too pleasing.
1. The beach is NOT great - its short n dirty
2. Bathroom floor was clogged and didnt look well cleaned
3. Toilet and bathroom was small compared to the 'room' both + bathtub + closets are located
(checkout at hotel website)
4. Checking in was long and tidious at the hot and stuffy lobby - no air con, only fan
5. Even though it was stated at the hotel website there's wifi in the room, but it was very very weak...almost negligible

Room Tip: Get a room furthest from the pool and dining, in other words the main building. Its noisy especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avillion Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avillion Port Dickson

Address: 3rd Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avillion Port Dickson 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with the architecture of an Old World Malay fishing village in mind, the resort fuses traditional culture with contemporary luxuries, giving guests the opportunity to experience Malaysia's rich heritage while living in comfort. The result is a perfect hideaway where you can escape the hustle and bustle of city life and take a much needed breather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avillion Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avillion Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson
Avillion Hotel Port Dickson
Port Dickson Avillion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avillion Port Dickson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.