We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avillion Port Dickson

Save Saved
You added Avillion Port Dickson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avillion Port Dickson
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3rd Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Port Dickson
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Family Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great getaway for couples or family with young children. The water chalet is clean and spacious with a huge toilet and open-air shower. However, the balcony is a bit small. Lots of greenery around the hotel and peacocks wondering freely around the grounds.

Good selection of restaurants and food. The staff are helpful and friendly. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Book the Water Chalet for privacy and good view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    297
    108
    77
    57
See reviews for
305
185
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Was impressed with how much cleaner the beach was compared to the last time I visited PD. Check in was breezy and had a friendly banter with the lady handling my check in. Did not realise that the hotel was quite a huge one and was impressed by how green the hotel was. Also, I did not expect to see peacocks and peahens roaming about freely. Checked into a Premium Water Chalet, which was clean, comfortable and had the standard amenities (lots of mineral water in the fridge). Really loved the open air shower but the toilet had to be flushed quite a few times for it to clear, as the water pressure was not strong enough. The best part of the stay was the enjoying our complimentary drinks up at the lounge - very refreshing and relaxing, with good service and breath-taking sunset view.

Room Tip: Water chalets nearer to land would have louder wave crash sounds in the evenings due to high tide, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Nice surroundings, but the standard of the hotel was not up to scratch. The children's pool was very dirty and very unpleasant. The cleaning of the rooms was ok, but we had issues with the toilets getting clogged. Food was ok at the buffet, restaurant had some great food. Especially the lamb dishes.
Beach could have been very nice, but to much trash lying around.
The spa and high tea was very nice though.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Avillion Port Dickson

While it is good to read that there were elements of your stay which you enjoyed,
we really must apologise that we did not meet your overall expectation.

We would like to assure you, that we had taken action to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We love coming here for a quick getaway from the city. We've been here many times before. The kids love Temasek Beach (although beware of sandflies) and the pool. The little one really enjoyed the mini petting zoo where she could feed the rabbits.

For the price we have paid, we expect the rooms to be better than it was before. First of all, the 4-poster king bed did not come with the canopy like it did before. It was bare. The floor was very sandy, as if the cleaners did not vacuum it before we checked in. There were only 2 bath towels, no hand or face towels. For the premium price that we paid, surely it could've been more than that.

Since the entire resort is made of wood, regular refurbishing and upkeep of the structure is needed so it doesn't look old.

Having said all that, we love the view from our room. Did not manage to get a go at the spa though.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for finding the time to provide us with this review…

We regret that it fell short of both our expectations in terms of service levels rendered by the resort team for your stay.

There is no excuse for such service standards at the Resort.
However, we do assure you that this is not the norm for the Avillion; and we had addressed these matters to improve on areas mentioned.

Looking forward to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We checked in on 25th Dec so there was alot of ppl checking-in. When we arrived at the hotel, there was a sign at the reception saying check-in only starts at 2pm. So can you imagine the amount of ppl waiting to check in? It was disappointing that the hotel didn't atleast provide some plastic chairs at least for ppl to sit while waiting...instead everyone was everywhere. But its the peak season and we understand. When we got the the room, it was ok and cozy. Not a great view but still ok. We had Christmas Dinner at the main cafe. Was not to bad of a spread. The christmas desserts that was served were really cute and there was a bad walking from table to table taking song request. Then came night time. The rooms next to ours were making a huge amount of noise. We could here the walls being hit from the other side. Mind you it was already 1.30am....some inconsiderate ppl were staying there. When we pay RM400++ for a room we would expect to be able to sleep comfortable and relax. We called the concierge a few times to complain but throughout the night it didnt stop till i guess the ppl next door fell asleep.
Day 2 I tried the Avi Spa. It was super lovely..after a crazy noisy night, i was able to relax and enjoy a 3hr spa session conducted by Kak Herlina (super sweet and helpful therapist-pls so ask for her if you can). That afternoon we had a dip in the infinity pool which was nice and quiet (adults only pool) That night was the same again. The room next door was up to its misfits again. My husband couldnt stand the noise that he walked all the way to the concierge to complain (noise still went on not sure if the hotel did do something about it). It would have been nice if the hotel could change our room. It did really p***ed me off too. Sorry for the language. And to add the aircond started leaking on the second night so we were able to hear "lovely" water drops in the room.. We check-out early the next day and got a better rest at home.
I am definitely thinking twice about staying here again.....i feel the hotel could have done better to ensure it's customer's satisfaction.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and the management apologize
for the shortfalls in areas highlighted.

We had taken immediate action to improve our services and
look forward to welcome you again in near future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

After having spent a couple of days in KL, my husband and I decided to stay a couple of nights in PD on our way back to Singapore. The thought of sitting on the balcony with a good book in hand and just enjoying the gentle crashing of the waves against the shore just sounded too enticing to ignore....WRONG! As romantic and idyllic it may sound to be sleeping in a room built on stilts on the water with the sound of the ocean beneath you, in reality expect a couple of very sleepless nights! The constant crashing of the waves will keep you up all night with perhaps a couple of hours reprieve when the tide is out.

We stayed at the Avillion during probably one of the busiest seasons of the year, New Year's Eve. So as you can imagine, the place was packed and unfortunately like many places during peak season with untrained staff, the staff weren't equipped to deal with the demands of disgruntled guests. We made our booking online and paid a premium for a water chalet room with a king sized bed. When we got there, there were no king sized beds available so we had to settle for 2 single beds - so much for a romantic getaway! To top it off, our room faced the children's pool. So much for quiet reading on the balcony. After much persuasion, the front desk moved us to another room which was facing the beach..but again no privacy and no peace and quiet. All in all, we needed another holiday to recover from this one. Unless you're traveling with children, the Avillion is not a place for a romantic getaway.

Having said all that, perhaps the place wouldn't be so bad if it was off season. But then again, would I go there again? Probably not.

Room Tip: If you don't mind splurging I'd suggest asking for a room as far away from the beach as poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for finding the time to provide us with this review...

We apologise for the inconvenience that you faced during your stay with us.

We have taken note of the comments provided and have channelled them to the team to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I love the room with the balcony at seafront. Just sit there with a cold beer made my day. Nice private beach, you can’t find a nicer beach in Port Dickson. Nice greenery. The kids like the swimming pool and played the water slides the whole day.
Although they provide free Wifi, but can hardly be connected especially in the room. The service quality in the restaurant was bad. One of the waitresses always pulls long face and not responding to our request.
Overall, very lovely place and will definitely come back to stay here my next visit.

Room Tip: Choose premium water chalet if you are traveling couple to enjoy the free access to very nice sky lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us…

Your comments have been relayed to our team to ensure more efficiency in the future.

The team looks forward to welcome you again in the future ensuring that this time around, you will experience true Avillion hospitality through and true!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avillion Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avillion Port Dickson

Address: 3rd Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avillion Port Dickson 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with the architecture of an Old World Malay fishing village in mind, the resort fuses traditional culture with contemporary luxuries, giving guests the opportunity to experience Malaysia's rich heritage while living in comfort. The result is a perfect hideaway where you can escape the hustle and bustle of city life and take a much needed breather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Avillion Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avillion Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson
Avillion Hotel Port Dickson
Port Dickson Avillion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avillion Port Dickson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.