We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of mosquito in the room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avillion Port Dickson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avillion Port Dickson to your Saves list
Avillion Port Dickson
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3rd Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Raptors Watch
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Port Dickson
Selangor,Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lots of mosquito in the room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Overall the place is fine but the room is full with mosquito. My baby's face was bitten alot... very pity ...When I complaint this to the receptionist they told me I can make a request for the mosquito repellent. But I was thinking they should prepare this to every room by default for guest convenience and not to wait for the guest to request.

Room abit old and dirty.

Also, when I checked in, total amount they charged is including the deposit. But I was not been informed until i check out my bill in the room. From my previous experience in other hotel the recpetionist will always notify the guest that they are going to charge x amount deposit and is refundable when check out. This is the very simple procedure but yet the receptionist in avillion fail to do so. And they dont even tell me what time the breakfast start and where is the restaurant located.

I really hope the service can be improved and make it a better hotel which worth for stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to provide us with this review…

We are very sorry that overall your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site, but would once again like to thank you for sharing this with us and for highlighting areas where improvement may be found.

Please be assured that we have taken note of your unpleasant experience and we can provide mosquito net for your next stay

We hope that this one off incident has not marred your general impression of the resort as a whole for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    362
    145
    103
    69
See reviews for
371
216
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
MY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Clean and comfortable room with a day bed, the room can fit 3 pax esp. for those with a kid. Design and furniture is a bit old. Price is on the higher end. Has a big bathroom with bathtub and open rooftop rain shower.
The hotel is located near PD waterfront where there is Starbucks (drive-thru), MCD, and some other restaurants.
Hotel buffet breakfast is quite ok.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing our resort..

We have communicated your suggestions to our team and will ensure it is taken into account for a better stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just got back from Avillion. Stayed there from Sunday till Tuesday (29 sept-1 oct). We booked the premium water chalet. The check-in went smoothly. The room is smaller than i expected but excellent. There was one king bed, and another double bed next to the window with sea view, a balcony, excellent outdoor shower. We enjoyed the petting animal farm, swimming pool with jacuzi; tried out the jet ski for the first time and husband was very very pleased that he got to kayak (rm10 per hour which was very very cheap). The restaurant service was a bit slow (many customers at the time) but i was really very pleased with my Nasi Goreng Kampung, delicious !! The lounge has really great view, took loads of picturesque photographs there. Breakfast was ok. Staffs are very friendly and helpful.

We are happy with everything and would love to come back to this place with other family members!! A really satisfying holiday. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us…

Your kind comments are most valued. Please be assured that we have taken note of your feedback especially the staff service at the Food & Beverage department.

Your continuous support will be appreciated and to receive high compliments for your return visit means a lot to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang, Selangor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

It was probably peaceful because we went on a weekday. We booked the garden chalet (ground floor) this time because of our active 2 year old. The room was smaller than I expected (it looked much bigger in the website photos). The furniture looked a little worn out but I can't complain because it was clean and beautiful. The room we booked was right beside the beach, so that was a plus point. Can't comment on the food because we hardly ever eat hotel food(too pricey and not worth it). We preferred the delicious variety of food in PD town. Pool was clean except for a few leaves that kept falling in the water from the walkway. The workers kept fishing out the leaves. Service was good. Staff were very polite with smiling faces. Don't expect the beach to be like the Maldives, in fact, expect the opposite. Overall, it was a nice, peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: If booking a garden chalet, ask for room 229. It's right beside the beach. You can hear the wave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to provide us with this review…

While it is good to read that there were elements of your stay which you enjoyed and we apologise that we did not meet your overall expectation.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

1) Bought this Water Chalet room from recent Matta Fair, the sales guy say APD is an unforgettable experience/holiday, and when we are there, we will never feel we are in Port Dickson. Sure enough, it is an unforgettable BAD holiday, and truly we never feel we are in a 5 star luxury resort. Not sure why APD won so many awards. Are those fakes?

2) 5 stars price, 3 stars basic hotel experience, 2 stars front desk service. That sums up APD. You pay for 5 stars price, but you get 2 stars service. Total thumbs down for APD, I will never return.

3) Front desk staffs needs to be more courteous and polite. One was quite of rude.

4) We reaches hotel at 1pm, but was told we can only check-in at 2pm, and rooms are only available after 3pm. asked them why that is so. They said there are corporate guests still not check-out yet, and they need time to clean/house-keep the room. We were told to wait at the lobby. Times are wasted. When we asked another time at about 1.30pm, another Front Desk Staff was telling that was not due to guests late check out, but it is their SOP that stated guests can only check in at 3pm even when there is room available!

5) Neither bell-boy nor staff to carry our luggage, and direct us to our room. We have to carry our luggage by ourselves, and try to find where our room is. I wonder why we pay service charge (10%) on top of the room. Don’t you think APD should pay us for the service instead, since we have to carry our luggage ourselves?

6) There were flies at the restaurant when we are having our breakfast. No staffs come to our aid, so we have to keep our hands busy trying to clear the flies.

7) When it was raining, no staffs come to help us to move our utensils and food inside the restaurant, instead, we have to carry the stuff ourselves. The staff can even ask us why we did not take our utensils inside. Hello?? You suppose to handle the utensils for us. We are the customer.

8) Poor breakfast service and management. When we went for our breakfast, we were told to go to another place for the breakfast. Mind you, the breakfast was included in the room package. We were told, the place is given to corporate guests. So other individual guests will have to take the stairs to the 1st and 2nd floor for breakfast. However, the breakfast spread was different.

9) Call room-dining for dinner, as we were too tired to go out. The operator is rude, when I order the Healthy Kuey Teow , i was told, there is no such food in the menu (How can that be, when the previous day, we order the same Healthy Kuey Teow?). Then she told us that there is Penang Fried Kuey Teow. So we order that. Guess what, when they deliver the food to us, the receipt shows Healthy Kuey Teow. I was wondering why the staff argue with me at the 1st place when the RECEIPT SHOWS Healthy Kuey Teow. Seriously, I think APD need to train their staffs; they don’t even know their own menu.

10) Different staff provides different information

11) Poor maintenance of the room and not as clean.

12) Swimming pool are not clean

13) Food is not up to the standard for the price they are charging.

14) The beach is not well-maintained.

15) TV channels limited. Basic channels which are free. If compare with even a 3 stars hotel, APD are worse.

16) wi-fi access is an excruciatingly frustrating experience

17) Mosquitos in the room. Probably came from the tank filled with water just outside our room.

Room Tip: None, unforgettable bad holiday, and 2 stars service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback...
The Team sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experience and had taken remedial steps to improve on on all the matters.

We assure you that your comments will help us to improve in the areas mentioned and staffs will be retrained.

Your continuous support will be appreciated and to receive high compliments for your return visit means a lot to us.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Overall, the environment was great but the customer services were the worst. The staffs were not helpful at all, while we request for the room we want. Keep told us that no more room available n anyhow gave us lousy single room. Afterward, I checked through agoda, that particular room still available but they just don't want to help at all. Anywhere that day was my birthday so just let it be.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to provide us with this review…

We sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experience and had taken immediate action to ensure that our service be improved through valuable feedbacks from our guests.

We hope that this one off incident has not marred your general impression of the resort as a whole for future visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We went to Avillion PD over a weekend to stay at their Water Chalet.

Room – Water Chalet:
When we reached our room about 3pm+, we saw it’s all mud underneath instead of sea water. Was abit disappointed because we expected the room to be on top of water, but unfortunately it was low tide. But when we came back from swimming around 6pm+, sea water!! Very nice view standing at the balcony, seeing the blue sky & rooms on top of the water.. But well, do not expect to see very clean water. The room have one big bed & a smaller one beside, it’s able to sleep 2pax each but the small bed doesn’t have a blanket. Room are equipped with air condition & ceiling fan. The bathroom is very big. With toilet, shower & bathtub separated.

Swimming Pool:
There’re 2 swimming pool in the resort. One is the village Court pool where there’re a normal pool & a children pool with slides. Another pool is Cochin Pool, it’s an adult pool. Strictly for adult only. Towels are prepared for guest on each & every sun bench, so thoughtful of them! If you would like to go for sea swimming, the beach is just walking distance from the rooms..

Dining:
We went for the BBQ buffet dinner @ RM98++ each. The spread is wide and the foods are delicious! They have wide choice of cuisine, pastry & even ice cream with many favors! They have live music as entertainment. It was a nice dining experience there.

Service:
Was very pleased with their customer service. Most of the staff are polite & friendly. Check In and out is very fast! Hassle free!

Getting to Avillion PD by public transport from Singapore:
We took bus from City Plaza (Golden Coach) @ 8.30am to Seremban Bus Terminal. (There’re other choices of coach going Seremban from Golden Mile at different timing.) Upon reaching Seremban Bus Terminal, the locals told us that we can take public bus to PD. But do note, the public bus will only bring you to PD common area. After that, you have to take cab to the resort. Another hassle free way to get there is to take a cab straight from the terminal. There’re 2 taxi stands over there, price range is between RM40-RM50. About 45mins – 1 hour journey.

For going back to Seremban Bus Terminal from Avillion:
Hotel only provide private taxi which charge RM80 per way going to the terminal. What we did is walk out to the main road (Outside the resort) and flag down normal cab that pass by. The price for going back is the same. (RM40-RM50)Price varies depends on whether you want to bargain with the driver not, but definitely not more than RM50.

Hotel provides shuttle bus to PD town area for quite a few times a day.
Do not expect too much activities or shopping over there. It’s more for relaxation.
Overall, it’s a good experience staying in Avillion, and will definitely go back again the next time!

Room Tip: Room further out will have more privacy and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APDMQuay, General Manager at Avillion Port Dickson, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for such a detailed review of our resort…

We are happy to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Should you decide to return for another stay, please do let us know and we will be very happy to accommodate and welcome you back on your return stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avillion Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avillion Port Dickson

Address: 3rd Mile, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avillion Port Dickson 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with the architecture of an Old World Malay fishing village in mind, the resort fuses traditional culture with contemporary luxuries, giving guests the opportunity to experience Malaysia's rich heritage while living in comfort. The result is a perfect hideaway where you can escape the hustle and bustle of city life and take a much needed breather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avillion Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avillion Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson
Avillion Hotel Port Dickson
Port Dickson Avillion Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avillion Port Dickson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.