We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, awful area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson

Save Saved
You added Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Batu 8, Jalan Pantai Teluk Kemang, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in Port Dickson
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, awful area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is quite new, the rooms large and clean and the staff nice and helpful when speaking English.
But the 2 beaches are not so nice. Both are mainly frequented by locals and ALL women wearing full cloth or burkini... Both have a lot of household refuses, scraps... and the left one is full of oil pellets, disgusting !
It's ok to stay there if you have a car and have other places to go or see, otherwise, the near areas are not tourist worth.

Room Tip: October 2012, the swimming pool is still closed !!! single beds are 1.20m large, which is quite lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bangi, malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We had a family day/ course on a weekend here.

Great location near the beach, the events hall was with a beautiful view of the beach. The amnities such aa the surau, and toilets were near our hall were well kept. Rooms were nice and clean. Food was good anf tasty. Beach and swimming pool near.


However- the service was awful! We paid for extra food but did not recieve. There was another gp with us at the time but it wasnt fair they did not allocate separate reserved tables for us but instead asked us to wait for the food. Which in the end was not enough and not the same as the initial food.

Slow service for check in. We were promised by 3 but our check in took as long as 6pm which was so unproffesional.

I would not advice a big group for this hotel. This would have been a perfect getaway

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

it was a last minute decision to stay at this place.i called the hotel directly on friday 13/7/12,i was told they have a 3 br apt available for rm858.mr dzul was friendly enough to actually call me again the next morning and inform me that i could check in early as the room is available.how sweet!so we arrived at 1pm on saturday 14/7,and check in was less than 5 mins (though i was charged fully upon check in).let me sum up my experience here:
plus points
-cleanliness 5/5,everything is in tip top condition,everything works
-view from the room is breathtaking,though the beach is not swimmable (the same with all beaches in PD),the pool is more than enough to keep my kids occupied
-though it lacks the grandeur of a 5 star establishment,i would say this is the best 3 star (maybe 3.5!) hotel i've ever been
-landscape of the hotel is really beautiful
-staff is very accomodating,from housekeeping,room service to bell service-they appeared at my door the minute i put down the phone!5 star to the efficiency,and with a smile!6 stars to that!
-the unit i stayed in has 5 a/c unit,even the kitchen has a/c! (though i thought it was unnecessary as the floors are tiled,it was too cold to walk on at night,fan would be more practical),but it shows that the hotel doesnt skimp when it comes to ensuring comfortness of the guests
points to improve:
-baby cot not available.i was told they are working on this.i requested an extra duvet,and was charged rm20.
-food in the coffee house is tasteless-the only recommendation would be the chicken chop.char kuey tiaw super spicy,fried rice tasteless,curry mee-average.breakfast was ok though.not many choices but tastier than the room service i ordered.oh please try the croissant,they are the best in the world!(atleast in my world:)
-i requested for extra coffee sachet in the minibar,i was charged rm5 (for the whole set including sugar and creamer).i was very surprised as i always thought these are complimentary items for guests
overall,whatever the hotel is lacking is made up by the superb service and friendliness of the staff.(the bell boy even took my one year old daughter and carry her around at the lobby while i was checking in).the attentiveness is genuine,(atleast it felt that way) unlike the scripted friendliness of some 5 star establishment that i've been to.this is truly malaysian hospitality,and i will surely return,kudos to klana beach resort and mr dzul for the superb hospitality!(the pictures you found of this hotel on the internet doesnt do justice!).

Room Tip: the view from the rooms facing the sea is priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We went to Port Dickson and stayed at Klana Beach Resort for a night.
The minute we entered the hotel compound, the environment was very pleasant.
The hotel is overlooking the seaside which gives a breathtaking view.
The hotel staffs were very smiley and friendly.
Although the room wasn't spacious, it was very clean. Probably because of the fact that it is a new hotel.
Again, we took the seaview room. So, I just loved the view.
There is also a passage way where you can walk to the Teluk Kemang beach from the hotel.
The only drawback was breakfast, as there was very limited choices.
But as a conclusion, I would say that Klana Beach Resort is value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We are a family of 4 -our boys are 13 and 11 and we usually need two rooms. Here they has a superior room with 2 super single beds which to me looks like a queen sized bed. We accidentally chanced upon this place which only opened 1.1.2012. It's in mint condition clean, everything works well, the staff are friendly and my god -it's the best value for money we've seen in PD -and it comes with breakfast. It's also got an observatory for looking at the moon as it belongs to the state Islamic religious council so Islamic music plays in the corridors pf the hotel. They said we might be able to go up the observatory tonight - its a full moon! Lots of street food walking distance from here and a nice enough beach but there are rocks and choral so you,ve got to be careful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson

Address: Batu 8, Jalan Pantai Teluk Kemang, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 hotels in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.