We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place for Team Building” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eagle Ranch Resort to your Saves list
Eagle Ranch Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Batu 14, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71250, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Port Dickson
Penang
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Place for Team Building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Attended company arranged team building at Eagle Ranch Resort, Port Dickson for 4 days 3 nights. There were 16 of us. Outdoor activities provided by the resort (include instructor) and motivation training were provided by another consultant company (arranged by our company) but using the resort facilities (classroom). The resort have non stop participation from a lot of company to have their team building here. During our team building we relize that there were about 3 to 4 company also have their team building there.

It been built in a cow boy concept. Country song were played all the time in the restaurant. The resort facilities so complete from rope course challenge (which have the most elements in malaysia and win the malaysia book of records), night jungle tracking, sea rafting (the resort is within walking distance from sea side), football field, beach volleyball, swiming pool, paint ball field, basketball court, hall, restaurant, dining hall (for all participant to have meal), open air dinning area (pool side), horse riding, souvenir shop (it also sale soft drink etc...most of the things is expensive compare to outside ), go kart and so many more others facilities.

The resort consists of few type of accomodations which is Kampung House ( Village House) - double storey wooden house 1 unit with 4 individual separated rooms each room got their own toilet located infront of stable - this is where we stay, Log Cabin, Band Wagon, Paddock Chalets, Tepees - with air cond in it, Paddock Dormitories- with double decker bed like hostel.

Among the activities that we have taking part is rope course challenge participant need to climb on the pole and walk on wooden plank from pole to pole it is quite high. The instructor is knowledgeable and they have taken all necessary precaution and safety so don't worry and go for the challenge it is fun. Feel like in the program of FEAR FACTOR!!!! Beside that we also go for night jungle treking which started at 8:30pm and finish about 11:00pm. Every group will be given 1 compass and 2 torch light. Bearing will be given. Then off you go...good luck. We almost lost in the jungle.. lucky we found the way back to the resort at last.

The last day we play paint ball and sea rafting. On the sea rafting every group will need to built their own raft with bamoo and plastics drum with the guidance of the instructor. After completed the bamboo raft each team will need to paddle the raft to the middle of the sea to take the floting flag. Standby boat is there to provide assistant and help if required. We were exhausted and have lot of fun.

Generally the room is clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly. The breakfast and lunch is OK. The last night at the resort we have BBQ (chicken wing, sausages, fish, beef) but it is not so fresh. But they do prepare others food like spagetti, potatoes mashed, salad, fruits, fried rice etc. During in the mid of activity if you need to look for toilet it will be a litte bit far.

Would highly recommend for team building and family day. If you go for holiday with family member it will be like no privacy and no place for you as there is a lot of team building participants around and swimming pool were conquer by them. But it is a good place to stay if you have transport because there were also many other places to visit at Port Dickson.

Necessary

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    33
    18
    4
    8
See reviews for
21
12
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Booked the Teepee category not only because it was the cheapest room but I was also attracted to the special design that I don't see from any other resorts. BUT !!!

Visited the resort on May, is the raining period for Malaysia! The check in was very fast and the receptionist has been expecting for my arrival. The reason could be because only 20% of the resort was booked that time. Now, when we are outside of the Teepee, lot of water bugs & mosquitoes flying around the room's door. Nature, is what I call, so prepare if you booked this resort.

Teepee
Without any disappointment until I opened the door and found the room was half flooded because of the heavy rain 1 hour ago. The room was filled with terrible smell. The bathroom was horrible. I regret but I told my partner never mind we just going stay 1 night and the whole afternoon we are going for visiting TILL I drop myself on the WET BED. YES! Wet :D ... Grab all our stuffs and go to the reception and nicely tell the receptionist that the room was flooded and the bed are wet ... I need to change my room ... She look surprised but she immediately allow me to change other Teepee but with the bathroom and store room looks flash on me ... I request to upgrade my room ... She asked me to upgrade to the best room category, Log Cabin.

Log Cabin
Saw the cabin's exterior, I was happy and putting high expectation on the interior! Door opened, WAHHH LAAAAA ... Awesome ... Awesome ... Awesome ... opened the bathroom door ... Awesome ... Awesome ... Awesome ... is huge and open air and man made waterfall ...

Is advisable, if you want to book ... get the Log Cabin! :)

The only set back for this resort I think is the feeling of safety on the night ... because the resort was designed to use pad lock only and the resort is not light up during night / having security rounding the area, you will somehow have to make sure that the lock inside your room are double checked before you go to sleep :)

The complementary breakfast was tasty but with only very limited choices available. Never knew they have a bar / restaurant available, Water Front looks nice but never tasted there :(

Room Tip: Log Cabin is more suitable for couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place was purposely built for team building get together activities. So you will see a lot of people running around in uniformed t-shirts and playing team games.
I was quite impressed by the cleanliness of the room and toilet.
Pity, this place is not at a beach like most resorts in Port Dickson. And another thing, there's not much activities at night, so nighttime can become quite boring.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore,
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is an unique experience to be staying in a cowboy style concept. The reception team, Ms Siti handled my reservation very calmly and well mannered. Ms Azima was such an understanding staff who managed to accede our last minute request to change the room as well as giving discount for our breakfast as I have 15 pax of family members.

Room Tip: The Padlock chalet is much spacious but the bandwagon is an interesting and unique experience althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

A cow-boy themed resort contains activities for team-building such as Malaysia book records of 38-elements rope course, sea-rafting and etc.

Due to budget concerns, my club only able to participate in 1 element of rope course and sea-rafting. Sounds easy? But these 2 activities took whole day to finish up. To finish up these activities, strong encouragements are required from the team members. And, I like the instructor who is patient in guiding all of us through the activities.

A big improvement has to be done on the food and staff service. Food shall be replenished as soon as possible especially during lunch hour.

Ps: Bear in mind that Lots of sunscreen are required!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

good location-10m drive from blue lagoon, 15m to telok kemang
ample of family activities. room clean and tidy,
spacious pool area. horse riding, go kart, rope climbing etc.
10m walk to the beach( not in front beach)
5m drive to seafood stall kg telok
20m drive kuala sungai baru seafood

Room Tip: choose the upper level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I came here for my company's outing. The cabin was nice, made of apparent varnished logbeams (i can't tell whether it was real or not) and a false fireplace which acted as our dressing table. There was a pretty mural of a cowboy and his horse. The bathroom had stone flooring with a hot water shower (a bit weak but ok) and a cold water "waterfall" shower which i thought was unique. The bathroom ceiling was half-open to the air so you could see the trees and sky. There was also a wooden bench-chair. I liked my room. Outside there was a verandah with chairs but there were too many mosquitoes. I felt pity for those in the tepees and bandwagons.

I would give applause for their efforts to make it "cowboy" like. They had barrels, cowboy paintings even moose-heads in the dining hall. Staff was friendly.

I am a regular horse-rider and wanted to do a trailride. However i was told that the horses were ex-racehorses and would bolt off easily (presumably untrained) and i was suggested not to ride them without someone walking and leading the horse.....! Unless i was a very good rider. Morever the guide would just ride a motorbike instead of riding another horse... which i thought was really odd. Horses are pack animals and will tend to follow the "leading" horse. I decided not to ride.

Otherwise other activities i did with my company such as obstacle course was quite enjoyable. Food was not as bad as i expected.

Room Tip: Take the log cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eagle Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ranch Resort

Address: Batu 14, Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eagle Ranch Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eagle Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ranch Hotel Port Dickson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Ranch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.