We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Port Dickson Resort to your Saves list
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
SAVE 10% ON ROOM RATES!
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Port Dickson
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Overall unexpected. Good in facilities, environment. Feel so relax and happening. Just that check in is little bit slow and it required me to wait for 10 min due to room is not cleaning yet. Best view especially from CUMULUS Bar. Pool is big and water is clean. Suitable for family, couples and also reunion place. Wish to stay more!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    369
    146
    63
    50
See reviews for
437
192
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
KL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I was surprised with all the bad comment which has been posted in trip advisor about Thistle Port Dickson Resort. What i can tell the people is this Resort is Superb!!!!!! The BEST IN PORT DICKSON!
Me and my friends was staying in Thistle Port Dickson Resort few weeks ago, it was a lovely place for our REUNION and WE LOVE IT!
The first day we arrived, we felt so excited with the landscape of this resort - It was huge and green green. We felt safe as you can see a guard house just in front of the resort and a friendly security is on duty for 24 hours. The moment we step into the Resort, we were greeted by the security and porter who was taking care the lobby entrance and the Lobby is awesome with the modern touch and you can see some art or interesting portrait hanging at the lobby as well as the corridor. I like the big frame in front the Step (Lobby Lounge) =)
Lobby was clouded and four reception counter was full due to weekend, you can see the porter running up and down, the receptionist was trying their best to check in all the guest with their smiling face. After a while (you will not feel bored because the lobby is really interesting) ,our turn to check in. We were checking in by a malay lady, she is great, professional and she wow our first visit , that is why i said i feel like home!
We booked 3 rooms with sea view facing and 1 night only cost RM300 - Rm 400, it's worth and breakfast was included. The lady who check us in was interesting, apart of her customer service skill, the lady has explained us the resort facilities and make us feel more hunger with the facilities here. This resort has 3 pool, 1 main pool, 1 children pool and one private pool which they called infinity pool (lucky i do not have any children because children is not allow), movie room, convenience shop, library, Spa, restaurant, sport and recreation counter which you can get all the enquiries about the sport activities even you can get mahjong here, SWAT Camp and park for exercise, the best part is she knew what we need and she has promoting Cumulus bar with live band as our night activities which is great.
Our room is superb with modern and it was totally different as what all the comment talk about. After a while our luggage delivered, the porter is very helpful and he offered to explained about the facilities in the room however we had rejected his offer because we can’t wait to jump into the pool, he done a good job by telling us "madam if you would like to know any enquiries or request anything please just simply press the Knock knock button for all your needs", Knock knock button? we all look at the telephone and found out it was interesting, you can request anything through the call centre including order room service, they just like one stop centre. Perfect!
We love the big pool and we are happy to have a gathering here, we have fun, good food, great people, good facilities, good services, good price and comfortable accommodation.
We had our dinner at chinoise which is the Chinese restaurant and the food is great and we don’t have any comment about the food,if you don’t feel like having Chinese cuisine maybe you can try Buffet Dinner at Fresh Rest. or maybe some pizza at the Glass (western Rest. Now i knew why is so clouded during weekend even though they have pay for high rate.
At night, our party time at cumulus bar. The cumulus atmosphere is great with the combination of moon watching at the beach, live band is totally fantastic and happening. Please remember no children allow and you still can swim at the infinity pool until mid night.
We had our breakfast at Fresh restaurant, the breakfast is good but a little bit clouded. The staff is good even though just a few. We feel so sad of leaving, anyway we will be back! We press the knock kncok button for luggage pick up request, the porter is here less than 15 mins. The knock knock can really fulfil your needs like what they had put there "knock knock for all you needs", you should give a try.
We are queuing at the reception departures desk, our check out is smooth as what i has told you before the lobby staff is perfect and professional. He did remind us of our wallet, phone and car keys upon departure. If you had any issue with the billing the cashier will explain to you from detail A to Z or he will circle his name as well which printed out in the invoice in case your need to do some clarification when you got home and also your future visit.
Thank you for giving us a memorable stay, we will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

I stayed here on two occasions with my family. Once last Christmas and once a few weeks ago. It's a great place for a weekend getaway.

It's a luxurious resort, clearly recently revamped. There are multiple pools, which lost of space for children to place. There are a couple of restaurants. We tried the Glass Restaurant which had a great breakfast. Also, the lobby bar has an excellent menu.

The room service is highly recommended. Great choice and delicious! Both Asian and Western food. The blue cheese gnocchi is very good!

The beach is so-so, as anywhere in Port Dickson. You can't swim in the sea because of the pollution. It's nice to enjoy the view over the sea from by the pool though.

I can recommend splashing out on the sea/pool view rooms as opposed to the garden view ones. They are simply nicer.

There is wifi available, but against a ridiculous price compared to local Malaysian prices (58RM/hour)

I got a good deal including breakfast last time we stayed there - their mini chocolate croissants are the best!

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

We were very impressed witht the lobby and pool area when we arrived. The check in took about 10-15 minutes. The front office did not have our booking information ready when we arrived. Than they have to locate two rooms for us.

There was only one lift to service the many guests who were staying at our wing. The lift was old and slow. It took forever to move from one floor to another. We found the stairs through the door marked "staff only" (because there was no exit or public stairs way) and walked one floor up from the lobby to our rooms.

When we got into our room, we were very disappointed. We booked the garden/golf course facing rooms. They were rooms that were only parcially refurbished. The TV console, the writing desk, the night stand were wore out and tattered. The shower head did not rest properly in the shower head socket. Water dripped down instead of spreading out for a proper shower. I had to hold the shower head in order to have a decent shower. The faucets at the sink were so old that they felt like they were going to let loose anytime when we turned it. One morning, Brown colored water was coming out of the faucet when i was going to brush my teeth!!! The rooms were certainly not 5 star hotel standard.

The service at the restaurant during breakfast was slow. There were a period of time where all the trays were empty and people were grabbing whatever that was left. The staff did not re-filled the trays in time. They ran out of bowls for oatmeal too. I requested for a bowl 2 times and no one seemed to bother to find one for me. The price of the food was way over priced. RM25 for a piece of ordinary cheesecake at the cafe? They think they are the brownies from Hard Rock Cafe? Needless to say, we did not bother to try the F&B outlets. Quality of food for breakfast certainly was not 5 star. Perhaps only for the pastries.

The pool area was big and impressive. We had a good time there with the kids. There is a separate infinity pool section right by the beach, which is only for guests above 18 years old. We picniced by the beach which is close to the pool one night with my 8 year old niece and 13 year old nephew, we were being chased away. It was high tide at that time, we couldn't possilbly be on the beach. The pool was built right next to the beach with some grass area and we were not allow to picnic there becuase of the kids. I think it was really a dumb idea. if the area is for peace and quiet of the adults, why do they build a mini disco/live music lounge area next to it?

If Thistle wants to earn my business again, they have better train their front desk and service staff to be more efficient. And please, refurbish and upgrade the lift and all the rooms before charging 5 star hotel rate.The bell boys were great though. They were cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

We stayed for 1 night (family of 4, with 2 young children). Things were bad from the time we reached.

Bell boys had no idea what to do with our luggage. Check-in was very slow. Had no record of our booking even though we had a confirmation number. This took another 30 mins to sort out, afterwhich, we took our bags to the room ourselves.

The room was VERY dark, really not enough lighting. Floors were dirty, not vacuumed and disgusting. For a newish hotel, maintenance is really lacking. The bed was very nice and big though, and my kids enjoyed the plasma TV and the Disney channels.

A number of pools and slides which were nice for the kids. Somehow, didn't appear very clean though. There was very little service at the pool for drinks etc.

The highlight of our stay was dinner at Glass, which was very nice and excellent food. Atmosphere was lovely and the decor was great.

We ordered room service for dessert at about 9pm, and it appeared well after 11pm when we had already gone to bed!

During the night, there was a lot of noise and dragging of furniture just above our room. But the room temp and the bed was great otherwise.

Breakfast was a disaster. There were so few waiters and they really could not cope with the crowds. None of the tables were being cleared, there were flies everywhere, very unhygienic. Most of the cutlery and bowls/plates were not clean. Food selection and quality were poor for a 5 star hotel.

On the whole, not a great hotel. In less than a year, the hotel is already showing signs of not being well-maintained. Perhaps it may be ok for a getaway from KL, but I think I would prefer a hotel in KL anytime.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

i would like to say a big thank you to the people there who made my stay a wonderful one. My lil boy enjoyed so much till he did not wanted to go home, stayed only for a night which we will definitely be back for a longer period. Food was great especially the chinese restaurant. Activities wise, nothing much to do, but who needs to do activities where you can just enjoy staying in the room and relax with room service food order. Pool is great but over crowded during weekends and public holidays.
Improvement needed - faster service for delivery of extra amenities requested. takes about 20 minutes to 30 minutes. you could do better!!
overall - keep it up and we will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

I love the decor, modern and casual. Very warm-welcoming front desk staff, as I enter the hotel I was welcome with smile even from the security. I love the place because it is secluded from other place, private beach makes my stay feel like im way far from the bz"ness" of KL even though im only few KM away from KL. I totally feel my gateway to Thistle a very superb stay. Thanks for the very nice hospitality.I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Port Dickson Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.