We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly place of Thistle Port Dickson Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Port Dickson Resort to your Saves list
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Port Dickson
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Heavenly place of Thistle Port Dickson Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were indeed actract by the staffs courteously and helpful attitude towards handling our requirements. Here I personally would like to express my special thanks to Mr. Raj whom had helped my family during our stayed at Thistle. Besides, Thistle Resort provide full of facilities that up to customers need, my kids enjoyed the beach bar which provided free ice-cream and pop corns. Last but not least, Thistle Resort also provide an attractive activities. With best wishes from: Mrs Teoh's sister (Vivian)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and I see that your sister, Vivian has also taken time to review us - thank you again.

Raj is an important part of the team and takes great pride in his work and he will be delighted to read your comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and, in the meantime, please do let us know if I can be of any service.

Yours Sincerely,

John Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    329
    117
    40
    38
See reviews for
378
175
11
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were there in August 2013. We stayed at connecting rooms at 6th floor. Our stay in Thistle Port Dickson has been very memorable for me as well as my dearest family, specially for my children. We were treated like royalty. The room are big but doesnt cost that much, instaed it is clean and complete with facilities. The perpetual friendliness of all the staff was a great experience ever. I would like to thank the assistant manager, Mr Raj for his excellent service. He is impressive and prompt upon check in. He is fantastic. The pool area is big and we very much enjoyed the music band near the beach and the pool bar. I loved this hotel and would highly recommended it. We all love to be there again.
From: Mrs Teoh(KL)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are very grateful to you for choosing Thistle and for taking the time to give us your comments. It is good to know that we looked after you well.

Raj works very hard to ensure that our guests have a memorable experience and we will pass your comments onto him.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and we hope to welcome you and your sister back to our hotel in the future. Our contact details are located at the top of our Trip Advisor page – please let us know if we may be of any service.

Yours Sincerely,

John and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had the best time with my husband and 2 young kids in Thistle. Ideal for small and older kids with 2 children pool and a very big "adult" pool which include a pool bar. life garde are in attendance.

The beach is very close to the hotel and very clean.

The facilities are many and all very clean.

Staff is also very friendly and professional.

Also many shop and restaurants near by.

will definitely go back!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for posting your review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort. It is good to see that you enjoyed your visit and that you found the team to be friendly and professional.

We look forward to your return and if we can be of any assistance with your booking, please let us know.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward towards welcoming you back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I took my husband there for his birthday in August and I booked the "Time for 2" package. It was absolutely perfect! The staff was very courteous and helpful. They gave us a nice spacious room facing the beach and the package came with welcome drinks at the bar by the beach whereby you could order almost anything on the menu (apart from one or two really expensive drinks), a nice buffet dinner and then a buffet breakfast the next morning. The stay was very relaxing. We spent half a day at the beach bar and the late afternoon in the beach. It was a great weekend get-away and we would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We are very grateful to you for choosing Thistle and for giving us your comments. The team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you back here soon.

If we may be of any service to you in the future, please let us know.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Yours Sincerely,

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My second stay with Thistle PD (first time was last year) and again never fail to be satisfied. Nice hotel, great pool, great beach and complimentary interactive electronic games. Also beautiful environment, pleasant surrounding with excellent view (if you choose sea view). Generally staff were courteous.
Very convenient if you want to go for seafood / reasonably priced and tasty Chinese food. Just exit the resort, turn left about few km drive you can find good restaurants.
Nevertheless, for the high price that they are charging, I would like to point out a few areas of improvement (otherwise, it is not so value for money). They are:
1)Some basic amenities like room slippers and pen should be available. After all this is not a budget hotel. (they have if requested but why not just leave them in the room?)
2) First time call to "knock-knock" service, respond was slow and had to call another time.
3) Staff at check-in/out counters can be more friendly, and some smile, please. The housekeeping staff were much better.
4) Kids room - dirty and deplorable state. Time to refurbish.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view room if enjoy sitting at the balcony, with a cup of hot coffee and looking out t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you have returned and it is good to see that you enjoyed your stay. We also appreciate your feedback and we are working hard to ensure that we improve in these areas. The kids room is currently being refurbished and we look forward to showing this to you when you return.

For your next stay, it would be our pleasure to see to your booking. Please contact us at the number listed above this page if we can be of any service.

Yours Sincerely,
John & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The rooms were alright but it's the facilities provided by the hotel that was great for kids. For adults there's a bar in the pool and jacuzzi.
I was there with my family over my birthday and thistle even gave us a free cake. *Thanks thistle!*
This hotel is located further in on the hotel stretch but its worth the extra journey
Check out my detailed review in my blog which highlights why it's so great for kids!
http://zchicchick.blogspot.com/2013/10/thistle-port-dickson-resort.html?m=1

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing Thistle to celebrate your birthday. We are delighted that your family had a good time and that we have made your stay special. We are very much centered on becoming Malaysia's greatest kids' hotel and to help us on our journey, we have set up a project called "Kids in Charge" whereby, we have recruited ten kids between the ages of eight and twelve years of age to give us their ideas on how we can further expand on our service to kids. There is a Facebook page called "Thistle Kids In Charge" if you would like some further information.

Finally, thank you for the blog post - we love it!

When you are planning a return visit or if I can be of any service to you, please contact me at the number listed above this page.

Yours Sincerely,
John & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Selangor
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It was our first family trip to Thistle Hotel Port Dickson in September 2013.Upon our arrival we were greeted warmly by the staffs at the lobby.We had a good holiday and the staffs service at the reception, poolside and recreational room was excellent. They were so polite and friendly. We enjoyed the games that they had arranged for the weekend for families.The breakfast was good with lots of varieties. Our room was lovely with a wonderful view. My family indeed enjoyed our stay in Thistle Hotel PD. Its a great hotel for family and we will definately choose this hotel again for our next trip to PD- Kiran Randhawa- Petaling Jaya Selangor.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had a great holiday with us.

If we can be of any service now or in the future, please let us know. We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Yours Sincerely,

John & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Port Dickson Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.