We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Thistle Port Dickson Resort to your Saves list
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Port Dickson
kl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Was at the hotel over the weekend, checking on on saturday and left the hotel on monday afternoon. Upon arrival, we were greeted by friendly staff. checking in was a breeze. Was offered an upgrade for an extra RM50 per night, and I accepted it.
The room was spacious and clean. The facillities are ok. Swimming pools are huge and as it was saturday, understandbly, the pools were crowded.
On sunday morning, breakfast was chaotic. The choices of food were not great, but ok. We check out the next day and at check out I was Rm70 per night for the upgrade. I was sure it was a mistake but I did not correct the receptionist, as I would not want to make noise. We left as we had a nice break, and we will return I am sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed your overall experience and are delighted to hear that you will return in the future. However, I think it is fair to say that we failed to "wow" you on this occasion and we must apologise for this. We will use your feedback to train the team and hope we can really impress you next time.

If we can be of any assistance with your future booking, please let us know.

Once again, many thanks for giving us your feedback.

Yours Sincerely,

John & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    334
    124
    42
    39
See reviews for
386
180
11
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I came here with my wife and in laws during the recent Raya hols and was taken aback with the hospitality of the staff even though they were busy... Friendly.. Helpful.. cheerful and even caring are just some of the adjectives to describe the place... The hotel is elderly friendly and is easily accessible to all... Ample parking but can be a little far.. And the hotel managers is also on the ground meeting with the guest checking in... overall it caters for all ages...

Room Tip: Ask for the seaview rooms... Nicer then the garden view rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the various elements of your stay and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

If we can be of any service in the meantime, our contact details are located at the top of our Trip Advisor homepage..


Yours Sincerely,


John Murphy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Yes there is a beach right by the hotel but no one clears away the rubbish that you have to step over first from the bar steps,yes there is a piano in the main lobby but no one playing on it & we were there August bank holiday fri - Mon, the bar also in the main lobby was advertised as being open until 10pm Fri & Saturdays but the lights were out & no sign of any staff when we looked in on Friday & Saturday night. We had eaten early the day we arrived and only wanted to sit & have a quiet drink .... the beach bar had a private function on with buffet & man on microphone !! so we had to make do with sitting inside one of their restaurants for a drink while everyone else around us was eating not what I imagined us doing in this supposedly 5* hotel maybe this is to Malaysian standards I don't know but if I ever visit this country again I will think twice before paying for a 5* that is more like a 3*
Basically this hotel wants your money & seems to only want to cater to young families who go bed early !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are obviously very sorry that we have let you down on this occasion.

Our overall objective is to ensure that every guest that comes to our hotel has a very enjoyable experience and, while we are disappointed that we did not deliver this to you, please be assured that we take your comments very seriously and we will work hard to ensure we get it right next time.

If you would like to go through your review in more detail, or if I can be of any service in the future, please contact me via the business listing at the top of the page.

Once again, many thanks for your review. We greatly value all customer feedback as it is the best measure of how we are performing and highlights where improvement is needed.

Yours Sincerely,

John and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Quite pricey. Despite the big pool, Thistle PD has nothing to shout about. Dirty rooms and bathrooms. No music playing at the lounge on a Saturday nite. Very small lift servicing 6 floors. Hotel food was expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUALA LUMPUR
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

As you enter the lobby, you will notice the lounge with comfortable sofas and a grand piano. Look further and you'll see a swimming pool. As your eyes zoom out you will see the beautiful beach. The beaches are well maintained. And to top it all of, the buffet breakfast with a wide array of Malay, Chinese, Indian, Western and French cuisines. WARNING: Remember to take a little of everything because you will end up eating too much since everything is good.

Room Tip: Facing the sea of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Port Dickson - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here. I will pass on your comments to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Please let us know if we may be of any service in the meantime.


Yours Sincerely,

John and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel service is excellent! Every staff are so polite and friendly so it make me felt warm staying there. I was offered fruits when i am checking in the counter. I've upgraded my room to seaview and no disappointment on the view because it face the huge pool including the ocean. The room are clean and cozy. If you like thin feather pillow then should be alright but i prefer to be a bit thicker.
I fell in love with the pools..the main pool is huge & the infinity pool has a gorgeous sea view. Guests are entitled to all water sports such as snorkelling, kayak, jet skii & banana boat..there is a volley ball sand field, golf course, tennis court & etc for on ground activities..
The most touching is when i told the receptionist (Ms.Nor..) that my friend birthday is on the same day. She really help me to arrange cakes and fruit plates to surprise my friend in the room in the right time. And whenever it rains, there will be staffs handing umbrella to you immediately.
If you don't feel like eating in hotel, there is a little bazaar by the beach, only 5mins drive from hotel.
Anything is so comfortable and nice except at night i barely have a good sleep my neighbor pulling chairs and banging door during midnight...well, not the hotel faults.

Room Tip: Upgrade to seaview, you won't regret!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThistleGMPD, General Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for posting your review of Thistle Port Dickson. It sounds like you enjoyed your time here and we hope you will return soon. Thank you also for your feedback on the pillows and the soundproofing - we will get to work on these areas straight away.

Upon your return, it would our pleasure to assist you in any way we can so please do contact us if we can be of service.


Yours Sincerely,

John and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Thistle PD is the place to be if you want a pleasant getaway with your family. About a week ago, we stayed at this hotel and were absolutely mesmerized by the breathtaking scenery and the cozy ambience throughout our stay. The staff were affable, particularly Mr. Ravi and Mr. Raj who ensured that all our needs were adhered to, as we brought our two girls as well. They provided a cot for our toddler and that facility alone was feasible for us to have a comfortable holiday. The facilities were excellent, as there were clowns, a playroom, a movie theatre and two varied waterslides that was a hit with my children. The pool bar offered pop corn and ice-cream. We dined at the Chinoise Restaurant on our first night and the food was brilliant. The rooms were comfortable and spacious. Once we tucked our girls to bed, and left them with our nanny, my husband and I dropped by the Cumulus Beach Bar on both nights. The bar manager, Mr. Rolex was welcoming and cheerful at all times. We enjoyed all the cocktail drinks that we ordered for both nights. The two hours that we spent on each night was greeted by the cool breeze, the sound of the waves and we were serenading to the wonderful music of Bob Marley. In short, Thistle is the place to be if you want a dream holiday by the beach, especially if you have children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thistle Port Dickson Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.