We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort for frat boys” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Glory Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Glory Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glory Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Baru 2 Jalan Seremban Tanjung Gemok, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Port Dickson
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Resort for frat boys”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The transport brought us directly to the resort so I'm assuming its a good location.

The food at the workshop I was there for, was very bland and too simple. With the service and the wifi doesn't work in the room despite having the signal. I just couldn't get online.

Definitely to go if you just need a bed for a few nights. It was also probably good for a frat party, not a relaxing resort. It felt more like a motel for a quick stay a couple of nights, not a resort.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isaac250, General Manager at Glory Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback
We will improve on your food comments
On the food being simple it actually boils down to the budget given by the workshop organisers...you get what you pay for !
On the WiFi service, GBR has the latest "fibre optic technology" but this service extends only to certain apartments blocks ....not all
For your case , your apartment may not have the WiFi service which could not get you online
GBR is an apartment styled resort for family and also caters to all type of social , government & corporate events for past 14 years and definately not for frat party alone .
Looking forward to welcome you again to GBR under better circumstances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    20
    16
    40
See reviews for
71
2
Solo
0
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

this was apartment converted partially to 'hotel'
my family i staying at Block D on the 10th floor (which is right on top of that block)
this place takes lots of 'organised' activities, such as reunion, school trips, company trip, etc. which is fine, except that the area then hosts lunch and dinner with participants singing and the emcee blaring away, that even on the 10th floor, it's extremely disturbing (if you intend to take an afternoon nap, which we do when we are vacationing on a resort), and that goes right past midnight.
it shares a common beach with Lexis (and Grand Lexis) Hotel, which is very surprising.

Room Tip: away from the center block C - and lower level (the water pressure is horrible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isaac250, General Manager at Glory Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback
For your kind information.....weekends at GBR are taken up by group events such as family days , teambuilding & telematches , company outings etc thus the hype of activity going on !
For a quiet and relaxing stay , I would like to kindly recommend the weekdays from Mon - Fri whereby the resort occupancy is much lower without the big group events and you can enjoy the resort facilities minus the crowd
We look forward to welcome you and your family again to GBR under better circumstances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We called Glory Beach Resort and spoke to Mr Thayalan in regards with arranging a private candle light dinner along the beach. He was very helpful and forwarded our enquiry to Mr Gana who is the F&B manager who kindly assisted us further. We had an intention to have our private candle light dinner in this resort and Mr Gana promised us that he will do his level best and he says that they will do the decoration and it will be a surprise for us on that day. Both me and my wife was wondering on how will be the arrangement and we got trilled and really happy on that day as Mr Gana really gave us a surprise with his light and decoration arrangement. We were so happy and glad that we choose Glory Beach Resort as they fulfilled our dream to have a wonderful candle light dinner along the beach and furthermore the food taste really good. Overall, we were so happy with the arrangement and I would like to recommend for those who like to have a candle light dinner to contact Mr Gana.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isaac250, General Manager at Glory Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Gopi...
Congratulations again on your 8th wedding anniversary
All our sincere best wishes and happiness plus good health to both of you always
Thank you very much for your kind comments to Gana Thayalan and the F & B team
The team really took the time ; initiative with careful planning to execute your memorable event
Guests views and comments like this will definately spur us to provide higher standard of service to our valued clients in future
We look very much forward to welcome you and your family /guests again to GBR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moratuwa, Sri Lanka
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is set in a beautiful location overlooking the straits of Melacca but for a hotel with such a locational advantage, this hotel's performance is very poor. The rooms are not upto the standard and the pool and the lobby aren't attractive either.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isaac250, General Manager at Glory Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback.
For your kind information all the apartment rooms are undergoing refurbishment and in the midst of completion.
The lobby has recently undergone a facelift on the ceiling ; furniture and fittings ; lightings and new coat of paint.
Looking forward to welcome you and friends/family to GBR again with better conditions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The apartment is not well maintained, especially the bathroom. I saw different types of fungus growing around the bathroom, particularly the ceiling (should have taken photos, but it was too disgusting until I dared not to look at it). The toilet flush is not strong enough. Also, the house keeping has failed to ensure that the apartment is well cleaned before the next guest moving in. The living room was sandy, the microwave in the kitchen was so dusty and very likely that it has not been used for ages. There was water leaking in the bathroom and the another disgusting part is there was hair tangling around the shower handle and the drain which was not cleaned. The breakfast was barely okay. Overall, poor maintenance.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isaac250, General Manager at Glory Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your constructive feedback
Our sincere apologies for the poor maintenance of the particular room that you have stayed
We will definately remedy all your valued comments .
This is not our usual standards of cleanliness and maintenance
Many apologies again for the inconvenience caused
Looking forward to welcome you again to GBR under better circumstances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

After do some quick re-search around Port Dickson area, finalize with Glory Beach Resort. Hotel is Good to stay and have friendly staffs. Value for what you pay for it. But very disappointed only next day during morning breakfast. Once pass by Kitchen area, encounter the kitchen with opened expose of the breakfast material. And decide not having they breakfast or whatever from this hotel anymore. Please look for the pictures that I uploaded. Very very disappointed. Hope if the F&B management take some serious action to solve the issue.
Mac

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isaac250, General Manager at Glory Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments.
Glad that you found that the resort is good place to stay and staffs were friendly.
On your comments on the kitchen area ...i must put it right that it is not a kitchen but a STEWARD PANTRY area.
For you kind information this is where washing up is done with leftover food ; soiled cutleries and crockeries.Were were serving over 1200 pax breakfast that morning
You and a lady were found loitering in this pantry around approximately between 1015am - 1100am. You were also reprimanded by my Maintenance Manager as it out of bounds for guests as you were seem behaving rather suspiciously. Upon his query both of you just left...if your intentions were genuine and honest you could have spoken to the management right away.
Please note that all cookings are done at our Main Kitchen situated at Block C and the the pantry area.
Thus I find your review very inappropriate and very detrimental to the business of GBR
Also checking with the room stay history there is no one booked under the country Mexico with our registration datas as you have claimed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I do not even wait to leave to write how bad this place is. It is dirty, the rooms are pokey and has only a small TV showing local channels. The only entertainment was the karaoke till midnight blaring around the whole place. After we arrived we ordered a snack and had a cockroach in it. The only good thing about the place is that they refunded the rest of our stay when we decided to only stay one night and cancelled the rest of the stay. If I pay over 300rm a night I expect an order of magnitude better than this.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isaac250, General Manager at Glory Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback
Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.
We will definately remedy your comments and views
Thank you for staying with us .
Given a chance hoping to welcome you and your family again to GBR under better circumstances
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glory Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glory Beach Resort

Address: Baru 2 Jalan Seremban Tanjung Gemok, Port Dickson 71000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 33 hotels in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glory Beach Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Glory Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glory Beach Hotel Port Dickson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glory Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.