We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really sucks to the core!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Desa Lagoon( Offline DBL )

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Residence Desa Lagoon( Offline DBL ) to your Saves list
Residence Desa Lagoon( Offline DBL )
5th Mile, Jalan Pantai,, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Port Dickson
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really sucks to the core!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Paid for RM358..we got a run down place!Juz like a haunted resort.Windows can be opened from outside.Not secure to sleep.Fridge is rusty.Pool even worst.Dirty,cloudy,smelly and full of sand.With the price we've paid,we got no breakfast voucher.Even a three star hotel we stayed,we had breakfast voucher.Even worst there were 3 well kept monitor lizard in the pond.OMG!Worst management and maintanence.No kettle in the room.Tv remote not working.It's not worth paying at all.We will never ever stay there again!Desa Lagoon,the management..U NEED TO IMPROVE A LOT!Your service,maintanence,reception staff,safety,must justify the rates to the guest!who ever read this review,pls dun ever check in this resort!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
15
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Pros:
1) Hotel faces a beach that is not overly crowded like Teluk Kemang beach nearby.
2) "Unique" hotel concept - it's not one of those high-rise, cliche hotels nearby. The hotel resembled colonial British houses. [albeit a lame, modern one]
3) Has BBQ pits for all your "fun" BBQ needs - watch out for some cute hungry cats nearby! They are more than pleased to eat your leftovers :)
4) Staff - called the hotel many times to ask some questions, but they did not respond rudely. In fact, they were quite courteous!
5) Tennis court within the hotel compound!

Cons:
1) [Somewhat] Overpriced
- Paid RM380++ for a 3-room suite. Only one room had a queen sized bed, while the other two rooms had space for ONLY one single bed each. 11 people squeezed into two single-bed rooms and one queen-beed room is not comfortable AT ALL.
- Paid RM130 for the BBQ Pit. Apparently normal rates range around RM50. However, we get to use the BBQ pit [the staff helped us to light the fire] for an unlimited period of time. Besides that, lighting, tables, chairs and garbage bag [this is my favourite part] are also provided in that RM130.

2) Facilities
- The resort's website claimed that there was [and there is still] a gym within the premises. However, you need to get the key to the gym from the reception. The thought of going to the reception to get a key, and then potentially losing it is unnerving. So, I gave the gym a miss. Besides, the gym was located at a remote corner of the resort, and had a limited number of equipments.
- The resort's website also claimed that there was [and there is still] a swimming pool. However, the swimming pool was cloudy, and there were signs of excessive chlorine use at the edges of the pool [or is it just sand?]
- The beach was not cleaned, unlike the hotel next door, which seems to be actually cleaning up the beach!

3) The Room Itself
- Once you are done with the checking in and all, you will be given a plastic pouch containing your room key, and the remotes to your room. You are required to return this to the reception once you check out.
- The key to your room is WEIRD - the key has holes similar to the ones you see in Braille script, and you can be considered lucky if you can open the door the first time round!
- TV remotes are difficult to use, and I had to personally change the TV channels or adjust the volume manually.
- The carpets, couch, bathrooms and toilets are dirty - I think it is dirty due to wear and tear, not because they didn't wash it.
- Bathroom doors are difficult to open once closed. In fact, you don't even need to lock the door because once you close them from the inside, you need to push it hard to open!

Hotel overall:
A MAJOR overhaul is needed to attract more people to the hotel. This hotel has so much to offer, yet wear and tear is wearing it down!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed here on 7-8th august 2011.
As with all other comments, our initial excitement turned sour after seeing what we are getting.
The many chalets, with mediterannean style concept was exciting, and the resort actually opens up to the PD beach and sea at the back. That was good.

But as we eventually realised this gem had not been well maintained.
1. The rooms are large, clean well lighted but the carpet is filthy stained.
2. The bathrooms are not cleaned properly at all, with black stains all over the place. The Head of the housekeeping should see for themselves how the units are being upkept by the room boys and maids. The sink is badly stained, the mirror is dirty, the walls are dirty.
3. the gardens need upkeeping.
4. The swimming pool is terribly dirty and water cloudy.

I was surprised that residence desa also handles the management of ex pan-pacific KL, and the ex pan- pacific JB ? Where is the standard of hotels in Malaysia.?

Room Tip: Ask for the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Both the pool is green and smelly.. room service is slow. With the price of the room, i think its not worth it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

There was a problem with the flush for the first room assigned. Upon contacting the reception about that issue and some other problems like lights/TV cannot be switched on, the maintenance guy came very promptly to check what is wrong. Turns out that most of the issues raised were due to us not understanding how to switch on. However, the toilet flush was really not working and one of the living room lights was flickering. The resort then quickly arranged another room for us.

However for the 2nd room, the bedsheet and blanket do not seem to be changed. Dust and stains were seen on the bedsheet and blanket. The most unacceptable issue was there were ants crawling on the bed in one of the rooms. The other bigger bed in the other room doesn't have ants but was also not clean with hair underneath the blanket. It was already late and we already had a change in room earlier on, we just stayed on in that room since it was only for a night. Ants were also seen near the kitchen sink area. Giving the benefit of doubt, the cleanliness might depend on the room offered.

There was no shower curtain and the bathroom was wet after use. There was a protruding nail on the living room chair. The TV channels were ok though there was no Astro channel. Was able to connect to the free wifi but the internet doesn't seem to be working properly. The resort also had its own private beach. So if resort stayers are keen in going to the beach, this is quite a good resort.

There was no amenities or shops nearby. So it is most convenient if guests choose to eat at the hotel restaurant or bring their own food to BBQ. For the package we took there was no breakfast, so we ordered our own and the food is great, in fact better than the dinner offered at the same restaurant.

The redeeming point of this resort is that the staff are all very friendly. We wanted to borrow a hairdryer and they asked a hotel staff to send it to the room before we even reached our room. When we checked in at the resort, the counter staff immediately greeted me by name which was really amazing. Whenever the staff meets us along the resort area, they are always ready to greet us with a smile and nod. The staff has alot of initiative and whenever they spot us looking perplexed or lost, they are quick to offer help. Great service! Upon leaving the hotel, another counter staff also gave clear road instructions to proceed with our next destination.

Room Tip: Check room upon check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

During our visit to the Desa Lagoon Resort we found it quite deserted except for 2-3 families other than ourselves. We found it quite surprising knowing the travelling spree of the locals. However, it was a bliss for us, for we could enjoy the solitude. We spent only one night in the 3 bedroom deluxe cottage, just adjacent to the swimming pool. There are actually 2 pools; the other one is adjacent to the cafe. The rooms were clean and tidy although the kitchenette appeared to be in need of more attention; the refrigerator was also not properly cooling. There seemed to be a scarcity of maintenance staff given the sprawling resort area. However, the pools did not let us down, we did chill out and spent a good lot of time in the pool. The restaurant was a shock; it was little more than a dining room with an extended balcony and served with overpriced menu. This led us to take refuge in the flamboyant multicuisine restaurant hosted by the adjacent resort. The 100m walk along the beach was well worth since the food was well served. The resort would have been more charming had the rooms overlooked the sea.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

The place is nice but their maintenance is terrible! We booked a 1 bedroom villa for 2 nites but checked out the next morn as we could not stand this place. This place was given a fresh coat of paint, it is now sky blue and the couch in the living hall has been changed. HOwever, it is very uncomfy, u can't lie down to watch TV. Although the hall is clean, they obviously missed out the other things like the window sills and gaps, which were filled with dust and lizard droppings (can't stand them!)...when I went in the bedroom one of the pillow has a lizard dropping on it - and the whole villa reaked of stale air. Shows that nobody stayed here for a while and nobody bothered airing the place properly. Window panes in the bathroom and the shower were filled with grime! Water in the bathroom came out brown! The kettle was all stained inside, so I did not use it to boil any water, bought mineral water instead! When we were there, there were only 2 families...we had our dinner at the restaurant, food was not fantastic, the burger we ordered cost RM12, and you would expect at least their home made beef patties, but instead they used Ramli patties! Breakfast was nothing to shout about, but it was not as bad as dinner...at least they gave us RM35 breakfast voucher. The place is indeed one of its kind, but they really need to buck up on the maintenance. I do not think I will go back to this place again unless they improve on their cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Desa Lagoon( Offline DBL )? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Desa Lagoon( Offline DBL )

Address: 5th Mile, Jalan Pantai,, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Desa Lagoon( Offline DBL ) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Desa Lagoon Hotel Port Dickson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Desa Lagoon( Offline DBL ), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.