We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping is the cheapest option here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Rachado

Casa Rachado
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Port Dickson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Rachado
Save
You added Casa Rachado to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Tanjung Biru 10 Jalan Pantai Si-Rusa, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Port Dickson
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Camping is the cheapest option here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Camping only costs 50r and we got a free breakfast every morning.

The restaurant is basic so you may want to go to another resort close by which have buffet lunches and are quite cheap

If you camp you can use the pool and hire table tennis bats.

When we were here the bar was not open and there was a big function being catered for on the Saturday night

The toilets are clean and there are showers to use while you are camping

The tents are clean and are put up when you get there

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taichung, Taiwan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Overall, I would say this is my 3rd choice for Port Dickson area. It offers a lot of space and good beach access (50yards from pool), but its quality of service and comfort is lacking. I researched 20 hotels on Tripadvisor and only stayed here cuz of price and my two other choices being sold out.

We stayed on a Sat & Sunday night. We stayed at B201 on 3rd floor and really enjoyed the view of the beach cove. Yes, higher units would have better views. There was no lift in our building though I imagine the other 7floor building had one. Soap was not provided in our 2 bedroom apt, nor utensils or bowls. General appearance was cheap hostel quality, not hotel quality of upkeep. AC worked well. Bathroom had no shower curtain, but 2 bathrooms was nice. Also one room had 3 beds which was convenient for our kids.

You can walk 5 minutes down the beach to another hotel with a fine playground and slide to their swimming pool. Better food there too. Also supposed to be a store in that area. But the area is a penisula off the main road and quiet. 1.5 Km walk to other stores and restaurants.

Breakfast was passable with some hot food. Restaurant is open for meals later in the day. Beach was clean of litter and glass, though there was a black line of cinder (oil pollution perhaps) on the water's edge.

The Indian gate guard Mithil, was very attentive and helpful when I checked in and I am thankful for his cheerful help.

I called ahead for their shuttle van and they denied they had one. After arriving, I noticed they did have a shuttle van for about 300 MYR one way from airport. But they didn't always have it available. At any rate, I took a van from 'Airport Limo' company for slightly less than that and they were more experienced and professional about everything. It was an hour drive from LCCT terminal of KUL airport. Be careful of the other KLIA terminal being 20 minutes away. Take the frequent and cheap shuttle van between terminals. Cab counter quoted 50RM price!

Room Tip: Call ahead to confirm your room keys available if you arrive late. They closed on a Sunday at 11pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was an ok hotel if you are not too fussy on the facts it lacks of everything. We stayed in 2- bedroom apartment on the second floor. The moment you want to open the room, you have problem to open the door since the lock was quite tight and a bit rusty. The fridge was small, kitchen sink was a bit loose but the kettle worked just fine. The rooms were spacious and bedsheets were reasonably clean and fresh. The TV had bad reception since the aerial was not working. No other basic toiletteries were provided other than the towels. The breakfast cost us RM10 per pax same price adult or child for a simple and edible meal. The only our kids enjoy staying here was the swimming pool so all the lacking seems unnoticed. Further, the location also walking distance to Tanjung Tuan lighthouse which we enjoyed our morning walk very much. We bought a 3D 2N stay with 2 pax breakfast package at Matta Fair for RM260, so for that kind value of money we think it was quite reasonable and can't complaint much!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nothing much to say.....all seems average.....got 2 and 3 rooms apartment if im not mistaken....good with large families and suitable for team buildings.....pool ok.....beach not so ok but still could walk along the beach for better place and hangout watersports......clean and tidy small room with basic amenities.....PD beach sometimes very clear water but sometimes its very dirty maybe depends on weather.....staff ok....food limited but delicious.....ample parking with no shelter....doing bbq at night near the beach.....

Room Tip: Ask for beach views and at level 2.....last room on the corner facing hills a bit creepy....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

It lacks just about in everything. Our room had tea and coffee, cups and spoons, but no kettle. Nothing wrong with a colourful room, but no colour coordination. TV with bad picture, no remote, very few channels. Basic bathroom which would have seen better days. Half the lights did not work - reflects the overall run down odds and ends you find everywhere there.

Buffet breakfast was so so, on the morning of our third / last morning, a Tuesday, we were possibly the only guests even though it was school holidays in Singapore, no breakfast buffet, just order from (boring) menu. We even had to ask to please on the aircon in the dining room.

It is rare that I write a critical rview, very rare, and am very careful about it, but when things are simply below standard in reflection to the price paid, I prefer to state how I genuinely feel.

Room Tip: standard rooms never face the pool, they all face the "ugly" side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negeri Sembilan, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We were there for 3 days and 2 nights, the room is spacious and have mexican decoration. However, it's very noisy and we're not sure where's does it came from, it's more like machine-generated sound. There's a pool, great for kids, but the beach is a no-no for swimming. It's very dirty and only recommended for water sports not for swimming. One of the room is smelly, we're not sure whether it's the mattress or the whole room, the smell only go away after 2 days. I'll think twice to go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed in 3 rooms apartment. The rooms are clean, spacious n aircon is cool. Only dissappointed with the lack of wifi in rooms. Nearby beach is not suitable for swimming. The hotel looks outdated. No lift... Bad for elderly folks.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Casa Rachado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rachado

Address: Tanjung Biru 10 Jalan Pantai Si-Rusa, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Rachado 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
Casa Rachado Hotel Port Dickson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Rachado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.