We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected, satisfactory but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avillion Admiral Cove

Save Saved
You added Avillion Admiral Cove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avillion Admiral Cove
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5 1/2 Mile, Jalan Pantai | Negeri Sembilan, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Port Dickson
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Expected, satisfactory but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Like many patrons, I have stayed in the other Avillion many times and thought we would giv AC a shot. We went with low expectation after reading all the reviews, so I was not that dissappointed.
However I do want to highlight a few points:
- it is too obvious that AAC is a lower budget hotel as compart to the main Avillion
- the pillows were too soft causing me sleepless nights and headache.When asked for firmer pillows, we were told no more pillows left and obviously no firm pillows. I have never came across a hotel that does not have extra pillows.
- we were initially placed in d lowest floor ' studio suite' and i was very upset because it looked nothing like the ones shown in the website. We had people looking at us when we were standing at the sliding glass door. Thanks to a staff called Amy, she moved us to 4th floor the next day.
-the furnitures looked cheap which is quite sad compared to a lot of hotels within the range
- there was no hot water to both the taps, very shocking.
- absolutely no bathtub in all rooms so i had to carry my baby in order to bath him under the shower. he was very unhappy indeed.
- room was dirty
-beach was very filthy and
should be cordoned off just for AAC's patrons. Too many outsiders.

On a positive note, the hotel breakfast is bot as bad as reviewed just that we had to wait for our seat and yes, lots of flies.
The view of the marina is also very pleasant.

Overall, the stay was satisfactory,

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AACPORTDICKSON, Manager at Avillion Admiral Cove, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are disappointed to learn we did not have the opportunity to ensure your overall stay was as you hoped. Should our guests encounter any difficulties during their time here, it is our hope that they will reach out to us to address them immediately. Although we were able to attend to some of your concerns, we regret any inconvenience you may have experienced in meeting your personal expectations. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back to enjoy our hotel from a fresh perspective.

With regards,
Management of Avillion Admiral Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    151
    123
    44
    28
See reviews for
152
108
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staffs are friendly, room is ok (there was some stain on the bed cover)
Worst steak ever had at hotel restaurant.
Full of kids in swimming fool.(it's small)
Its definitely not for couples or anything romantic, if you expect that just stay away.
Oh and don't expect any breakfast because there is either no table or full of flys will
just ruin your appetite.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AACPORTDICKSON, Manager at Avillion Admiral Cove, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your recent stay with us. Many Travelers and Reviewers find Avillion Admiral Cove to be a great place for romantic and relaxing getaway, with excellent food options and outstanding service. You'll understand that we are a family friendly Resort and our weekends attracts many families with children and this is the norm in Port Dickson, however I do understand that the concept of our hotel does not suit your kind of lifestyle.

With regards to the breakfast, I have to respectfully disagree. Our breakfast is very good. We are not perfect and perhaps you may have had some issues. If that is the case, again, let us know and we will make it right one way or another. I eat at our competitors, and all in all, we are just as good if not better.

It helps Management if guests talk to us while at the hotel so that we can act upon any lapse in service or attention immediately. Constructive criticism will be analyzed and acted upon.

Thank you,
Management of Avillion Admiral Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

staff performance: good
lobby:no air-con and very hot,no lift access to lower lobby ,elderly unfriendly.
room cleanliness: worst than a home stay,bed linen n room smell mold n damp,curtain n daybed cushion cover so dirty n stain, lizard n roach crawling near the pantry.
breakfast:no warm milk,no soy milk,no artistic bread,no kuih-muih, no cakes...food selection limited.
kids playing room:no much toys..kids won't stay more than 10 minutes.
no playground and sandpit for children.
value for superior room but unworthy for studio suite

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AACPORTDICKSON, Manager at Avillion Admiral Cove, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

When staying at the Avillion Admiral Cove, it is our hope that our guests will reach out to us with any concerns they may have so we can work together to ensure a positive stay. It does not appear that we had the opportunity to do just that and appreciate you bringing these points to our attention. Thank you for sharing your perspective and we hope to welcome you back to enjoy our hotel from a new point of view. Thank you.
Management of Avilion Admiral Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked Avillion Admiral Cove on he strength and reputation of its sister property, Avillion Resort which is a further up the road. We had stayed at the sister resort several times and have had good experiences and based on that, we decided that it would be a good idea to try this hotel. What a mistake. Although the arrival process was made bearable by the pleasant service of the front desk staff name Hafiz, the bellman insisted to roll in the trolley with our luggage together with 3 adults and a baby. Arriving at be room, it felt like the room had not been deep cleaned for a very long time and there was dust everywhere, even on the entrance door. We booked for a triple and the amenities was only for 2 where we had to further request for more towels and beddings. Baby cot was old and unclean and we had to buy dettol wipes to clean it down thoroughly. Worst of all, the room was infested with tiny roaches crawling all over the place. Breakfast venue was not at the usual restaurant as it was under maintenance. The breakfast spread resembled that of something out of a war era, although edible, left a lot desired for the type of resort that it claims to be. The dining area was hot and dirty with the floow strewn wih rubbish,the items the buffet line was minimal and of poor quality (eg.the Swedish meatball was merely a fried fishball with some starchy sauce). Only thing that was fresh was the croissants that made breakfast bearable. The manager or supervisor, Andy was very content in hanging about not doing anything to enhance the service while the buffet line was dirty, unreplenished and used cutlery not replaced as needed. There seems to be a culture of employees gathering together and having chats all over the hotel rather than focussing on the guest needs or providing great service. A lot to be desired and will not return.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AACPORTDICKSON, Manager at Avillion Admiral Cove, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

I'm sorry to hear you were underwhelmed with the level of service during your visit. This is certainly not the impression we hoped to leave you with. While we enjoy getting great feedback, knowing when we drop the ball is still our best tool to ensure perfect service. Needless to say, I'll make sure your feedback is addressed with the respective department Managers. Thank you for staying with us, and I hope you would allow us to make it up to you down the line, we certainly want to.

With regards,
Management of Avillion Admiral Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Booking: at least 20% Cheaper to book on the internet than booking direct.
View: Amazing! You have the marina and the beach at your doorstep. Breathtaking views
Hotel Lobby: non-airconditioned. Very Hot. Very Busy. BUT the views are picture perfect.
Hotel Pool: Big, areas for children and grown up. Lifeguard present. To order meals by the pool is not easy, you have to walk up to the restaurant and place your orders
Hotel Service: Very Bad. We ordered Ice buckets, and the 2x we did, it never came.
Hotel Room: Basic. A fan and A/C. Beware that they dont have a mini-fridge. only a cooler, which is useless unless you have ice, and when you order ice over the phone, it never came. it was difficult as I had some medicine, and could not store them.
Hotel Location to other Amenities: Book here only if you have a car. It is secluded from the main road. Taxi out of the hotel very very expensive. There is a private beach we could use.
breakfast was not nice. Very 2 star service food choices. Even the children's area are locked up
overall, ONLY of the price is cheaper, I would go again, otherwise NOT worth the money. I would NOT recommend my foreign friends to go there.

Room Tip: Don't bother unless you want to go for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked my stay there through the net & the check in seems a bit long. The front desk staff may be new as another staff keeps telling her what to do next for my check in. Luckily the lobby itself looked nice so you are distracted a bit from the slow service.

I booked the room which faced the harbour & the sea. The room was big, clean & all the linen smell nice. The view was just great especially during sunset. The balcony slide door can be open so you can either choose to use the fan or air conditioner. All other equipment seems functioning but may need some maintenance or change of batteries especially the tv remote. Bathroom too was nice & clean.

There's a lot of attractions at the hotel as there's pool, gym & even yacht which I think you can rent it. Or you can just jog at the nearby park. Other attraction outside the hotel area is recommended if you do have a transportation.

Breakfast was ok. It has variety, food is palatable but the area was a bit hot. They did used the standing fan there but it does look a bit out of place which the grand interior of the area. They did mention that they going to renovate the area so may be it will improve later.

Some issues I encounter during my stay were that the service can be slow. other than during the check in, I did request for them to send towels to my room but it took them nearly 3 hours to send it. Another was during the breakfast time, cutlery station was not clearly label & was a bit slowly refilled. The staffs can saw you are looking for the cutlery but they didn't even approached you to inform. Why can't they just put it on the table readily like any other place is a mystery to me. The staffs should smile more too.

Room Tip: Book the room with the seaview. Recommended for honeymooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AACPORTDICKSON, Manager at Avillion Admiral Cove, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your candid feedback regarding your recent stay. Really glad that you have experienced some positive elements likewise I am especially concerned due to the fact your feedback does not describe a typical guest experience at our property. I will be sure to share your feedback with the appropriate members of our staff. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations and your observations will be very helpful in assisting us make the improvements necessary to perform better moving forward. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return. Regards,

Management of Avillion Admiral Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My stay in Avillion Admiral Cove was not that bad, but if it's not because of the beautiful surrounding they have, my quick vacation can be a bit disappointed.

Check-in/check-out process took a very long time. But it might be forgiveable as there're other guests doing the same thing at the same time as mine. Perhaps the hotel management can improve their service by giving the guests a welcomed drink, especially when the guests had to wait in a long queue during check-in.

The room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. I booked the superior twin room which not really facing the sea, but it still can be seen at the left side of the corridor. The view was awesome especially during sunset.

Breakfast was served in buffet style. It was ok, but nothing impressed me.

The most disappointing thing would be their room service. The iron provided in our room couldn't be used so we called the housekeeping number to ake for a new iron and also asking for a praying mat. There was no answer after few times calling, and when the line get through, the items were still no where to be seen until we went out in the evening. When we came back to the hotel, we requested again to the receptionist but still, no iron nor praying mat sent to us. Only after the third time trying, the housekeeping boy sent us the items we requested, and it was more than 6 hours after requesting the simple items to be sent to us.

As stated, the only good thing I saw here is it's beautiful surrounding. The interior and exterior of the hotel is quite amazing. If you think Avillion Port Dickson is too expensive, maybe you can try this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AACPORTDICKSON, Manager at Avillion Admiral Cove, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Avillion Admiral Cove.

While we are grateful for your kind remarks regarding the surroundings and ambiance of our Hotel, we are disappointed to know that there were aspects of your stay that did not adhere to the level of service we wish to provide. Please be rest assured that your feedback will be discussed with the respective Department Head in ensuring corrective measures in place.

We are hopeful that you will return in the near future so that we may be able to provide you with a more memorable experience.

Best regards,
Management of Avillion Admiral Cove
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avillion Admiral Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avillion Admiral Cove

Address: 5 1/2 Mile, Jalan Pantai | Negeri Sembilan, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Port Dickson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avillion Admiral Cove 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Avillion Admiral Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avillion Admiral Cove Hotel Port Dickson
Avillion Admiral Cove Port Dickson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avillion Admiral Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.