We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but food was a let down” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Dunes d'Ifaty

Save Saved
You added Les Dunes d'Ifaty to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Dunes d'Ifaty
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Village de Mangily - Baie d'Ifaty, Ifaty 601, Madagascar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Ifaty
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice but food was a let down”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice hotel, nice rooms, nice view of the ocean. The downside was the food, I wouldn't say it was anything amazing and the breakfast was minimal. We had lunch in the separate dining area on the seafront which was nice, had the lobster which was very nice and they had a local band playing local music which was great. The evening meal was more disappointing and feel as there was a big tour group they were more attentive to their needs than ours. However I still enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    20
    11
    1
See reviews for
18
48
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The road to the hotel is hard work 1-2 hours on a very rutted dusty road, suddenly makes you realise how good the RN7 is! Good bits of the hotel

The rooms and the main area are built like beach huts, so stone walls and then palm/wooden roofs, but the two do not meet, and the windows are wooden slats! Very beech like, though it is always hot so not an issue
The beech is very pretty with few hawkers, tried swimming but ehre were jellf fish in the sea which is a shame as would be nice to swim in
Nice pool
Beech bar which served good pizzas with a view at lunch time

The bad bits
Dinner in particular was poor, this is meant to be the best hotel in Ifaty but I have to say the food was some of the worst we had, some of the cold things were warm and some of the hot things were warm, and it was often over cooked.
You had a TV in your room, not sure if this was needed especially with the beech hut approach but made worse as the walls due to the construction were not very sound proof so if you neighbour had their TV on you could hear it especially latter on in the night
Mosquitos- after 5pm around the rooms in particular it was mozzie heaven make sure you light your coil around 5-6pm and keep the lights off where possible, though in the bar restaurant it was significantly better
Mozzie nets again were not briallint and unfrotunatley one of our group woke up to have a cockroach on his face not great!
Bar staff need to leran how to look after customers not serve one person at a time not do 4 jobs at once

We noticed wandering the hotel complex that one half ( the left hand side as you walk into reception form the cars was much more lush and verdant pretty plants and more animals etc the other side was more barren with fewer plants – though maybe fewer Mozzies

This review may sound quite negative but it was a very nice quiet tranquil place to be and I would go back it is just a shame about the number of mozzies, the nets need to be improved on the bed and for me the standard of cooking and serving food needs to be radically improved

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beringen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The bungalows with terrace are nice and should be standard. Rooms are OK. Service in restaurant can be improved. Great barman. Food not always perfect. Hard to reach(two hours by bus, one hour by a quick 4x4. No water in the room as promised and even after asking had to repeat the question. Olivia is a nice person serving people well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in Les Dunes for 2 nights. There was initally a mix up with our booking through the tour operator who thought we were booked into Paradiser which we initally went to see and looking back, despite it being cheaper than Les Dunes I think the views, the pool and the bungalows in Paradiser had a nicer setting. Les Dunes is still a lovely place to stay and the owner was very friendly however I felt some of the other staff were not quite as friendly and the food note quite as good as some of the other places we stayed in while in madagascar.

Room Tip: I think we were in room 5 which was set closer to the ocean than some bungalows but the bungalow was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Les Dunes is situated on the each at Ifaty. The rooms are clean, but a little cramped. I believe the hotel had new staff while we were there, and there were a few problems with food not being cooked thoroughly. The manager (owner?) did seem to be trying to sort things out and if she manages to do this, the hotel has the potential to receive higher ratings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The trip into this resort was over sand dunes and rocks but we were in a 4WD and all was good. The hotel is possibly our second best after Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge in Rwanda. We have our own bungalow on the Mozambique Channel. Food is great. Wi-fi is poor. Our bungalow is excellent and scenery is beautiful. Staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Dunes edges within walking distance onto the small coastal village of Ifaty, located on the South Western coast of Madagascar (The Dunes: 23° 7'53.85"S; 43°36'22.05"E). This beautiful beach resort lies about 35Km (45-60 min) north of the closest big town Toliara, which has an “international airport” and a harbour that connects this remote region to the outer world. The alternative is +/-24h by road...

This is a fairly sophisticated island of luxury and comfort in a relatively harsh environment where the tourism scene is dominated by small (2 to 10 rooms) and rather uncomplicated resorts/lodges/hotels where, with the majority of these the term “cheap (relatively) and dirty” springs to mind.

A large lounge, comfortably and colourfully furnished joins with reception, a bar and restaurant to form an impressive thatched open-air center-point above a very attractive swimming pool. A number of steps take you comfortably down onto a stunning stretch of beach with a rocky outcrop to the Southern-side where a beach-bar and small outdoor restaurant is to be found. Tanning chairs, outdoor showers and easy access to the swimming pool and a speed boat in the shallows give The Dunes a very comfortable resort “feel”.

A number of very stylish bungalow-type rooms wings out from the central structure. Most of these have sea-views allowing for some great sunsets. The rooms are all well maintained stone structures with thatched roofs blending perfectly with the use of wood in paneling, louver windows and floors.

Two rooms (one double and 2 single beds) to a bungalow share a central bathroom. The bathroom is airy and big. With a massive shower, good lighting and piping hot water. Packing space is limited but effective. A modern in-room safe is a welcome add-on. Big roof-mounted fans ensure a maintained breeze in the room even if the big mosquito nets are down.

The restaurant is relatively pricy but with excellent fare and good service. Stephanie and Riaan Frobus the management couple who really makes you feel at home, also coordinate an array of activities is, varying from scuba diving to whale watching, Baobab Forest visits etc.

The Dunes is highly recommended. I will be going back there.

Room Tip: The beach is semi obscured by flora in front of some of the beach facing rooms - take a stroll and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Les Dunes d'Ifaty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Dunes d'Ifaty

Address: Village de Mangily - Baie d'Ifaty, Ifaty 601, Madagascar
Location: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Ifaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in Ifaty
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Dunes d'Ifaty 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Dunes d’Ifaty is located 27 kilometres north of the city of Tuléar, next to the “Mangily” fishing village and is built over an area of 6 hectares amidst a flora of tropical and other typical indigenous plants from this dry region of the south of Madagascar, materials.The main building is designed following a wide-open-style structure, the roofing being supported bylarge pillars, with a seven metre high tree in the centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Les Dunes d'Ifaty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Dunes d`Ifaty Hotel Ifaty

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Dunes d'Ifaty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.