We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Salt Lick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary | PO Box 30624, Tsavo National Park West P.O.BOX 72493 00200, Kenya (Formerly Salt Lick Safari Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Magical Salt Lick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This lodge captured my heart, the location is magical. I have visited stayed three times now with my family. Africa does something to you that no other continent can, it steals a part of you and draws you back, time and time again. The staff at Salt Lick are wonderful and even remembered us when we returned. The food and service is amazing and to be so close and at one with the wildlife is comparable to luxury tented camps. Nothing too much trouble, but never over the top - you feel so welcome and relaxed.

Room Tip: Try to request a rondavel at the end because when you look out it is as if you are totally alone in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    116
    25
    7
    1
See reviews for
83
228
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Booked with JT safaris and spent 1 night here and loved every second of it.. food was delicious, the room was different and lovely!! ( beds were a little hard but no worry! could still sleep!) Staff are friendly and provided a lovely service.i would easily stay here for a whole week!!
The best part of this lodge is the water holes, we had herds of elephant around and 100's of buffalo! woke up to loads of them sleeping outside!

the most amazing part of our stay was when we was having dinner and a family of elephants came up for a drink! there is an area attached to reception , it kind of looks like a pond that runs along (see picture) when stood at the edge we were literally 4 ft away from the elephants!! it was amazing.

Highly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed for 1 night only while on a 3 day safari. The location and the lodge itself are unique however the rooms need a good update. Especially the bathrooms didn´t look very inviting. Our basin was covered in dead flies and wouldn´t drain. I can´t fault the view, stayed in the room 512 and the view was spectacular.
Thumbs up for the staff - they all were very nice and helpful and also very informative regarding all the animals and location. The food was fantastic too. Managed to see lots of elephants and buffalos at the water hole, loved the wee "bunker" too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

The staff are very friendly and service very warm and receptive, we enjoyed the game drives got to see elephants, buffalos and even Lion, the twin hotels are very ideal as the 7 km distance between them provides for a good game drive. The meals are awesome and service excellent, i highly recommend, Tony

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Sarova Salt lick lodge at the end of November 2013, The Lodge was great and much better then what i expected and on stilts, we had a great room, amazing view, the food was great and the staff very friendly, watching the animals at the water hole in the morning was fab! I would recommend you stay hear when booking a Safari, We booked with JT Safaris who i would also highly recommend also.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had gone there for my Christmas holidays. It's an awesome place! You can see animals from your own room in the evening! The scenery around this place is really outstanding! My favourite place to be is in the balcony, nice views. There is a secret underground tunnel that will keep kids excited.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited Saltlick 15 years ago and it doesn't appear to have changed since then. The location of the place itself is fabulous and very scenic. It was our 11 year old daughter's first visit to Saltlick and it does have that wow factor as you approach. Sadly, the rooms have not been updated at all and are all very 1970s. The bathroom did, however, have a very good shower, and an adequate ceiling fan. The best thing about Saltlick is its location, the viewing terraces where you can sit outside and watch across the plains to see the water buffalos or elephants wandering down to the waterhole just a few feet away from where you are sitting. The worst thing is the food - absolutely terrible and in fact the worst I have ever eaten in Kenya. Not made any easier by the fact you are sitting in near darkness so you cannot see what nasty tasting food you are putting in your mouth!! Whilst I appreciate, it needs to be dark inside the lodge restaurant to enable guests to watch the goings on outside, they need to ensure all tables have working candlelight.

To sum it up .. needs a room upgrade to stop the rooms feeling dark and dingy. Food needs to improve dramatically as it was most unpleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms need updating as they are all very 1970s
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge

Address: Taita Hills Wildlife Sanctuary | PO Box 30624, Tsavo National Park West P.O.BOX 72493 00200, Kenya (Formerly Salt Lick Safari Lodge)
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the private Taita Hills Sanctuary, bordering Tsavo West National Park in south-eastern Kenya, Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge is a truly unique concept consisting of 96 rooms elevated on stilts, each overlooking a waterhole and linked by suspended walkways. At night, the waterholes are floodlit ensuring that you enjoy an uninterrupted view of the numerous animals arriving to quench their thirst. The elevated restaurant, and the bar a level higher, also offer stunning views of the sanctuary and are the ideal vantage points to view game. The lodge has its own fleet of well-equipped safari vehicles with excellent guides. The climate is very moderate with temperatures averaging between 18 and 30 degrees Celsius all year round. There are sporadic rains in March, April, November and December. Due to the unique layout of the lodge, it is not suitable for children below 8 years. Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge is 400 km from Nairobi and 200 km from Mombasa. The lodge is a one-hour flight from Nairobi or 30 minutes from Mombasa by private charter which lands at the Lodge's own airstrip. The Sanctuary is a 3-hour drive from Mombasa and a 6-hour drive from Nairobi on tarmac roads. So, if you intend to make the most out of your African safari holidays, Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge is the right place to be. No matter if you plan to head-over to Nairobi or Mombasa, the Lodge turns out to be a perfect check-in option. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Salt Lick Game Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.