We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On Safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge

Save Saved
You added Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tsavo National Park West, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“On Safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It is difficult to describe the feeling that you get when you walk into this lodge, to be greeted by friendly staff with warm towels, a cool drink and the sight of an elephant standing in the sun drinking from the waterhole outside... fantastic.
Food (buffet style) was good and plentyful. and the dining area overlooks the waterhole with its abundant wildlife.
Our room, which was pleasantly furnished and clean also overlooked the waterhole, and sitting outside watching the animals come to drink during the evening was magical, but don't forget the insect repellent!
Recommended - it's a shame that we only had one night here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    442
    65
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
130
274
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Formby
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I cried when I arrived, and again when I left - with happiness on arrival and sadness at leaving. a purely magical place to experience luxury and kenyan hospitality on a safari.
The main entrance leading to the great hall is so inviting and being offered white towels to wipe hands with on arrival was so welcome.
Sitting with a drink on the observation level late into evening looking at the wildlife at watering hole is very peaceful

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Hants.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Did safari with JT Safaris in January and this was the last lodge we stayed in. What a place!!!! Definitely the best of the 3 we stayed in. 5* without a doubt. Everything you wanted or needed was there. Immaculately clean and the food is out of this world. Imagine eating breakfast with a glass of champagne while watching zebras, giraffes and baboon drinking at the water hole. Fantastic. If you are thinking of doing a safari then book with JT and visit this lodge and you will not regret.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 as part of a safari tour and loved this place.
Rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable. Grounds and facilities are brilliant and the staff are friendly. We also done a night safari here and even though we were not lucky enough to spot any animals that we hoped for (big cats) we did have a great experience being out in the park at night and being part of the eerie silence and darkness. No high rise, no light pollution, no noise... bliss.

Great place, great staff, great stay.
Would recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Grab an afternoon tea and sit on the verandah and watch the sun slip down on the horizon. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumming, ga
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Kilaguni Serena is a spectacular facility with all the trappings anyone could ask for...nice rooms, great food choices, a nice bar, an active water hole, AND often times a wonderful view of Mt. Kilimanjaro to the west!

With that said, Tsavo West is not a great wildlife viewing location. This park is quite dense with growth and vegetation and no off-roading is allowed should you finally see some wildlife. As an experienced amateur photographer the off road travel restrictions in both Tsavo East & West and in Amboseli make these parks not high on my recommendation list, but if you are in Mombasa and interested in a quick safari experience, give it a try with JT Safaris!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Kilaguni Serena is simply amazing. The incredibly kind and thoughtful staff, the truly delicious food, and the absolutely amazing views. It can't be beat. We only spent one night in this beautiful resort but it ranks as one of the highlights of our 3 week trip. I can't think of a single thing that would have improved our stay, except for more time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestone-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent a night at Kilaguni just before Christmas 2012, following our stay in December 2010 which we didn't review.

The room, food, staff (birthday cake & singing were a nice touch), view over the watering hole, view of Mt Kilimanjaro (which we were fortunate enough to get this time due to the clear skies) are all first rate & we would thoroughly recommend this safari lodge.....and will hopefully return ourselves in the future

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Tsavo National Park West, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Tsavo West National Park in Kenya, the lodge commands a magnificent view second to none which extends to the rugged scenic Chyulu Hills in this 7065 square km park. The snowy dome of Mt. Kilimanjaro creates a perfect back drop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilaguni Serena Safari Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Hotel Kilaguni Serena Safari
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.