We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge

Save Saved
You added Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tsavo National Park West, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Southampton, Hants.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Did safari with JT Safaris in January and this was the last lodge we stayed in. What a place!!!! Definitely the best of the 3 we stayed in. 5* without a doubt. Everything you wanted or needed was there. Immaculately clean and the food is out of this world. Imagine eating breakfast with a glass of champagne while watching zebras, giraffes and baboon drinking at the water hole. Fantastic. If you are thinking of doing a safari then book with JT and visit this lodge and you will not regret.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    70
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
140
277
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here in December 2012 as part of a safari tour and loved this place.
Rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable. Grounds and facilities are brilliant and the staff are friendly. We also done a night safari here and even though we were not lucky enough to spot any animals that we hoped for (big cats) we did have a great experience being out in the park at night and being part of the eerie silence and darkness. No high rise, no light pollution, no noise... bliss.

Great place, great staff, great stay.
Would recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Grab an afternoon tea and sit on the verandah and watch the sun slip down on the horizon. Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumming, ga
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Kilaguni Serena is a spectacular facility with all the trappings anyone could ask for...nice rooms, great food choices, a nice bar, an active water hole, AND often times a wonderful view of Mt. Kilimanjaro to the west!

With that said, Tsavo West is not a great wildlife viewing location. This park is quite dense with growth and vegetation and no off-roading is allowed should you finally see some wildlife. As an experienced amateur photographer the off road travel restrictions in both Tsavo East & West and in Amboseli make these parks not high on my recommendation list, but if you are in Mombasa and interested in a quick safari experience, give it a try with JT Safaris!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Kilaguni Serena is simply amazing. The incredibly kind and thoughtful staff, the truly delicious food, and the absolutely amazing views. It can't be beat. We only spent one night in this beautiful resort but it ranks as one of the highlights of our 3 week trip. I can't think of a single thing that would have improved our stay, except for more time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestone-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent a night at Kilaguni just before Christmas 2012, following our stay in December 2010 which we didn't review.

The room, food, staff (birthday cake & singing were a nice touch), view over the watering hole, view of Mt Kilimanjaro (which we were fortunate enough to get this time due to the clear skies) are all first rate & we would thoroughly recommend this safari lodge.....and will hopefully return ourselves in the future

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I really enjoyed our stay at this lodge. The room was very clean and beautifully presented.
Our view from the balcony was great and you could see the wildlife at the waterhole in the distance.

The restaurant is very well set out so that you can view the animals at the waterhole, the food here was excellent, my personal favourite was the freshly cooked option, where you pick your meat and veg and the chef cooks it in front of you.

The pool area is very nice and the lodge complex is very well set out.

The lodge is great but I did not find the Safari at the West Park was very good at all. We saw next to no animals whilst on the Safari but it does seem like a great park for conservation as the animals are well hid in the bushes, well away from humans. This is my review of the Lodge though not the Safari.

Overall this is a really nice lodge. In fact it was the best Lodge we stayed at on our 4 day Safari but the West Safari park is a let down. I guess this Lodge tries so hard as the Safari is not as good in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our tradition has become making a stop over stay at Kilaguni on our way back to Nairobi from Mombasa. The service at Kilaguni is exceptional - from the staff, the rooms, to the food. The ambience leads one to totally relax. We stayed in the suites which were very comfortable. However, the seats need a little refurbishment. For the first time we were able to see magnificent views of Mt. Kilimanjaro from the balcony of our room which overlooked the watering hole and the Chyulu Hills. We also saw a herd of elephant crossing the road which was all very exciting. An added service that you receive is having your car washed in the morning. It makes all the difference rinding back in a clean car! We are planning a return trip very soon for more rest and relaxation.

Room Tip: Upstairs suites are nice and spacious with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge

Address: Tsavo National Park West, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Tsavo West National Park in Kenya, the lodge commands a magnificent view second to none which extends to the rugged scenic Chyulu Hills in this 7065 square km park. The snowy dome of Mt. Kilimanjaro creates a perfect back drop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilaguni Serena Safari Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Hotel Kilaguni Serena Safari
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.