We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Girls day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwanjani Eco Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsavo National Park West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kiwanjani Eco Lodge
Save
You added Kiwanjani Eco Lodge to your Saves list
Tsavo West , Kasigau, Tsavo National Park West 299-00502, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Our Girls day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My girls and I- 8 ladies- needed a break from our husbands and children. With the blessings of our husbands we decided 2 days away fro home would be great. We looked through various catalogues and websites then picked up Kiwanjani. We loved it coz it seemed so remote and we were looking for a place where we would breath in fresh air get rid of the toxins we breath in daily in the city.We got there at night and were a bit scared coz we had read about how the animals roam freely at the lodge, but we felt safe once we were received by the warm staff. The food was awesome and the ambiance, especially the rooms was to die for. The next day we went to the mountain of truth and we cried with joy, as we saw the wondrous of our Mighty Lord. He indeed is the creator of all good things. The animals, the mountains and the sun downer was breathtaking.
For the final night, the manager set up a bonfire for us and we had barbecue for dinner as we sang and danced
This was the best trip ever, and we agreed that this is our getaway destination every year.

Thank you Kiwanjani for making this the best trip ever.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Kiwanjani was just what we needed after a few very hectic days in Kasigau working with basket weavers. The lodge is remote but that is what we wanted. Myself and my friend were the only guests and it was such a pleasure to have it all to ourselves. We went on a long day safari to Tsavo but due to the time of the year did not see much apart from a Hippo jump into the water on top of a croc! Lots of Elephants and assorted buck but no big stuff like Rhino and Lion...
If you do stay at Kiwanjani it may be an idea to spend one night in Tsavo - I believe they can arrange this for you - so you do not have to do the whole trip in one day. John was fantastic and looked after our every need... we miss you John. All the other guys that looked ater us were fantastic too. The lodge really does a great service to the community who own shares in it so the more people who stay there the better it is.
The food can get a bit 'samey' and yes they do have to sort this out a bit.... please guys no soup from a packet ....
The location overlooking a waterhole is fantastic and even though the buffalo came when it was dark we still heard them snuffling and splashing around
But all in all it was a great trip and we will be going back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012 via mobile

We spent a peaceful few days at Kiwanjani at the very start of 2012, and came away with mixed feelings. It is a beautiful spot, the rooms are large and clean (although need to be fitted with mosquito nets) and at night the stars are fabulous, not another light to be seen. Robinson was managing the resort, and was extremely helpful, and brilliant with the children. We breakfasted with giraffe and zebra and came away thoroughly relaxed!

However...the marketing for Kiwanjani is utterly misleading. It states it is 'close' to Tsavo East and West. Just to get to the main road is a one hour trip off road, and the Tsavo East gate is 90 minutes away. To get to areas of game in Tsavo West takes four hours! Our plans of visiting both parks were soon changed. If it was marketed as a remote 'retreat' with opportunities for relaxation, walking, yoga etc. it could be highly successful. I would suggest proper maps, walking route, a marked vehicle trail, salt licks to attract game etc.

The other problem is the claim to be an 'Eco' resort. There is no water source, and it all needs to be trucked in, making options limited, but they do not even grow their own vegetables (which could be done by grey water recycling) and the food was very disappointing, often from a packet and covered in thick gravy.
Kiwanjani has great potential (the Gai rock sundowner site was one of the most beautiful spots I've been to in Kenya) if it markets itself honestly and improves its food and eco-credentials, but it still has a way to go, and is not there yet.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We are told that my husband and I are the first to honeymoon at Kiwanjani. This was the most wonderful part of our honeymoon. Thank you David, boniface, Frank and all the crew for making this a-never-to-be-forgotten event.

Our accommodations. We stayed in room1. When we walked into our room, the first thing i noticed was the view from the bed. the room has very big bay windows that overlook the watering hole. we could sit up in bed (and we did) and watch the many elephants, baboons, and other animals walk and play at the watering hole. they have chairs by the windows or you could just sit on the window ledge and watch the animals. one of my favorite experiences was taking a shower in the morning and looking out from the window to see a couple of girafees heading to the watering hole. how cool is that.

Main dinning area: This is setup to overlook the watering hole. You are out in the open so you can hear and see the animals. they have a bar to serve drinks or answer any question you may have.

Food: Delicious. wonderfully prepared with plenty of seconds for those who so desire. Our group was bigger than they have had before so we gave them a few challenges that they handled very well.

Staff: the staff were attentive, friendly and very aware of the guests needs.

Eco friendly: The resort is eco-friendly. they have solar panels set up to provide power to the facilities. they actively work very hard to leave very little impact on their surroundings. very refreshing.

Charity work: the owners are heavily invested in the community. they work with the local schools to provide volunteers on different projects, they work with the women from the local villages to empower and give them extra income and have dug waterholes to provide clean and accessible water.

On our way out, we stopped to take a few more pictures of the elephants and i swear they all lined up and saluted us. ask David.

We stayed in other bigger resorts after we left kiwanjani and there was none that compared to kiwanjani. I like that it is small and i am not having to navigate around mass numbers of tourists, i like it because the staff is attentive without being intrusive, i like it because i can watch the animals from my room, the walkways that connect buildings or from the main dinning area. i like because i can take a book and sit and many locations and enjoy the sun while listening to the sounds of birds and animals, but most of all, i like it because the owners have invested in the local communities and my money goes into making a better life for a community.

I plan to head back for my anniversary.

i have more to say about the resort and my experience but it would take books to put it all down. so if you want pictures or have specific questions about the resort, please dont hesitate to contact us. David or boniface know how to reach us.

Geoff and Catherine

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

The visit at Kiwanjani Eco Lodge was a lovley time, close to nature and all the beauty in it. The atmosphere is very exciting. Civilization feels far away. It is a wonderful Lodge to spend some time, just to realx and enjoy the nature, the lovley built lodge in an very interesting architecture, the animnals, the sun, the air, the great food, the stars and the fireplace in the evening. To feel the silence and the closeness to universe. I will highly recomend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

With a place like Kiwanjani, why drive all day seeking out wild animals? This amazing lodge sits on a watering hole adjacent to Tsavo National Park West in Kenya. As we sat there looking out our window or eating delicious meals in the lodge, we observed elephants, giraffes, zebras and baboons, wart hogs and a variety of birds coming to the watering hole. The accommodations are lovely and the service was wonderful. I can't say enough good things about this place. In fact, if (when) we go back to Kenya, we will spend at least a week there. We were impressed that the water and lights were solar powered and even more impressed that a portion of the profits from the lodge go to the local community to encourage them in their efforts to prevent wildlife poaching. Thank you Boniface for being our host at the lodge and a huge thank you to Robinson for taking us on this adventure.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms at the present time and all have a great view of the watering hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The trip to Kiwanjani Eco Lodge was a great adventure and a beautiful experience. The accommodations where very clean, spacious and had an elegance about them. I would rate it first class. The experience of watching the animals come to the watering hole by the Lodge really was a beautiful site to see. The food and service were top notch. The chef and the staff are to be complemented for the outstanding customer service. The dining and viewing area for the water hole was very relaxing and casual. The game watching was the best. Our guide Boniface was so knowledgeable of the animals, and also had a good sense of humor. Knowing that this was an eco-lodge added to the value of the trip. We felt confident that resources where not being wasted. This provided you with a good feeling that the environment was being protected.

Room Tip: All of the rooms where about the same with good views to watch the animals come to the watering hole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiwanjani Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiwanjani Eco Lodge

Address: Tsavo West , Kasigau, Tsavo National Park West 299-00502, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park West
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiwanjani sits elegantly in the middle of the two Tsavo's evoking an incredible sense of familiarity - a true home in the wilderness. Kiwanjani Eco Lodge is the perfect choice for any visitor to Kenya looking for an authentic bush experience in a remote off the beaten path. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kiwanjani Eco Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwanjani Eco Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.