We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lions Bluff Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsavo National Park West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lions Bluff Lodge
Save
You added Lions Bluff Lodge to your Saves list
Tavaita road, LUMO Community Wildlife Sanctuary | Tsavo West National Park, Tsavo National Park West, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazing place, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lions Bluff is truly exceptional. A 360 degree view. The bush, the mountains, Kilimanjaro, the animals almost at your doorstep.
The lodge is located only 6 km from one of the gates to The Tsavo West national park but you may enjoy equally great game viewing experience within boundaries of the local conservancy. The weird looking, red elephants are abundant, you can see them everyday without even leaving the lodge. Seeing big cats - lion, cheetah and leopard - requires a great deal of luck but that is not different from other parks. Buffalos and antelopes are less numerous than in Masai Mara, Serengeti or Ngorongoro, however, in return you will also see much less tourists and cars.
The lodge as such is nicely designed with great dining area at the top of the hill. Self contained rooms, which in fact are something in between tents and bungalows are spacious, offer a stunning view on the plains and Kilimanjaro.
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. We had some problems with our Landie and arrived late at night - they sent someone to guide us to the lodge. Next morning - all problems with our vehicle were fixed by 9 am so we didn't miss a thing. One of us came with gastric problems and required special diet - no problem, everything was cooked fresh and according to our instructions.
The food for the regular guests was good, perhaps not exceptional but good enough given the fact that the place is really remote and getting the stuff there is a real challenge.
We spent two nights and one full day in the lodge and promised ourselves to be back very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and offer the same fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
One never knows when the vehicle is going to breakdown, glad we could be of help. Great tip to carry the telephone number of your destination. Ours is +254717555498.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
60
98
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Lions Bluff is perched on a ridge with savanna on both sides. All 12 tent huts are built on stilts with decks that open onto the side facing Mount Kilimanjaro, which can be seen, weather permitting, in the far distance. We stayed here three nights and would happily have stayed longer. Our comfortable tent hut (canvas on two sides) had a wonderful romantic wooden bed and on cool nights the beds are pre-warmed with hot water bottles. Once dark, you are escorted to your room by Masai guards with torches. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the buffet food was good and copious. There is a nice gift shop too.

The champagne breakfast in the bush was truly memorable and the guided bird-watching walk around the lodge was fascinating. There are bird feeding trays around the main building and a range of birds can be seen from the veranda, the pathways and the tent decks (bird watching is said to be especially good from tents 7 and 12). We had a very enjoyable night drive too (escorted by a ranger), which included a lioness and her three cubs poised for the hunt.

As this is an eco-lodge, hot water to the tents is provided by solar heaters, which means it takes time to arrive, and the electricity to the tents is cut off for periods during the day and night, so charging laptops and mobile phones is best done at reception. There is no wireless internet but mobile phones work. Soap is provided but you need to bring your own toiletries. The lodge takes credit cards but makes a surcharge of 3% (common in Kenya).

While Lions Bluff is a wonderful place, it is not the best choice if this is your first ever safari. Unlike in the Masai Mara, for example, wildlife is quite thinly distributed (or at least it was when we were there) and you will not see rhino, so will not be able to tick off the Big Five. We were happy to spot smaller animals and birds, though we also saw lions, zebra, buffalo, giraffes, antelopes, gazelles, baboons, monkeys, and many elephants of all sizes.

Room Tip: The 12 tents are lined up along the ridge and tent 12 is quite a walk from the main building, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Being in a community sanctuary we are able to do so many activities to make your holiday special, so pleased that you enjoyed the Champaign breakfast! Yes wildlife can be seasonal but those that stay a while in low game season, usually coinciding with the rains, should see the variety of animals if not the quantities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We spent two nights here in late December. The setting is spectacular. We could see groups of elephants from the terraces. The hotel is set in a wildlife sanctuary, with tons of animals to admire, and an arrangement with the local community to give them part of the hotel proceeds. The staff and owner were very welcoming, keeping lunch available for us, even when we arrived very late. You can ask for a wake-up tea or coffee delivered to your tent/room and order a bag lunch for a full-day safari outing. The gift shop is one of the best you'll find. The beds were a bit hard and you need patience with the hot water, but otherwise, the rooms are charming with lovely terraces. A great place to stop if you are visiting Tsavo, the Taita Hills, or on your way from Nairobi to the coast.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Great that you enjoyed the gift shop, we try and stock a variety of goods from various community projects, makes it more fun and returns something into the people of Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What can I say... What a beautiful place .... Unspoiled Africa ... Stunning views ... Amazing New Year Party (with a D.J. from Voi to boot that is the 1st I am told) .... The views and the abundance of animals is amazing .. all that I heard it to be.. Well done to everyone for making it such a memorable New Year in the bush. It couldn't of been better .. Champaign breakfast is a must ....

Room Tip: No tips... ALL the rooms are amazing, with an awesome view of Africa at your feet.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
We really appreciate that you enjoyed the occasion, the staff put were so enthusiastic about it and hope that guests will use the Bluff for any special anniversaries or gathering of friends. Come back and enjoy all that the community has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at this lodge during a 3 night 4 day safari and we wish we would have had more than 1 night at this stunning location. From the moment we arrived to the time we had to leave nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff. The location was nothing more than spectacular with a clear view, weather permitting, of Kilimanjaro and the surrounding savannah. The accommodation was perfect and Eco friendly, the views from the veranda were magnificent and with the added touch on a cold evening of having hot water bottles placed in you bed before you retire. The food was superb and taken over looking the plains. This lodge supports the local community and articles can be bought from the small shop next to the reception which will give income to the local population. We have no hesitation in recommending this lodge and we will defiantly be returning for a longer stay. We stayed on the 6Th January. Chris Edwards and Sharon Hesford.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review and we look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto heli, greece
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Obviously this is a fab location, amazing view, great scenery, awesome safari etc etc... but the lodge itself is fabulous. The staff made us feel very at home, were not intrusive but attentive to our needs and were able to be very flexible. The lodge admittedly was quiet, being a mid January mid week trip but they held breakfast later for us so we could have a longer early morning drive, froze our bottled water for us so we could have cold water all day and kept our 1/2 open bottle of wine chilled for us until we needed it the next evening. The attention to detail in the 'tents' was also very much appreciated. We were in tent 3, lots of room, hot water, VERY clean and great for a comfy nights sleep. The hot water bottles provided weren't necessary during our stay, but a nice touch.

Room Tip: Our friends had 'tent' 9 which is a 2 tier tent with separate entrances. This would be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irlkenya, Owner at Lions Bluff Lodge, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Wow, the staff really appreciate that you noticed and enjoyed the wee extra effort that they put in, your comments have made our day at the Bluff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on the road trip back from Diani to Nairobi. The setting is really spectacular, especially the last part of the drive up to the bluff. The views are incredible - real Out of Africa stuff! We went straight into the lunch buffet which was also very good, as was dinner later. Good to know that this is a place run by local people, with profits going back into conservation of the area and the local community. We didn't do any safaris this time around as there seemed few animals around, it having rained a lot lately. But just chilling with the views was enough for a really nice 24 hours. Very nice rooms too, with fantastic beds made out of local fallen wood. The WW1 history of the area is also interesting, and worth a bit of research before you get there to enhance the experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lions Bluff Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Bluff Lodge

Address: Tavaita road, LUMO Community Wildlife Sanctuary | Tsavo West National Park, Tsavo National Park West, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lions Bluff Lodge is a very special eco lodge within Lumo Community Wildlife Sanctuary. The lodge has stunning views across miles and miles of Kenyan parkland including views of Kilimanjaro and the Taita Hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lions Bluff Hotel Tsavo National Park West
Lions Bluff Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lions Bluff Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.