We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Voi Wildlife Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsavo National Park East
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Voi Wildlife Lodge
Save
You added Voi Wildlife Lodge to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Tsavo National Park East, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
nairobi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A place to relax in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Whenever I pass through Voi I have to find time to Visit Voi Wildlife Lodge.I have visited the place for drinks several times.The restaurant is strategically located facing a water hole in the park where animals come to drink.The bar is located on a raised platform that has extended into the park above the water hole.I like the place because I can watch wild animals conveniently without entering the park especially when there is no time for a game drive and so its cost saving.The staff are friendly and the environment is serene.Though the drinks may appear to be expensive, the other factors compensate for this and hence there is value for money .
My review is limited to restaurant as I have not lodged there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    115
    38
    16
    5
See reviews for
61
120
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Have stayed in this lodge a few times. The rates seemed to have hiked up since our last stay, perhaps to cover their costs of the added accommodation blocks.
The grounds were covered in litter (actually witnessed a tour bus chucking his empty water bottles out of the van and he was within 2 metres of a rubbish bin?) which was a shame.
The lounge looks out on to a water hole which on this occasion was a mass of birds and one lone male water buck, but you can usually expect to see elephants and other animals in the evening (sometimes a hippo in the pool).
The rooms are big which is why we used the lodge with ample room for the kids. However on this occasion, we only had 2 towels (for 4 people) available and two beds made up when we had booked a quad room...
Food was ok and the staff were helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed there for one night last ear during Easter and we certainly regretted it. While other reviews are right about the location and the fact that you have wild life almost at your window, the service is poor. FIrst it was very expensive (we had just been in a hotel in Malindi for three nights at a better price and much better service- but we wanted to break the 9 hrs drive to Nairobi), staff were not friendly at all very rude and not helpfull. When we wanted to use the tiny pool they have it was full with a very noisy group playing voleyball. The food was terrible, I even spotted something crawling in the buffet!
The rooms are basic for rest, but early in the morning 6am you can hear staff pulling carts for cleaning and guest ready to check-out or go for safari.
We wanted to use the sauna but it was already booked so no option there. If we ever go back to Tsavo certainly will not go to Voi lodge.

Room Tip: Don't take ground floor or close to pool, but better if you select other hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

.We had lunch here and were impressed with the location just outside the park but with it own water holes. Good decking for viewing, we saw a swimming pool and in the heat of the day a gent using exercise machines prior to cooling off in a spa pool. The property had a well managed feel and was our lunch stop at the end of a totally awesome four day safati with JTSafaris <info@julius-safaris.com>
We arrived just before the 12.00 lunch serving time so had some time to look around and take a few photographs. Would have asked to use their pool if time had allowed to cool off.
Being outside the Park it has a busy lunch trade with a good variety of food. There were a lot of Italians eating when we were there, I suspect they might have hoped for a better tasting ,more Italian, Pasta sauce

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulceby North Licolnshire England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

The lodge is like many other in Kenya being old but full of charicture. The food was god with a good varity of dishes. The service was very friendly and the staff most helpful. Thought not actually in the park the animals were on the doorstep. Many elephants around the waterhole.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My family spent two nights at the Voi Wildlife Lodge in April 2011. The reception was OK with very cheerful and helpful staff. The rooms were OK but not great. However, I give them A+ for a good shower and spacious bathrooms in the rooms. They could improve on the situation with bugs.

The balcony seemed to be monkey territory and we were afraid of using them esp because we had two little children.

The food was OK (not great). A little creativity on the menu could go along way. This being a very hot part of the country, there should have been a lot more iced water and fruit juices on offer. Juice was only served with meals whilst I think there should have been juice throughout. Tea was also served without biscuits or cake. Quite unusual for afternoon tea. I was about to forget this: this is hot African bush. Icecream would have been perfect! Please please please, find a way of serving icecream.

The bar area was OK. But considering it is the only place one could have a beer, they were very over priced. Something like £2.50 a pint in a country where a pint normally costs about £1.00. And the lighting and bugs in the bar was also a problem. They must find a way to remedy that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed in new extension that was opened in Sep 2011. Rooms are good standard even electric keys didn't work as should be - there was always electricity. Even if key was removed for 4 hours...

French balcony overlooking for new water hole - not in use yet for some reason. Hotel had spa area - you can sweat in sauna and overlook the savanna same time - if you like. Nice looking pool area, bar and restaurant. We were satisfied with this but it didn't match of our other safari hotels so therefore "only" 4*.

Corner rooms in new extension *01 looked bit bigger tan others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Voi Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voi Wildlife Lodge

Address: Tsavo National Park East, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Voi Wildlife Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Voi Wildlife Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Voi Wildlife Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voi Wildlife Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.