We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Voi Safari Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Voi Safari Lodge to your Saves list
Voi Safari Lodge
Tsavo Safari Camp East, Tsavo National Park East 30471 , Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Kings Lynn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“poor accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during the first half of our 4 day safari trip.

We found the staff very welcoming and willing to do anything for you which was great, but the food was average and the drinks service difficult to get. The worst part were the rooms, they were completely basic, very hot, and the cleanliness was shockingly poor with very basic youth hostel feel.

Whilst the safari experience was great, we felt the stay at Voi was poor value for money. We then went on to Finch Hattens which was poles apart.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    147
    64
    31
    17
See reviews for
88
187
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was a stop off lodge for a meal while on safari with LETS GO WILD SAFARI that is the best company to go with and you will have your own vehicle and will not have to share with strangers, ride round looking at all the other people squashed up in their vehicle. Anyway the lodge was amazing and the food was outstanding. Oh and cheap drinks

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Voi was our first overnight stop on a four day safari trip. The staff were lovely (it is the Kenyan way). The lodge is in a great location, couldn't fault that, but the rooms are dreadful. Tiny, hot, airless, antiquated, dated, and undesirable. The bed covers look like something out of the fifties; heavy brocade - just what you need in a hot country. The pillows were awful, flat and lumpy. The linen was 'bobbly', thank goodness I was too tired to care! The 'so-called' mosquito net didn't even meet in the middle. There was a fan, which was great at circulating the stuffy hot air in the room (you couldn't open the windows during the day because of the baboons, or at night because of the mossies). Complimentary toiletries were laughable and the inlet pipe to the toilet leaked like a sieve, spewing water every time you flushed. On the plus side the shower was good.
The food was average, beer was cold, that was also a plus. Complimentary tea & coffee were provided on arrival and again at supper time. Breakfast was included and was actually quite nice.
The views were amazing and the hide by the waterhole gave you incredible up close views of the elephants that came to drink. It's just shame that people can't be quiet in the hide while you are trying to film or video.
The tempo bar looked out across the savannah, you couldn't want for a better view while drinking a cold beer.
Because this lodge was pre-booked by my tour operator we didn't have a choice. Having a choice I would probably visit for afternoon tea and then go and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, building and rooms a little tired and in need of updating
Food was plentiful but not very inspiring,
Saw loads on the game drive then returned and
Watched 2 lionesses take down 2 zebra at the waterhole, not very Disney.....

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was WOWed as soon as i stepped in the hotel. The thing that done it for me were the views which you can get. The restaurant, bar and swimming pool all look over the African Savannah with numerous elephants at the watering hole. the views go as far as the eye can see. Our room also looked out onto the savannah aswell best view I have ever had. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food in the hotel was also really nice with a great variety to choose from. Overall it is a fantastic hotel to spend your nights whilst on safari in Tsavo East I would recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: a view onto the game reserve
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the voi lodge, fantastic views of elephants, and buffaloes drinking from the waterhole, I can't describe how amazing the view was it was unreal. Baboons visited during the day and were so close it was great. Amazing photo opportunities. The food was great, the service was brilliant, the staff was so attentive it topped off the experience. The rooms were clean and had great views. Don't leave your window open incase the baboons get in.

Michelle and Wes

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here 18 years ago and not a lot of change but I am glad it is still the same comfortable beds and great food and the elephant waterering hole that you can get close to under ground is just brilliant

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Voi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Voi Safari Lodge

Address: Tsavo Safari Camp East, Tsavo National Park East 30471 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Voi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Voi Safari Hotel Tsavo National Park East
Voi Safari Lodge Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Voi Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.