We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Safari” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manyatta Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsavo National Park East
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manyatta Camp
Save
You added Manyatta Camp to your Saves list
Tsavo National Park East, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Safari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed one night as this camp, it was very clean, tent was of good standard, staff very friendly, please bare in mind you are in the middle of the bush, so you may get a few bugs (outside the tent)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
46
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at Manyatta's for one night on our way back to Nairobi. It is a small hotel - I think maybe 20 tents?? The service is great and the food wonderful. The staff are incredibly courteous and respectful. I just wish I could say the same of some of the guests. Tents require hushed voices which some of the guests could have been reminded of. We loved the splash pools and there's also the main hotel pool too. Some reviews said their pools were dirty. Unless we were just lucky ours was clean just cold...Brrr! but perfect to cool off in when you're back from a dusty game drive.

Manyatta's is a great little place very close to the Voi gate of Tsavo East. I would return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Manyatta Camp for 2 nights. The rooms were spacious and comfort the private pool was additional activity to do after a game drive. The Food part of the resort was poor to be honest or maybe it was not busy and that they just wanted to get the job done especially if you travel with kids I would advise to take something for your kids. The staffs were very helpful and were always willing to assist. I would definitely go back again but maybe without kids.

Room Tip: From tents 1 - 11 are better as you will have clear view of the animals when the are closer or a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

we stayed at this camp fpr 2 nights and could not fault it at all....the staff the food everything was spot on...certainly give camping a must....we are back in january and we will defo be back to visit this camp when we are on safari.....bring it on

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed one night as part of a safari trip from Nairobi to Mombasa. I would heartily agree with the mixed reviews here. The plunge pools are a great idea, but need to be looked after more carefully. The location is incredible, and the view from the dining pavilion can't be beat, but the food itself was only fair. Everyone was friendly and helpful, but there were definitely some glitches in service. Dinner wasn't actually ready when they said it would be, and although the shop is meant to open at certain times, you have to ask someone to unlock it. (Perhaps not important for most people, but I collect postcards.) Our greatest challenge was getting someone to understand the concept of a "twin room" for two women traveling together. We were shown to a huge tent with an equally large bed. When we said we'd reserved a twin room, we were told this was a room for two people. It took some explaining, and instead of finding us another tent, they brought in an extra bed. It seemed like a good idea until I actually tried to sleep in it. It was much smaller than it looked, and the mosquito net provided with it with much bigger than necessary, with no place really to hang it properly. It was a comical night. On the plus side, when I mentioned it at check-out the next morning, they comped our drink bill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just back from 3 days Safari Tsavo East and Amboslli.
Arranged from Mombasa:www.kenyachikohtours.com
It was a lovely tentlodge with good bed, private pool and good food and drinks. On gamedrive lion and a lot other animals...in the morning we were surprised bij a cheetah!!
It was a great experience !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Stayed at Manyatta camp for two nights and it was a wonderful experience! The whole setup of the tents built just along the fence of the national park and the private plunge pool is unique and brilliant!! The first morning we were there we saw buffaloes just outside our tent and in the evening there were elephants! The staff are very friendly and accomodating and the tents are very clean. Only issue i had with manyatta was the cost of drinks. A beer goes for 400bob, which to me is ridiculous! But all in all,its a place I would recommended to anyone who wishes to visit Tsavo national park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manyatta Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manyatta Camp

Address: Tsavo National Park East, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park East
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Tsavo National Park East
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Manyatta Camp Kenya/Tsavo National Park East

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manyatta Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.