We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular sight.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thomson Falls

Thomson Falls
Near Ole Ngare Nare River, Nyahururu, Kenya
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Nyahururu
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Belper
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular sight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was lucky on two counts: firstly there were was no one else down at the bottom of the falls. We had ignored the sign and gone down anyway. There was a reasonable amount of water going over the falls.

We Ignored the attractions offered and concentrated on the falls.

Bargain hard in the shops. Prices asked were way over the top. Food and drink was cheap.

The Falls themselves were well worth the visit and the drive out from Nairobi. The Falls themselves are the attraction and if you are lucky enough, as I was, to be there at a quiet time just take the opportunity to enjoy the spectacle and ignore the rest, which wasn't that intrusive anyway.

Probably get a wheel chair to the viewing area at the top.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thompson's falls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I really enjoyed the trek down to the floor of the falls. The climb back may be a bone crusher but the euphoria of getting down there and the beauty of the falls was simply exhilarating!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely site.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Falls are breath-taking and beautiful. Excursion down to the bottom was very adventurous. However one needs a guide to keep away criminals who waylay visitors from the bushes with knives.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malindi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A lovely waterfall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We got into Thomson falls with a warm welcome by the local guides and the kikuyu traditional dances before getting down to the waterfall. It was a relaxing moment watching this magnificent waterfall, down to the bottom taking that fantastic photo.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

It was a great day trip to this waterfall, walking down it was fun and doing a bit of shopping in the local stalls there. Only need a couple of hours here. We hired a car and drove from Nakuru stopping off at the Equator crossing and a few more sights along the way.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomson Falls also viewed

Aberdare National Park, Central Province
Nyahururu, Central Province
 

Been to Thomson Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomson Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.