We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days, too short in Nakuru!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru

Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake Nakuru National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru
Save
You added Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru to your Saves list
West Road, Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya   |  
Mombasa, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“4 days, too short in Nakuru!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The staff are very friendly right from reception and everywhere you need assistance. I liked the food, decor, business centre and the location. Its a very good place for business meetings and my short stay of 4 days was like 2 days.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, ground floor was best for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    11
    11
    6
See reviews for
6
10
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Waterbuck. The reception area is very nice- the rooms are large- the showers are hot- I'd probably stay there again. Our room was on the noisy-front side- maybe a room towards the back would be quieter- next time that's what I'll ask for.
The restaurant has excellent buffet meals- The staff was great!

Room Tip: If you can get a room towards the back or away from the road- it should be quieter. Some rooms also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Been to Nakuru with my clients in fact last week, in would like to take this opportunity to give my input on the positiveness of the water buck hotel in Nakuru

For any client doing tented camp or camping Water buck hotel is a good option for that budget range, their reception was excellent , staff welcoming and the rooms looks to have been on renovation and are now representable. any one for amid range accommodation i would recommend

Room Tip: Book the eastern rooms as there is a road in front of the hotel it might be noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

Reception looked good but rooms very noisy and very very dated. Hotelbis in the thick of the town centre which was cool. One night max if you must stay

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake Nakuru National Park hotels

Nairobi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Hi i was there in early August 2011. It was a family outing. Well we booked 5 rooms for half board. The 1st night being on a Saturday, we all didnot sleep. There was loud noise from a pub nearby. I wish the hotel can have sound proof rooms. Food not good at all. Will not go back there in any way.The look from the reception is superb and the rooms were not bad.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Don't be fooled by the look of the Hotel as you enter into the foyer. There, it is beautiful. It looks like something out of Las Vegas, Nevada. THEN, when they take you to your room you find out that it was all a facade. Toilet wouldn't flush, cockroaches in the room, door handle don the bathroom was broken so if you shut the door, you wouldn't be able to get back out. Loud, dirty & disgusting. There are no shelves or hooks in the bathroom to hang anything such as towels to dry your hands. I could not wait to leave the place.

Room Tip: Ask at the front desk for one that is far from the restaurant and has a toilet that works. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The staff at this restaurant was particularly helpful. The rooms were also very good, with hot shower, clean and well maintained. The fitness room and swimming pool are not nice, so if this is a priority, skip the Waterbuck. Full board is also not recommended as the dinner is limited to beef stew and beef stroganoff (they tell you there is a buffet, but every evening their conveniently isn't one- and they have only two menu items available.)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru

Address: West Road, Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Waterbuck Nakuru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.