We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food - Exotic Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Hill Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Nakuru National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
Save Saved
You added Flamingo Hill Tented Camp to your Saves list
Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Orrville, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Food - Exotic Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was a fun relaxing place to decompress after our work in Kenya. Located within Nakuru Park, we did the safari and saw a lot of animals. As far as safari's, it was good but the highlight was Flamingo Hill. The staff was excellent and attentive. We were so glad for the variety of food and enjoyed the staff that helped us at each meal. The hot water bottles place in our beds at evening turn down were so appreciated. Our 'tent' rooms were clean and snug and the bathroom was nice and roomy.

Room Tip: Expect to hear some outside noise since these are 'tents'. However, we slept very well and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    97
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
67
102
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The camp itself is great with very comfortable tents, good bathrooms and excellent food. Staff are very friendly cheerful and helpful with lovely singing voices. The location is great for game watching with buffalo, antelope and rhino visible from within the camp and lots of other game only a short drive away. The camp is in close proximity to the perimeter fence meaning that nights can be noisy with barking dogs and motorbikes. May be a problem if you are a light sleeper. Nice but small swimming pool well located in pretty gardens.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at the Flamingo Tented Camp for 2 nights on a recent safari around Kenya and throughly enjoyed our stay. The tents themselves are very comfortable and clean, the staff very friendly and helpful and the food fantastic. The camp is in a great spot in the national park - we even saw a rhino at the back fence in the morning when we woke up! We would definitely recommend the Flamingo Tented Camp if you're planning a stay at Nakuru National Park.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osterley Middx
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I like all the camps/lodges in Nakuru National Park but this is probably the most innovative in terms of decor and the buildings.
You should be aware that due to huge amounts of rainfall over the last three years the lake has flooded and it is not even possible to get through the main gate. Instead visitors take tracks to the side of the gate. The problem is that the alkaline nature of the lake has, temporarily at least, been destroyed and there are almost no flamingos there. The main reason for going normally is that this is one of the natural wonders of the world with an astonishing number of flamingos constantly arriving and leaving; truly breathtaking.
The tented camp is still a good base for other birdlife.
The public buildings; reception, dining room, bar, are beautiful and there are some innovative touches like the coffee tables made from the roots of trees that have fallen down. Perhaps I am easily pleased but so long as there is a chef preparing food to go with the buffet, I'm quite happy and I foound the food very good. Of course, with the park being very near to Nakuru they should have no problem getting hold of fresh produce.
The 'tents' don't have electricity all night but that doesn't really matter. They do have comfortable beds and a good, and large bathroom.
I was rather disappointed with the birds in the grounds of the camp itself especially because I had spotted bee-eaters (European?) on the wires nearby. Some tents get a great view over the plain (but not the lake) and one couple we had been travelling with saw a rhino from their veranda.
Once again Teresa (TA TOURS AND TRAVEL, Nairobi) came up with a good one. Certainly to be recommended.

Room Tip: Some have better views than others. You may want to be near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Right place to stay. Here you can feel vibrant emotions of wild coated with basic comforts of home . Was touched by their security arrangement. When they learnt that a lion pride was settling nearby, they stationed a Masai security guard in front of every tent for whole night! Guest co-ordinator was making enquiries about at-home-ness from time to time. Staff is very cordial. Food is in variety and cleanliness beyond reproach.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was a good tented camp to stay at while at Lake Nakuru, spacious tents, well positioned, we loved it, they could do something about the meals though, slight improvement, the lake had swollen due to rains, I loved the bird life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

More like a 4.5 out of 5, but I am rounding it off to 5 stars.

Pros:
The tents are great! Ample space and a big enough bathroom.
Quiet location.
Staff are very professional and provide excellent service.
Food is above average with a hearty breakfast.
Cocktails at the bar.

Cons:
Internet works only in the bar area. Not that this is a big issue, but some people may find it inconvenient.
While most of the food is good, some items were bland.

Overall, a great experience. The best part is that you drive outside the tents and see rhinos and buffaloes lounging around. Staff are friendly and make your stay comfortable. Definitely recommended in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Hill Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hill Tented Camp

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty lodging in Lake Nakuru National Park
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Hill Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.