We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very smart base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Hill Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Nakuru National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
Save
You added Flamingo Hill Tented Camp to your Saves list
Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Osterley Middx
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very smart base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I like all the camps/lodges in Nakuru National Park but this is probably the most innovative in terms of decor and the buildings.
You should be aware that due to huge amounts of rainfall over the last three years the lake has flooded and it is not even possible to get through the main gate. Instead visitors take tracks to the side of the gate. The problem is that the alkaline nature of the lake has, temporarily at least, been destroyed and there are almost no flamingos there. The main reason for going normally is that this is one of the natural wonders of the world with an astonishing number of flamingos constantly arriving and leaving; truly breathtaking.
The tented camp is still a good base for other birdlife.
The public buildings; reception, dining room, bar, are beautiful and there are some innovative touches like the coffee tables made from the roots of trees that have fallen down. Perhaps I am easily pleased but so long as there is a chef preparing food to go with the buffet, I'm quite happy and I foound the food very good. Of course, with the park being very near to Nakuru they should have no problem getting hold of fresh produce.
The 'tents' don't have electricity all night but that doesn't really matter. They do have comfortable beds and a good, and large bathroom.
I was rather disappointed with the birds in the grounds of the camp itself especially because I had spotted bee-eaters (European?) on the wires nearby. Some tents get a great view over the plain (but not the lake) and one couple we had been travelling with saw a rhino from their veranda.
Once again Teresa (TA TOURS AND TRAVEL, Nairobi) came up with a good one. Certainly to be recommended.

Room Tip: Some have better views than others. You may want to be near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    112
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
70
120
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surat, India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Right place to stay. Here you can feel vibrant emotions of wild coated with basic comforts of home . Was touched by their security arrangement. When they learnt that a lion pride was settling nearby, they stationed a Masai security guard in front of every tent for whole night! Guest co-ordinator was making enquiries about at-home-ness from time to time. Staff is very cordial. Food is in variety and cleanliness beyond reproach.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This was a good tented camp to stay at while at Lake Nakuru, spacious tents, well positioned, we loved it, they could do something about the meals though, slight improvement, the lake had swollen due to rains, I loved the bird life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

More like a 4.5 out of 5, but I am rounding it off to 5 stars.

Pros:
The tents are great! Ample space and a big enough bathroom.
Quiet location.
Staff are very professional and provide excellent service.
Food is above average with a hearty breakfast.
Cocktails at the bar.

Cons:
Internet works only in the bar area. Not that this is a big issue, but some people may find it inconvenient.
While most of the food is good, some items were bland.

Overall, a great experience. The best part is that you drive outside the tents and see rhinos and buffaloes lounging around. Staff are friendly and make your stay comfortable. Definitely recommended in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Flamingo's staff provided quite comfortable lodgings but could really do alot more to improve the dim lighting in the restaurant and range of food shown. We were not quite aware of what we were eating during day and night and wished we had more access to sight to better appreciate the excellent quality in the meals provided.

The fact that we stayed during low season (dec) shouldn't result in set-meals offered for both lunch and dinner, really. The lack of an ala-carte menu was the only bane registered.

Could do with less bollywood or trance music in the lounge area...this is Kenya! We suggested to the management to further improve wifi access to the entire compound instead of just the lobby area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luyksgestel, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. Was a great place to stay. We had tent number 1 and had a nice view over the Lake Nakuru Park with no other houses in front of you. Inside was very nice and clean. Very nice hot shower. This was one of our most favorite stays this holiday. The lobby and restaurant also was nice to see. The food was good. Very friendly staff.
We will stay here again that's for sure.

Room Tip: Room number 1 is a great one. Nearest to the gate of the wild park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is such a beautiful camp, in a very pretty setting. The tents are beautifully appointed, and the decor is stunning. The "tent" has a large verandah on the front and perfect for relaxing and watching the world go by. The bathroom is big and luxurious and the BEST hot water/pressure shower of all the camps visited. The bar/dining area is huge and also beautifully appointed, the whole place is so pretty and just what you would expect for luxury accommodation whilst on safari. It was cool at night, so wonderful hot waters bottles awaited us when we climbed into bed. A large fire pit kept the chill away after dinner and was very enjoyable to sit around after our meal. Staff and food excellent. Would highly recommend this camp. We stayed here as part of our JT Safari holiday

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Hill Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hill Tented Camp

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lake Nakuru National Park
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Hill Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.