We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Hill Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Nakuru National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp
Save
You added Flamingo Hill Tented Camp to your Saves list
Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

When our TO suggested this place we were a hesitate as it been having some bad reviews. However we have only good things to say about Flamingo Hill Camp. Good tent, food and service excellent. Great shower.
Loved Lake Nakuru Park despite the lack of flamingos. Our guide went to great effort to make sure we saw as many animals as possible - rhinos, lions, leopards, rothschild giraffes.
if we ever get the chance to go back to Kenya this would be one place we would definitely come back to. Maybe next time the lake mightn't be in flood and the flamingos would be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    112
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
70
120
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My thoughts about this hotel/park are quite mixed. Firstly, our reasons to go to lake nakuru as part of our 7 day safari tour was mostly for the flamingos. However the lake has overflown, causing flooding. The flamingos have migrated to another lake.. so we were quite disappointed upon learning this. Had we known, we would have skipped this destination as the game run did not offer much more than other parks within Kenya. In terms of the hotel, the tents were below average. Lighting was poor, and the rooms were simple and not very luxurious. The grounds were beautiful, with a nice pool, but no view of the lake. Lots of bugs on the properties compared to other hotels/parks.,, made it difficult to hang out outside after dinner. I got a massage which was a nice treat and quite affordable. The service however was great overall. The meals were delicious altho less fancy than other resorts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon in 2013 August. It is beautiful! The staff and friendly and nice and the tents are lovely and clean with good bathrooms. Food is good and plenty choice. Got a little cold in the evening at restaurant has open sides so take an extra layer. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I have just returned from 10 days in Nairobi/Kenya and this camp was by far my favorite. The tents were beautiful, clean with the best HOT shower I had my entire stay in Kenya.
Can we talk about the staff. Frank, the assistant manager, was delightful. Checking with us to make sure everything was to our liking. Our waiters, Joshua and James, were professional, funny and anticipated our every need. The manager of the restaurant and his entire kitchen staff was superb. The food was the best I had while on safari. If you are celebrating a birthday in Kenya, head to Flamingo Hill, where you won't be disappointed. The singing and dancing were a blast.
Thanks to everyone at Flamingo Hill for making our trip and my friends birthday such a memorable one!
Check out the link for birthday celebration videohttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOPQ7DAps44

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed one night on our way to the Masai Mara hoping to see some of the millions of Flamingos that usually reside there. However the lake had flooded its banks and the Flamingos were somewhere else looking for food which left us disappointed. You can’t control Mother Nature.

We did manage to make the best of the situation and our driver took us on a terrific drive through the park where we saw colonies of Baboons, Rhinos, Lions, Elephants, Wart Hogs and many other strange and interesting creatures. It turned out to be an interesting morning, but we saw more and got closer on other excursions on the trip. Really, the Flamingos are the star attraction.

The accommodations are comfortable; although we stayed in tents these were well appointed and had ensuite bathrooms with hot and cold running water. The grounds themselves were quite pretty and well kept. Meals were served in the main dining room, the food was passable but sorry I can’t give it higher marks. It was mostly buffet style which was a bit annoying after having buffet in several other places. The Staff were courteous but not noteworthy. You have to pay in cash for any bar items so remember to bring your cash or you’ll have to trek back to your tent for your wallet.

If you go, be sure to check that the Flamingos are there, if not consider giving this place a pass.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed heads
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Only had a one night stay but wish we had longer. Service, food and facilities were excellent. Could not fault anything. The shower and toilet in the ensuited tent were the best we have had while on safari!! The food was also the best we have had while on safari. We also really liked the national park. Although hardly any flamingos, the park is lovely and still plenty to see. If coming to Lake Nakuru dont hesitate booking this tented camp site.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was traveling with two other safari/ Kenya first timers so imagine our hesitation when we read the reviews on the camp after our travel agency told us no more rooms anywhere but here. We really wanted to go to Kenya and do the safari so we just shrugged it off and decided to go ahead. But when we got there, the welcome area already made an impression. We were welcomed with tea and lemongrass scented hot towels. It was such a nice gesture and gave us the warmth we needed after that cold travel from the airport to the camp.
After the registration, we were escorted to our tent to house all of us 3 travelers. The place was just amazing with all the greens we can see, properly trimmed bushes, stoned pathway, directional sign and lighting fixture (which proved effective and actually working as the sun set). We were so excited when we got to tent 19. And so we went inside to see beds with mosquito net draping (yey! mosquito repellent #1!) but wait, we are 3 and the bed count is only 2?? Had to raise the concern which was as quickly attended to that by the time we went back from dinner, there it was... bed #3... (thumbs up!!). The bathroom was way better than what we expected. Water supply gets cut at some point in the afternoon, for an hour if im not mistaken. But we didnt mind as we would be out enjoying the safari by then. Everything was supplied to us like the usual toiletries and sealed bottles of waters (never drink water from the faucet, even to gargle with it just to be on the safe side), mosquito repellent wipes were provided too (although we did have our own repellents but found this gesture thoughtful just the same). Everybody was so accommodating, always smiling and readily responds. Food was good, breakfast until dinner. Restrooms were clean. Free Kenyan coffee 24/7, which was soooo good I think i finished so and so liters for our 2 days stay! :) There's wi-fi connection, over all very clean. Oh and before i forget, felt safe even in the middle of the night knowing that the Masai guards were roaming and checking on our tent every now and then. And you'll never imagine our delight when we found hot packs under our sheets, provided to give us warmth through the chilly evening. We did have such wonderful time and our expectations were definitely exceeded. Was really worth more than what we paid for. Thank you once again to Flamingo Hill Tented Camp for allowing us a wonderful stay in Kenya.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Hill Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Hill Tented Camp

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lake Nakuru National Park
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hill Tented Camp Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Hill Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.