We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overprice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Nakuru

Lake Nakuru
Lake Nakuru National Park, Kenya
Improve this listing
Visit Lake Nakuru like an insider
$1,325*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“overprice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I like pink flamingo and that that the lakes are not dry anymore, however Cormorans are more and more numerous, a storm destroy part of the park (though it creates some kind of atmosphere) but above all they double their entry price!! it is very pricey now

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    205
    74
    18
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cumming, ga
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
“The Rhinos are worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Seeing both the White and Black Rhino varieties was well worth the short stay at Lake Nakuru National Park.

Both of these Rhinos are endangered and a joy to see them thriving in a protected environment. Bravo KWS for your efforts!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Spectacular wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Family groups of white rhinos are always to be found here, plus amazing birdlife, including flamingoes and pelicans. This year we even saw a black stork. Because of the flooding, we even saw hippos in the lake this year, something which is quite rare.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Trash in the park”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have been to many game parks in Kenya and was very disappointed with Nakuru. My family all noticed the garbage in the park from one day to the next when we were there last week. While the Kenya Wildlife Services collects a ridiculous 80 USD per person, they appear to do nothing to lift a finger to clean up the trash along the road. This park was a total waste of time and money for us. Do not bother to go unless you are a hard core bird watcher, but know that there are hardly any Flamingos there anymore. If you do go as a non-resident, be sure to have U.S. dollars with you to pay for your entrance fee or else KWS will rip you off with the exchange rate.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great game park, with good variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We only had to drive a short distance before we saw many animals. This was my fifth trip to Kenya and the first time I saw Colobus monkeys. The birds, although i have heard are fewer than in the past, were plentiful. The water level in the lake has increased flooding some of the roads, but this has moved some of the animals into a small space, making them very easy to spot. We really enjoyed our two days in the park.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Nakuru also viewed

Lake Nakuru National Park, Rift Valley Province
Nakuru, Rift Valley Province
 
Lake Nakuru National Park, Rift Valley Province
Nakuru, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Lake Nakuru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Nakuru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.