We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 7094 | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Having stayed at White sands in Mombasa , this is a very poor second . Firstly the Park is not a accessible as it has been in the past due to the Lake being extremely high . You are not able to go to all areas due to this , which makes the USD 90 per day quite high, this was not conveyed to us at the time of the booking.( I know this does not really concern the hotel - but they should advise )

The hotel is comfortable and basic amenities and toiletries are provided . Lunch / dinner was not bad - but the service is seriously lacking, slow and not the right order is delivered Breakfast was another story I was offered a ' green ' egg for breakfast - only after I pointed out that the egg is actually bad - did the chef take notice ( after trying to cook the egg !!)

While checking out we were given the wrong bill . So a series of errors did not make for a very pleasant stay.
At present moment I cannot recommend the Park and Hotel , if the service issues can be sorted it can make for a pleasant stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Esteemed Guest,

I thank you most sincerly for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us. We indeed value constructive feedback as it enables us to continuously monitor and improve our services, and thus exceed our guests’ expectations always.
I regret that we did not live up to your expectations on service standards in the lodge and the current historical condition of high levels of water in the lake.
Recently the Park Management issued a statement on the state of the park, I quote "The roads that were submerged were on the Northern and Western sections. Currently, new roads have been done and accompanying drainage structures, including bridges and culverts have been constructed hence the circuit is complete and all-weather".
Though it would appear on casual look that some areas are inacessible, I can confirm that the roads that were submerged have been replaced with new roads and the entire park is reachable like always.

I have personally taken up the "green" egg issue with our Executive Chef and our suppliers. The gaps in service standards in both the restaurant and reception will most definitely be addressed. We at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge strive towards providing high standards of service always and would like to assure you that your experience does not reflect the standards we have set for ourselves

Again, Asante Sana for taking time

Ken Korir
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    177
    68
    6
    3
See reviews for
139
160
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We came Lake Nakuru National Park following KIT safari, Sarova Lion Hill Game was a very comfotable hotel for us after 2 days trip. The room was soft with electricity and hot water both 24hr, and there was also free wifi which reached the rooms!There were many colourful birds around us. After delicious dinner.,there was an intresting bonfire party waiting for us,following the merry music,the children were very happy to dance with local artist. The hotel located right in the park ,so we could drive only a few minutes ,and then say "hello" to the White and Black Rhinos.
Nice night. thanks for Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge & KIT safari.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Esteemed Guests,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us
We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit

Ken Korir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We arrived after lunch and from the time we parked our car, our luggage was taken care of by the smiling staff. Check in was smooth and were quickly allocated a room.

The rooms had all the basic amenities and toileteries were provided. The room also had a safe for our valuables. In the evening, the beds were turned down and mosquito nets and insect vape plug ins provided and turned on.

Before Dinner, there was a cultural dance by the bar which I felt was not very professional but good effort.

In all the meals - Breakfast, Lunch and dinner - the meals were really good taste and flavor. The variety was vast and a very good selection for vegetarians. I was really impressed. There was also an Indian selection as well as western. The only drawback I found was that the desserts were a little dry but this didn't put us off.

All the lodge staff were courteous and friendly. Everything asked was catered for which made the stay even more enjoyable.

A dip in the cold pool was refreshing after a hot tiring game drive.

We wished we stayed for one more night!!

Will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Esteemed Guests,
We are glad to note that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
I concur with you in regard to our traditional dancers, they need some sprucing up. I am in touch with some proffessionals to help towards that end.
Again Asante Sana for taking time to review your stay with us

Ken Korir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here as the second stop on our Pollman's/Hayes and Jarvis safari, coming here from the Masai Mara.

This was definitely the best hotel we stayed at on the trip. The fact it's only a few miles from Nakuru probably helps, but just about everything here was superior and it actually felt like it stood up to international luxury hotel standards.

Starting with the room - it was a little smaller than some of the other places, but better appointed. Electricity and hot water were both 24hr which was a bonus, there was also free wifi which reached the rooms too!

Food was buffet style, but definitely a notch up from other places. When we arrived at lunchtime I was really impressed at the quality and tenderness of the roast lamb on it's own, nevermind compared to the previous place we had been.

Location was also excellent, right in the park and only a few minutes drive to excellent game viewing. We saw White and Black Rhinos, Lion, Hyena and plenty more whilst staying here. A leopard was seen too, but we got there too late to see it. There were usually a few other vehicles around but not too many.

I would really like to come back to see all the famous Flamingos when the water levels are lower and would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Esteemed Guests
Thank you for rating us - Best Game Lodge of the Trip - truly appreciated and we do look forward to your next visit

Ken Korir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

my husband and I wanted to spend a few nights in our favorite holiday destination before becoming parents in a months time...lion hill was the obvious choice. friendly staff, Angela, David, Matata, Joshua, Joseph, Boniface, Jonathan...and the rest whose names we cannot remember, you made our stay so memorable and you are the reason we keep coming back.
On our last night we were surprised by a romantic dinner for two by the pool side, ooohh it was breath taking!!! Nicholas the exec chef created this beautiful starter that was pa piece of art. The steak was so perfect we wished we could bring him home with us.Peter who waited on us the entire time is full of jokes and we loved him!!
Ken and your team may you be blessed for the good work you are doing.
we loved our last holiday without a baby cot lol.

Room Tip: for a healthy walk after a hearty meal, rooms further up are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Tabby & Richard
Many thanks for the greats comments which I have already shared with the team.
This is what the team suggested - that we are make a special cot for your next visit to be called Baby............. let us know as soon
Ahsanteni Sana

Ken Korir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have stayed a many top rated game lodges in South Africa and Namibia, but non were any better than this lodge. It starts with the staff who were extremely friendly and helpful. The food experience was exceptional with cooks at each food station preparing the offerings fresh. Quality and variety was excellent, including vegetarian dishes which 4 of our group of 6 wanted. We took game drives on our own and one organized by the lodge with a guide/driver. We did have a flat tire one day and the management of the lodge took over handling everything from changing the tire to having the tire repaired in town.
The only negative is not the hotel but the National park. Non residents are charged what we feel was too high a rate of US$80 per person per day. Two of us paid over 5X what our son and his family of 4, who are residents of Kenya, paid. Even that and the flooding in the park did not spoil a top notch vacation.

Room Tip: If you have a family group the 2 bedroom suites are a graet way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in January whilst on safari.

Check in easy and welcoming.

Room was large enough for 1 night, nice bathroom and little deck to sit on. Tea/coffee facilities and they provide mosquito plug in's and carefully place the Mosi nets and hot water bottles while you have dinner.

Pool area was nice, but pool was freezing!!!

Food was excellent, Buffett style but fresh, hot and delicious.

Ordered a breakfast box as were leaving early which was huge.

Right inside park so good game drive, no flamingos but rhino, lion, elephant, giraffes etc etc!!

Would recommend to friends.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Jambo
Many thanks for taking time to review
I am glad to note that your stay was enjoyable
Asante Sana

Ken Korir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 7094 | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is nestled along the Lion Hill overlooking the spectacular flamingo pink rimmed Lake Nakuru. Its location affords panoramic views of the Lake and the picturesque Lake Nakuru National Park. A short two hour drive from Nairobi, Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is a favourite with residents and visitors to Kenya.Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is cleverly laid out such that most rooms and sitting areas afford stunning views of the Lake and the Park. The Lodge incorporates natural landscaping with tall acacia trees, winding walkways and greens dotted with bird feeds. The Lodge is a natural haven for bird life and attracts over 50 species of birds amongst the 400 species that inhabit the Park.Lake Nakuru National Park was created in 1968 to protect the huge flocks of over a million the lesser flamingo that breed and nest at the edge of Lake Nakuru, giving it the characteristic pink rim. Lake Nakuru National Park located at an altitude of 4,000-5,767 feet above sea level, covers 188 square kilometers of land of great ecological diversity - from lake water, woodland, bush grassland, to rocky ridges. The park is home to not just the lesser flamingo but over 400 species of birds and one of the few places to see the endangered white rhino. Other wildlife at the park includes lions, leopards, zebra, gazelles, eland, giraffe and the hyrax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;