We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We came Lake Nakuru National Park following KIT safari, Sarova Lion Hill Game was a very comfotable hotel for us after 2 days trip. The room was soft with electricity and hot water both 24hr, and there was also free wifi which reached the rooms!There were many colourful birds around us. After delicious dinner.,there was an intresting bonfire party waiting for us,following the merry music,the children were very happy to dance with local artist. The hotel located right in the park ,so we could drive only a few minutes ,and then say "hello" to the White and Black Rhinos.
Nice night. thanks for Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge & KIT safari.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Esteemed Guests,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us
We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit

Ken Korir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    227
    80
    9
    3
See reviews for
183
200
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We arrived after lunch and from the time we parked our car, our luggage was taken care of by the smiling staff. Check in was smooth and were quickly allocated a room.

The rooms had all the basic amenities and toileteries were provided. The room also had a safe for our valuables. In the evening, the beds were turned down and mosquito nets and insect vape plug ins provided and turned on.

Before Dinner, there was a cultural dance by the bar which I felt was not very professional but good effort.

In all the meals - Breakfast, Lunch and dinner - the meals were really good taste and flavor. The variety was vast and a very good selection for vegetarians. I was really impressed. There was also an Indian selection as well as western. The only drawback I found was that the desserts were a little dry but this didn't put us off.

All the lodge staff were courteous and friendly. Everything asked was catered for which made the stay even more enjoyable.

A dip in the cold pool was refreshing after a hot tiring game drive.

We wished we stayed for one more night!!

Will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Esteemed Guests,
We are glad to note that overall you enjoyed your stay with us.
I concur with you in regard to our traditional dancers, they need some sprucing up. I am in touch with some proffessionals to help towards that end.
Again Asante Sana for taking time to review your stay with us

Ken Korir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here as the second stop on our Pollman's/Hayes and Jarvis safari, coming here from the Masai Mara.

This was definitely the best hotel we stayed at on the trip. The fact it's only a few miles from Nakuru probably helps, but just about everything here was superior and it actually felt like it stood up to international luxury hotel standards.

Starting with the room - it was a little smaller than some of the other places, but better appointed. Electricity and hot water were both 24hr which was a bonus, there was also free wifi which reached the rooms too!

Food was buffet style, but definitely a notch up from other places. When we arrived at lunchtime I was really impressed at the quality and tenderness of the roast lamb on it's own, nevermind compared to the previous place we had been.

Location was also excellent, right in the park and only a few minutes drive to excellent game viewing. We saw White and Black Rhinos, Lion, Hyena and plenty more whilst staying here. A leopard was seen too, but we got there too late to see it. There were usually a few other vehicles around but not too many.

I would really like to come back to see all the famous Flamingos when the water levels are lower and would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Esteemed Guests
Thank you for rating us - Best Game Lodge of the Trip - truly appreciated and we do look forward to your next visit

Ken Korir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

my husband and I wanted to spend a few nights in our favorite holiday destination before becoming parents in a months time...lion hill was the obvious choice. friendly staff, Angela, David, Matata, Joshua, Joseph, Boniface, Jonathan...and the rest whose names we cannot remember, you made our stay so memorable and you are the reason we keep coming back.
On our last night we were surprised by a romantic dinner for two by the pool side, ooohh it was breath taking!!! Nicholas the exec chef created this beautiful starter that was pa piece of art. The steak was so perfect we wished we could bring him home with us.Peter who waited on us the entire time is full of jokes and we loved him!!
Ken and your team may you be blessed for the good work you are doing.
we loved our last holiday without a baby cot lol.

Room Tip: for a healthy walk after a hearty meal, rooms further up are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Tabby & Richard
Many thanks for the greats comments which I have already shared with the team.
This is what the team suggested - that we are make a special cot for your next visit to be called Baby............. let us know as soon
Ahsanteni Sana

Ken Korir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We have stayed a many top rated game lodges in South Africa and Namibia, but non were any better than this lodge. It starts with the staff who were extremely friendly and helpful. The food experience was exceptional with cooks at each food station preparing the offerings fresh. Quality and variety was excellent, including vegetarian dishes which 4 of our group of 6 wanted. We took game drives on our own and one organized by the lodge with a guide/driver. We did have a flat tire one day and the management of the lodge took over handling everything from changing the tire to having the tire repaired in town.
The only negative is not the hotel but the National park. Non residents are charged what we feel was too high a rate of US$80 per person per day. Two of us paid over 5X what our son and his family of 4, who are residents of Kenya, paid. Even that and the flooding in the park did not spoil a top notch vacation.

Room Tip: If you have a family group the 2 bedroom suites are a graet way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in January whilst on safari.

Check in easy and welcoming.

Room was large enough for 1 night, nice bathroom and little deck to sit on. Tea/coffee facilities and they provide mosquito plug in's and carefully place the Mosi nets and hot water bottles while you have dinner.

Pool area was nice, but pool was freezing!!!

Food was excellent, Buffett style but fresh, hot and delicious.

Ordered a breakfast box as were leaving early which was huge.

Right inside park so good game drive, no flamingos but rhino, lion, elephant, giraffes etc etc!!

Would recommend to friends.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Jambo
Many thanks for taking time to review
I am glad to note that your stay was enjoyable
Asante Sana

Ken Korir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Sarova Lion Hill has a good location with a great view of the lake,The hospitality of the staff is amazing very helpful and efficient, The food is lovely,Has a nice bar area to chill and relax.The pool is nice and clean.

Room Tip: The rooms which are higher have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korirk, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Jambo
I am delighted to note that you found the hospitality of our staff amazing friendly and efficient. We look forward to your next visit

Ken Korir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Mbweha Camp
Mbweha Camp
#4 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ziwa Bush Lodge
Ziwa Bush Lodge
#1 of 19 in Nakuru
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
5.1 mi away
Eagle Palace Hotel
Eagle Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in Nakuru
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Rift Valley, the Lake Nakuru national park is home to one of the most amazing ornithological spectacles in the world - the flight of the flamingos! Aside from the flamingos, the park has over 450 species of birds - a heaven for any avid bird watchers. The park is also a sanctuary to the highly-endangered black Rhino and abounds with other game such as buffalos, lions and the elusive leopard. Just two hour's drive from Nairobi; Sarova Lion Hill is one of only two lodges situated within the premises of the park. Each of the 67 recently refurbished chalets are equipped with modern conveniences and have an astounding view of the pink rimmed lake and the silhouetted hills beyond. Guests can enjoy country-style dining at the flamingo restaurant or if you like, the chef can set up something special under one of the beautiful acacia trees where one can enjoy lunch with an unobstructed view of the lake. The rift valley bar is just the right spot for that magical sundowner. Cultural dancers delight visitors with their enchanting dancing every night. An inviting swimming pool & sauna facilities are available. Guests can also enjoy outdoor massage treatments with the calming sounds of chirping birds. Outside catering facilities complement the "meals served in the bush", provided as premium add-ons, including cocktails at Baboon Cliff. The Lodge also offers conferencing facilities. The Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is one of the most sought after Rift Valley Lodges in Kenya, best known for offering finest quality services. A fabulous outdoor swimming pool to a business conference room, the hotel has almost everything that's required to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.