We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with a couple of nice surprises!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 7094 | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice place with a couple of nice surprises!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I just stayed here with my wife and teenage daughter for one night over the weekend.

Location : It is located within the National Park thus saving you repeated entry fees and time to go for the safaris. It took us about 3 hours to get to the hotel from Nairobi on a leisurely self drive.

Rooms : Most rooms have a view of the lake. The rooms are on the smaller side but extremely comfortable. Good en suite bathrooms with basic toiletries and running hot water off solar heaters. No TVs which is good. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room though! Every bed has mosquito nets which they set up as part of the evening turn down service.

The property : It is a lush green place hidden in the forest. Nicely laid out with due privacy. Little walk ways, benches in the lawn and lots of birds for company. If you have your own car you can drive out into the park rather easily. Rooms are cute little cottages. There is a pool and spa in the property. It was too cold for us to use the pool and we weren't there long enough to try out the spa. I saw signs for a conference room, so please check that there is none planned during your visit. Free wifi available across the property, and should you need laptops are offered to rent. There is a little bird buffet just outside the restaurant to invite the birds to come and sample the wares.

Food : There is a reasonable variety of food available. Lots of meat dishes of course and there is a sizeable vegetarian option available as well. I wouldn't say the food was outstanding or memorable, but it seem just right after a 3 hour ride in the forest!!

Service : Most Kenyans are very pleasant and friendly. Sarova was no exception. They were quite efficient at check in and in the restaurant and bar. They were challenged on Saturday night as all the guests came to dinner at the same time on the finish of the dance performance. This is something they should look into as they can never be staffed up to meet that kind of demand. In spite of that they were always happy and willing to help. Everyone's smiling and greeting you.

Safaris ; We took two safaris arranged by the hotel. One in the afternoon and one the next day morning. The afternoon safari just ended up being a drive as most animals seemed to have gone into hiding! We saw the ubiquitous giraffes, deer and zebras. But no lions. The morning one more than made up as we spent half an hour in the company of 4 lions who decided to lie around our jeep and enjoy the weather!! Perhaps morning safaris are the ones to go?

Surprise 1 : As part of the evening turn down service they also slide in a hot water bottle under the bed. Which was really welcome on the cold wintry night.

Surprise 2 : Someone from the hotel had washed our car overnight, which had got extremely dusty from our drive in from Nairobi.

All told this is a really great property to stay in Lake Nakuru to enjoy the National Park. I think it caters primarily to the international traveler though, as amongst all the guests there were just 2 families who were Kenyan residents. If I could afford it, I'd visit here very frequently!

I recommend this place strongly to anyone visiting the Park.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher levels of the 'mountain' have the better views. Those numbered in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    172
    64
    6
    3
See reviews for
134
154
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Diriamba, Nicaragua
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Savona Lion Hill Game Lodge was more than we imagined. The beds were comfy, the food was delicious, the scenery awesome. The 'traditional dances' left something to be desired. Wifi was available in our cabin, much to our delight. Restful and relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Undoutly a breathing experience. The location was good along with the bar/tea area. Though the birds that are famous for this place were absent yet the other wild life was on its top. Four out of five bigs were seen except leopard. Watching the white rhino was a dream came true. Evening at hotel was unexpectedly wonderful and the local music/verity show was awesome. in short staying at sarova hill was a wonderful experience. I will be really comming back with my family.

Room Tip: The rooms are on hill and are in an incline. Try to get the upper most one to have the finest look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stunning location, the chalet was fine, pool, restaurant, (pretty good buffet), bar, really very good. Staff very helpful. Cannot give it 5, but it was very close. Lake Nakuru is reknowned for it's 2 million flamingos, but, due to excess rains, they've either gone or drowned (i guess the migrated elsewhere excuse was reasonable). However everything else in the game drive was great, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: all chalets, no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a great time. The food was good, the accommodation as well. Didn't offer much in terms of experience but i cant really complain. At dinner there was a guy on guitar strumming away and it was fantastic. He played great songs and we sang a loud pretty loudly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent two nights at Lake Nakuru and had a good time at Sarova Lion Hill. It sucks that the place has no fitness centre and they shut down the pool at 6PM when you're most likely going to get back from the game drive only by 7PM. The tracks near the room are great, and I did manage to get some runs in the evening. Given that the water levels at the lake have been rising, it's been tough birding in the park. However the habitat in the resort itself is quite awesome and I managed to get some good photographs both times I visited. There are weavers building nests right at the reception and you can get some good shots of them there or just watch and be entertained.

The food at the restaurant is really good and I'm grateful that for the dinners I got food that matched my meal preferences. In general they have a really huge spread!

The rooms are pretty basic on the inside which is why I didn't bother photographing, but they're fairly comfortable and the bed warmers are fairly comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent a night here on a weekend trip to Nakuru Park from Nairobi. Everything about it is well thought out. The rooms are smallish but clean and well-decorated. The food has loads of variety and the bar terrace, overlooking the lake, is pretty special. Staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Given the choice, it may be tempting to pick one of the cottage nearer to the main hotel buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 7094 | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is nestled along the Lion Hill overlooking the spectacular flamingo pink rimmed Lake Nakuru. Its location affords panoramic views of the Lake and the picturesque Lake Nakuru National Park. A short two hour drive from Nairobi, Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is a favourite with residents and visitors to Kenya.Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is cleverly laid out such that most rooms and sitting areas afford stunning views of the Lake and the Park. The Lodge incorporates natural landscaping with tall acacia trees, winding walkways and greens dotted with bird feeds. The Lodge is a natural haven for bird life and attracts over 50 species of birds amongst the 400 species that inhabit the Park.Lake Nakuru National Park was created in 1968 to protect the huge flocks of over a million the lesser flamingo that breed and nest at the edge of Lake Nakuru, giving it the characteristic pink rim. Lake Nakuru National Park located at an altitude of 4,000-5,767 feet above sea level, covers 188 square kilometers of land of great ecological diversity - from lake water, woodland, bush grassland, to rocky ridges. The park is home to not just the lesser flamingo but over 400 species of birds and one of the few places to see the endangered white rhino. Other wildlife at the park includes lions, leopards, zebra, gazelles, eland, giraffe and the hyrax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.