We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing, awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Undoutly a breathing experience. The location was good along with the bar/tea area. Though the birds that are famous for this place were absent yet the other wild life was on its top. Four out of five bigs were seen except leopard. Watching the white rhino was a dream came true. Evening at hotel was unexpectedly wonderful and the local music/verity show was awesome. in short staying at sarova hill was a wonderful experience. I will be really comming back with my family.

Room Tip: The rooms are on hill and are in an incline. Try to get the upper most one to have the finest look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    231
    80
    9
    3
See reviews for
188
203
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hamshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stunning location, the chalet was fine, pool, restaurant, (pretty good buffet), bar, really very good. Staff very helpful. Cannot give it 5, but it was very close. Lake Nakuru is reknowned for it's 2 million flamingos, but, due to excess rains, they've either gone or drowned (i guess the migrated elsewhere excuse was reasonable). However everything else in the game drive was great, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: all chalets, no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a great time. The food was good, the accommodation as well. Didn't offer much in terms of experience but i cant really complain. At dinner there was a guy on guitar strumming away and it was fantastic. He played great songs and we sang a loud pretty loudly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent two nights at Lake Nakuru and had a good time at Sarova Lion Hill. It sucks that the place has no fitness centre and they shut down the pool at 6PM when you're most likely going to get back from the game drive only by 7PM. The tracks near the room are great, and I did manage to get some runs in the evening. Given that the water levels at the lake have been rising, it's been tough birding in the park. However the habitat in the resort itself is quite awesome and I managed to get some good photographs both times I visited. There are weavers building nests right at the reception and you can get some good shots of them there or just watch and be entertained.

The food at the restaurant is really good and I'm grateful that for the dinners I got food that matched my meal preferences. In general they have a really huge spread!

The rooms are pretty basic on the inside which is why I didn't bother photographing, but they're fairly comfortable and the bed warmers are fairly comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent a night here on a weekend trip to Nakuru Park from Nairobi. Everything about it is well thought out. The rooms are smallish but clean and well-decorated. The food has loads of variety and the bar terrace, overlooking the lake, is pretty special. Staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Given the choice, it may be tempting to pick one of the cottage nearer to the main hotel buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I pined over the decision to either go budget or upscale for my safari at the end of a 6 week backpacking trip though East Africa. I paid extra for the upgrade and I was not disappointed. I stayed here for one night and for two at the Sarova Mara Camp and I am now a huge fan of the brand and I mention both locations here to highlight how consistent my experience was. The "cabins" at the Lion Lodge were so atmospheric, clean, and upscale, and the buffet meals were much better than we expected. It would be difficult to go with with this company and leave disappointed. I'll also add that the the staff at Sarova is some of the most well trained and professional I've seen anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were a group of 16 with kids who stayed here for one night. Our stay was very pleasant. Although there was just too much water in the Lake Nakuru - I have never seen it like this in 22 years - the game drive was still enjoyable and we saw large numbers of white rhino, buffalo, waterbuck, impala, etc, but not much else. The flamingos were probably somewhere else as the water level was too high and fresh for them. The standard rooms, each named after a flower or animal, are compact with sleeping and sitting area and a writing desk, but can look a bit cramped with luggage and a baby cot! The ensuite facilities were modern. There is a small sitting area outside the room as well - wish we had made some use of that! The lodge is built on a hill with rooms on the higher slopes, and the car park / reception / dining area / bar, below. The rooms blend well with the scenic background and hidden amongst yellow fever acacia. The staff at the lodge were extremely helpful. We got a glimpse of the Chui Suite - which had a large balcony overlooking the trees and the lake beyond, a huge dining come drawing room and an inner sleeping room with ensuite facilities complete with biddet. The suite is pure luxury and highly recommended if one has enough money and kids with them. The food spread was excellent - the best of any Sarova hotel on this trip. We had a lovely short stay here! This is the only top class accommodation inside the park.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge go for a suite! Rooms on higher slope have better views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ziwa Bush Lodge
Ziwa Bush Lodge
#1 of 19 in Nakuru
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
9.3 mi away
Mbweha Camp
Mbweha Camp
#4 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
5.1 mi away
Eagle Palace Hotel
Eagle Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in Nakuru
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Rift Valley, the Lake Nakuru national park is home to one of the most amazing ornithological spectacles in the world - the flight of the flamingos! Aside from the flamingos, the park has over 450 species of birds - a heaven for any avid bird watchers. The park is also a sanctuary to the highly-endangered black Rhino and abounds with other game such as buffalos, lions and the elusive leopard. Just two hour's drive from Nairobi; Sarova Lion Hill is one of only two lodges situated within the premises of the park. Each of the 67 recently refurbished chalets are equipped with modern conveniences and have an astounding view of the pink rimmed lake and the silhouetted hills beyond. Guests can enjoy country-style dining at the flamingo restaurant or if you like, the chef can set up something special under one of the beautiful acacia trees where one can enjoy lunch with an unobstructed view of the lake. The rift valley bar is just the right spot for that magical sundowner. Cultural dancers delight visitors with their enchanting dancing every night. An inviting swimming pool & sauna facilities are available. Guests can also enjoy outdoor massage treatments with the calming sounds of chirping birds. Outside catering facilities complement the "meals served in the bush", provided as premium add-ons, including cocktails at Baboon Cliff. The Lodge also offers conferencing facilities. The Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is one of the most sought after Rift Valley Lodges in Kenya, best known for offering finest quality services. A fabulous outdoor swimming pool to a business conference room, the hotel has almost everything that's required to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.