We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where were all of the flamingos?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 7094 | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
hamshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“where were all of the flamingos?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stunning location, the chalet was fine, pool, restaurant, (pretty good buffet), bar, really very good. Staff very helpful. Cannot give it 5, but it was very close. Lake Nakuru is reknowned for it's 2 million flamingos, but, due to excess rains, they've either gone or drowned (i guess the migrated elsewhere excuse was reasonable). However everything else in the game drive was great, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: all chalets, no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    178
    69
    6
    3
See reviews for
140
162
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a great time. The food was good, the accommodation as well. Didn't offer much in terms of experience but i cant really complain. At dinner there was a guy on guitar strumming away and it was fantastic. He played great songs and we sang a loud pretty loudly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent two nights at Lake Nakuru and had a good time at Sarova Lion Hill. It sucks that the place has no fitness centre and they shut down the pool at 6PM when you're most likely going to get back from the game drive only by 7PM. The tracks near the room are great, and I did manage to get some runs in the evening. Given that the water levels at the lake have been rising, it's been tough birding in the park. However the habitat in the resort itself is quite awesome and I managed to get some good photographs both times I visited. There are weavers building nests right at the reception and you can get some good shots of them there or just watch and be entertained.

The food at the restaurant is really good and I'm grateful that for the dinners I got food that matched my meal preferences. In general they have a really huge spread!

The rooms are pretty basic on the inside which is why I didn't bother photographing, but they're fairly comfortable and the bed warmers are fairly comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Spent a night here on a weekend trip to Nakuru Park from Nairobi. Everything about it is well thought out. The rooms are smallish but clean and well-decorated. The food has loads of variety and the bar terrace, overlooking the lake, is pretty special. Staff are friendly.

Room Tip: Given the choice, it may be tempting to pick one of the cottage nearer to the main hotel buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I pined over the decision to either go budget or upscale for my safari at the end of a 6 week backpacking trip though East Africa. I paid extra for the upgrade and I was not disappointed. I stayed here for one night and for two at the Sarova Mara Camp and I am now a huge fan of the brand and I mention both locations here to highlight how consistent my experience was. The "cabins" at the Lion Lodge were so atmospheric, clean, and upscale, and the buffet meals were much better than we expected. It would be difficult to go with with this company and leave disappointed. I'll also add that the the staff at Sarova is some of the most well trained and professional I've seen anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were a group of 16 with kids who stayed here for one night. Our stay was very pleasant. Although there was just too much water in the Lake Nakuru - I have never seen it like this in 22 years - the game drive was still enjoyable and we saw large numbers of white rhino, buffalo, waterbuck, impala, etc, but not much else. The flamingos were probably somewhere else as the water level was too high and fresh for them. The standard rooms, each named after a flower or animal, are compact with sleeping and sitting area and a writing desk, but can look a bit cramped with luggage and a baby cot! The ensuite facilities were modern. There is a small sitting area outside the room as well - wish we had made some use of that! The lodge is built on a hill with rooms on the higher slopes, and the car park / reception / dining area / bar, below. The rooms blend well with the scenic background and hidden amongst yellow fever acacia. The staff at the lodge were extremely helpful. We got a glimpse of the Chui Suite - which had a large balcony overlooking the trees and the lake beyond, a huge dining come drawing room and an inner sleeping room with ensuite facilities complete with biddet. The suite is pure luxury and highly recommended if one has enough money and kids with them. The food spread was excellent - the best of any Sarova hotel on this trip. We had a lovely short stay here! This is the only top class accommodation inside the park.

Room Tip: If you want to splurge go for a suite! Rooms on higher slope have better views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Had the best time with a best group of men and women. Great staff and lack of TVs in the room made sure that people bonded by the fire place. The staff also provide cocktails for the whole group and a massage complementary waited me the next morning. Beautiful game drive too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 7094 | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is nestled along the Lion Hill overlooking the spectacular flamingo pink rimmed Lake Nakuru. Its location affords panoramic views of the Lake and the picturesque Lake Nakuru National Park. A short two hour drive from Nairobi, Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is a favourite with residents and visitors to Kenya.Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is cleverly laid out such that most rooms and sitting areas afford stunning views of the Lake and the Park. The Lodge incorporates natural landscaping with tall acacia trees, winding walkways and greens dotted with bird feeds. The Lodge is a natural haven for bird life and attracts over 50 species of birds amongst the 400 species that inhabit the Park.Lake Nakuru National Park was created in 1968 to protect the huge flocks of over a million the lesser flamingo that breed and nest at the edge of Lake Nakuru, giving it the characteristic pink rim. Lake Nakuru National Park located at an altitude of 4,000-5,767 feet above sea level, covers 188 square kilometers of land of great ecological diversity - from lake water, woodland, bush grassland, to rocky ridges. The park is home to not just the lesser flamingo but over 400 species of birds and one of the few places to see the endangered white rhino. Other wildlife at the park includes lions, leopards, zebra, gazelles, eland, giraffe and the hyrax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.