We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful spot with sweet cottage style rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Peaceful spot with sweet cottage style rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

There are 2 rooms per small cottage, which can be a bit strange given you can hear what is going on in the other room at night (snoring). Having said that the cottages are very spacious and comfortable.Before dinner there is a traditional music and dance show every night and a firepit to enjoy drinks.

Food is plentiful and good including live cooking stations in addition to the buffet. Restaurant staff are v.friendly but the reception staff could do with a lesson from their colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    227
    80
    9
    3
See reviews for
183
200
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Lion hill lodge in April 2013. The lodge is beautifully situated and the connecting rooms were perfect. Our youngest daughter was sick when we arrived and we had to get her checked at Nakuru hospital. The staff at lion hill lodge was so nice and asked each time about how she was and even gave us a cake as special attention to sweeten our stay. People clearly make the difference and lion hill lodge has excellent staff. Many thanks!!!!!

A detailed report of our stay at Nakuru is in my photography blog http://www.withinafrica.com/blog/2013/4/kenya-april-7th-a-visit-to-nakuru-hospital-and-being-rescued-by-the-kenyan-military

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This resort is a must while at Nakuru, you pretty much have a full safari just getting there from the park gate. We saw a wide range of animals on the tracks to the resort. Expect typical high quality Sarova quality buffet food and service. Would recommend getting a massage here as well due to reasonable prices.

Room Tip: All good rooms, but aim for something closer to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night while visiting Kenya. The rooms were too cute from the outside, I loved the look of them. On the inside they were just as nice. Very spacious and clean and the bathrooms as well. The staff was great as well as the food. We went on a drive thru the park and saw a good amount of animals including black and white rhinos!! And also a lion!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived her at the start of the Eastern weekend , this during our great safari trip with Africa Veterans Safaris. So it was very busy and the requested connecting lodges were already occupied....so the reception responsible promised to look for a solution while we were having dinner. When we returned they surprized us with an upgrade to 2 connecting suites :-) !
( maybe also due to the fact that we slept 6 nights in different Sarova hotels)
After the good news we were confronted with the fact that there was a problem with the water ...an underground connection was broken and we had bathrooms without water :-( . Again the whole Sarova team (reception, house keeper, ingeneer, manager) started to solve the problem by starting the repair works immediately and meanwhile offering us another lodge to have a shower.
At 23h40 they fixed the problem !
The client focus in this hotel is at a very high level !! ( including the attention to the children)
The Sarova staff/responsibles keep their promises ... Because during our last stay in the Masai Mara we received as well a special attention !
Happy to highly recommend Sarova !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely location away from Nakuru town. The rooms are cozy and I loved the fact that there were no TVs in the rooms. The food was excellent with a large selection. Staff members were very friendly and really helpful. Nice traditional dance show in the evening.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent three nites during the Easter Weekend, all twelve of us. We had a ball. Service, food, rooms were outstanding! They even gave us a cake before we departed and helped provide milk for our daughter.
Lovely staff with a great work ethos. They truly value the customer.
i highly recommend if you have not been there.
You pay for QUALITY...........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Nakuru National Park
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shaba National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Mbweha Camp
Mbweha Camp
#4 of 7 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ziwa Bush Lodge
Ziwa Bush Lodge
#1 of 19 in Nakuru
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
5.1 mi away
Eagle Palace Hotel
Eagle Palace Hotel
#1 of 33 in Nakuru
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Rift Valley, the Lake Nakuru national park is home to one of the most amazing ornithological spectacles in the world - the flight of the flamingos! Aside from the flamingos, the park has over 450 species of birds - a heaven for any avid bird watchers. The park is also a sanctuary to the highly-endangered black Rhino and abounds with other game such as buffalos, lions and the elusive leopard. Just two hour's drive from Nairobi; Sarova Lion Hill is one of only two lodges situated within the premises of the park. Each of the 67 recently refurbished chalets are equipped with modern conveniences and have an astounding view of the pink rimmed lake and the silhouetted hills beyond. Guests can enjoy country-style dining at the flamingo restaurant or if you like, the chef can set up something special under one of the beautiful acacia trees where one can enjoy lunch with an unobstructed view of the lake. The rift valley bar is just the right spot for that magical sundowner. Cultural dancers delight visitors with their enchanting dancing every night. An inviting swimming pool & sauna facilities are available. Guests can also enjoy outdoor massage treatments with the calming sounds of chirping birds. Outside catering facilities complement the "meals served in the bush", provided as premium add-ons, including cocktails at Baboon Cliff. The Lodge also offers conferencing facilities. The Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is one of the most sought after Rift Valley Lodges in Kenya, best known for offering finest quality services. A fabulous outdoor swimming pool to a business conference room, the hotel has almost everything that's required to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.