We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff is permanently looking for an optimal solution !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The staff is permanently looking for an optimal solution !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived her at the start of the Eastern weekend , this during our great safari trip with Africa Veterans Safaris. So it was very busy and the requested connecting lodges were already occupied....so the reception responsible promised to look for a solution while we were having dinner. When we returned they surprized us with an upgrade to 2 connecting suites :-) !
( maybe also due to the fact that we slept 6 nights in different Sarova hotels)
After the good news we were confronted with the fact that there was a problem with the water ...an underground connection was broken and we had bathrooms without water :-( . Again the whole Sarova team (reception, house keeper, ingeneer, manager) started to solve the problem by starting the repair works immediately and meanwhile offering us another lodge to have a shower.
At 23h40 they fixed the problem !
The client focus in this hotel is at a very high level !! ( including the attention to the children)
The Sarova staff/responsibles keep their promises ... Because during our last stay in the Masai Mara we received as well a special attention !
Happy to highly recommend Sarova !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    193
    74
    6
    3
See reviews for
152
177
14
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely location away from Nakuru town. The rooms are cozy and I loved the fact that there were no TVs in the rooms. The food was excellent with a large selection. Staff members were very friendly and really helpful. Nice traditional dance show in the evening.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent three nites during the Easter Weekend, all twelve of us. We had a ball. Service, food, rooms were outstanding! They even gave us a cake before we departed and helped provide milk for our daughter.
Lovely staff with a great work ethos. They truly value the customer.
i highly recommend if you have not been there.
You pay for QUALITY...........

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here while on a family safari (myself, father, husband and 8 year old daughter) . We stayed in a connecting cabin (the Jasmine/Jerusalem). The rooms were spacious with good mosquito netting, bottled water etc. No tv, but who needs it when you are on safari?

The food, like the Sarova Mara Game lodge, was excellent. Lunch was a buffet but breakfast and dinner were served meals. There was a lot of variety and excellent desserts.

The grounds are beautiful and full of different types of birds. The game drives around Lake Nakuru are great, we saw several rhinos along the way, as well as the famous flamingos.

We stayed for only 1 night at the Sarova Lion Hill lodge, which was not long enough because the lodge is wonderful and there is so much to see around Lake Nakuru.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge one night in February 2013 on a small group safari while visiting the Lake Nakuru National Park. We would like to have stayed at the lodge another night, and had additional opportunities to relax there and enjoy more of the park. The wildlife we saw in the park was awesome, especially white and black rhinos, zebras, giraffes, Cape buffalo, wart hogs, baboons, jackals, gazelles, dik-diks, impalas, and lots of birds including huge eagles, ibis, pelicans, herons, pink and white flamingos. The accommodations were very comfortable and luxurious. The staff members were all cordial and very helpful. Meals were served buffet style. The selections were very diverse, tasty, and presented nicely. We appreciated having direct access to WiFi in our room.

Room Tip: We were assigned room #39 which was close to the main lodge and had a nice view out toward the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We love the sarova lodges they are 5 star all round. They variety of food is outstanding even for fussy eaters like me I had no trouble . Your laundry is done for you over night which is wonderful when you are away from home for a long time as we were. The rooms were lovely and the setting was beautiful. From the moment you drive out the lodges gates you will in think of the wildlife we had a lion just lazy across a tree on afternoon and there are so many rhinos both black and white.

Room Tip: We were right up to top of the hill and we were very happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Lovely location a short climb off the lake, giving a panoramic view at dawn and dusk. Reasonably well located deep inside the park for good game views. The bird variety is superb, with foto ops even for novices! Of course the flamingo population is the most famous and you can get daily shots like in "out of Africa". The drive round the lake itself is superb, esp the higher peaks for vantage shots! On the far side of the resort looks like the garden of Eden from Phantom comics where you can see rhinos Zebras giraffes and impalas and gazelle cheek by jowl. Sunset drive is really worth while! Although the big game are much better in Masai Mara and other reserves, it is the most convenient of all the Kenyan forests- being a short drive from Nairobi airport and with lakeside and dust free safaris!
Resort itself has a friendly staff and evening bonfires and shows are fun, where the guests are also invited to dance in. Good food!

Room Tip: The higher rooms are a bit of hike, but worth the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Rift Valley, the Lake Nakuru national park is home to one of the most amazing ornithological spectacles in the world - the flight of the flamingos! Aside from the flamingos, the park has over 450 species of birds - a heaven for any avid bird watchers. The park is also a sanctuary to the highly-endangered black Rhino and abounds with other game such as buffalos, lions and the elusive leopard. Just two hour's drive from Nairobi; Sarova Lion Hill is one of only two lodges situated within the premises of the park. Each of the 67 recently refurbished chalets are equipped with modern conveniences and have an astounding view of the pink rimmed lake and the silhouetted hills beyond. Guests can enjoy country-style dining at the flamingo restaurant or if you like, the chef can set up something special under one of the beautiful acacia trees where one can enjoy lunch with an unobstructed view of the lake. The rift valley bar is just the right spot for that magical sundowner. Cultural dancers delight visitors with their enchanting dancing every night. An inviting swimming pool & sauna facilities are available. Guests can also enjoy outdoor massage treatments with the calming sounds of chirping birds. Outside catering facilities complement the "meals served in the bush", provided as premium add-ons, including cocktails at Baboon Cliff. The Lodge also offers conferencing facilities. The Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is one of the most sought after Rift Valley Lodges in Kenya, best known for offering finest quality services. A fabulous outdoor swimming pool to a business conference room, the hotel has almost everything that's required to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.