We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of three sarova hotels we stopped at whilst in kenya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 7094 | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
leeds west yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“one of three sarova hotels we stopped at whilst in kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

this hotel was very well placed for the trip to the lake, where we saw an abundance of flamingoes and several other species of birds also saw lions feeding off a dead zebra at the side of the road where we were.the hotel was staffed by very pleasant people who looked after your every need the food and rooms were of a high standard, a very pleasant hotel to stay at.

Room Tip: one near to the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    170
    63
    6
    3
See reviews for
132
152
13
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

It was the best equipped small hut with shower, toilet, hot water, comfy bed.
There were not much happening at the lake as far as Flamingoes (June) but on the early morning and late drive around the park we saw plenty of animals and birds including really close up views of Cape Buffalo. No Lions though.
If you go to the evening performances watch out for the shin high coffee tables which are hard to see in the dark.
We made our own reservations, and the food was great -if you are vegetarian there is plenty to choose from...
If you bring a camera, a superzoom works very well i.e.FZ150 or 200, check out Hans Gruber's safari photos..I found that the full range 24mm to 600mm was used for landscape shots
to animal /bird shots..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

An amazing lodge located it an amazing place, from warm and friendly staff to cozy rooms, this lodge has alot to offer, definite must try for anyone visiting lake nakuru national park
another advantage is that the lodge is close to many animal species, which can easily be spotted close to the lodge's gate like hyenas, buffaloes, monkeys, zebras, flamingoes and most importantly rhinos

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had booked for 1 night on Christmas Eve and as soon as we entered the lodge were greeted with local traditional dancers and a refreshing welcome drink and cold towel!
The reception staff were very friendly and check in was quick and staff informing us of where the restaurant,pool,internet facilities were and what the evening entertainment was.
Our room was lovely with a huge bed and bathroom was very clean and coffee/tea making facilities,safe and a lovely service of hot water bottle warming your bed at night!!
Lunch was a selection of salads,soups wide variety of hot dishes,fruit and desserts. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and helpful.
The lodge is located with fantastic view of Lake Nakuru and if you are into bird watching,you will not be disappointed!
They had a special pre dinner drinks hosted by the manager by the pool and some of the local drinks were interesting!
The dinner was amazing, as they had every table laid out with Christmas decorations,even Christmas Crackers and there was also a group singing Christmas Carols!
They had a huge buffet with some very interesting local Kenyan specialities which were delicious.
The staff were amazing and always smiling!
We went for couple of game drives, and the park is lovely with lots of varieties of birds,loads of Rhinos,buffalos,zebras,water bucks, and leopards and lions which we didn't get to see but still worth it!
The evening entertainment was fun with some traditional dancers,acrobatic show and singers.
Nothing beats sitting around a fire under the african sky at night!
Although we were there for a very short time,we will remeber the warm hospitality,friendliness of all the staff especially in restaurant and the fantastic food!
We would highly recommend this place and would love to come back and spend a few more days at this special place!

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake but those higher up have uninterrupted view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

A lovely friendly game lodge in the Nakuru National Park.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcomed, pampered and cared for. The lodge is in a lovely setting overlooking the lake - very tranquil and peaceful. The room was spacious and cozy and the bed as comfortable as they come. The buffet meals were superb - good range of different types of food and well cooked, the salads and soups were especially delicious. The staff were attentive, helpful and interested in making sure every need was met.
Whilst we were there we experienced some amazing game drives. The lakeside is a mass of flamingoes and waders - we could have sat there for hours, and we were privileged to see a leopard too... What an amazing weekend - we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Faru Suite, quiet, private and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i are at lion hill again, checking out early tomorrow after breakfast . It's our 3rd and last night and we are enjoying the remaining hours immensely. Thanks alot to the staff of lion hill, Korir the manager, Simon, Benja, Wycliff, Peter..you are all so kind. The food was great..soup is our favorite! !
We saw a leopard, rhinos, monkeys, zebras, impalas n lotsa buffaloes.
Thanks for the hospitality. Be blessed

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Sarova hotels by far are the best hotel chain in Kenya. Lion Hill Game lodge being no exception, they really take good care of you.

the walk to the rooms can feel a bit errie at night, but once your inside its absolute comfort for a good nights sleep.

the rooms are extremely comfortable, their buffet meals are top notch. the views are excellent. cant find any faults with the hotel whatsoever.

they have some fabulous evening entertainment too which is good, because there is nothing left to do post sunset.

an early buffet dinner and your sorted to relax in your room and enjoy the solitude.

a must stay hotel in Lake Nakuru.

Room Tip: take the ziwa suites... the views are not great, but they are closest to the reception if your scare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 7094 | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is nestled along the Lion Hill overlooking the spectacular flamingo pink rimmed Lake Nakuru. Its location affords panoramic views of the Lake and the picturesque Lake Nakuru National Park. A short two hour drive from Nairobi, Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is a favourite with residents and visitors to Kenya.Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is cleverly laid out such that most rooms and sitting areas afford stunning views of the Lake and the Park. The Lodge incorporates natural landscaping with tall acacia trees, winding walkways and greens dotted with bird feeds. The Lodge is a natural haven for bird life and attracts over 50 species of birds amongst the 400 species that inhabit the Park.Lake Nakuru National Park was created in 1968 to protect the huge flocks of over a million the lesser flamingo that breed and nest at the edge of Lake Nakuru, giving it the characteristic pink rim. Lake Nakuru National Park located at an altitude of 4,000-5,767 feet above sea level, covers 188 square kilometers of land of great ecological diversity - from lake water, woodland, bush grassland, to rocky ridges. The park is home to not just the lesser flamingo but over 400 species of birds and one of the few places to see the endangered white rhino. Other wildlife at the park includes lions, leopards, zebra, gazelles, eland, giraffe and the hyrax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.