We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUNSET,ANIMALS,FOOD..GREAT SERVICE !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
nairobi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“SUNSET,ANIMALS,FOOD..GREAT SERVICE !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and i are at lion hill again, checking out early tomorrow after breakfast . It's our 3rd and last night and we are enjoying the remaining hours immensely. Thanks alot to the staff of lion hill, Korir the manager, Simon, Benja, Wycliff, Peter..you are all so kind. The food was great..soup is our favorite! !
We saw a leopard, rhinos, monkeys, zebras, impalas n lotsa buffaloes.
Thanks for the hospitality. Be blessed

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    204
    77
    6
    3
See reviews for
160
189
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Sarova hotels by far are the best hotel chain in Kenya. Lion Hill Game lodge being no exception, they really take good care of you.

the walk to the rooms can feel a bit errie at night, but once your inside its absolute comfort for a good nights sleep.

the rooms are extremely comfortable, their buffet meals are top notch. the views are excellent. cant find any faults with the hotel whatsoever.

they have some fabulous evening entertainment too which is good, because there is nothing left to do post sunset.

an early buffet dinner and your sorted to relax in your room and enjoy the solitude.

a must stay hotel in Lake Nakuru.

Room Tip: take the ziwa suites... the views are not great, but they are closest to the reception if your scare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent a night at Lion Hill Lodge in February 2013. The lodge itself is lovely, up on a hill overlooking Lake Nakuru. There is a nice pool, with a bar and restaurant open to the views and nature. The lodge puts out seed/feed for birds, so you get a splendid array of them. In the evening, they offer dancing and entertainment. The staff are really friendly and go out of their way to be welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are comfortable, though a little dark. The buffet-style meals make it easy to find something for everyone, without having to worry about slow service. We've lunched at the other lodge in the park, but prefer the views from this one. Lake Nakuru National Park is a real treasure, with a high concentration of animals in a relatively small space. Go for the birds, and delight in all the other animals, rhino, lion, leopard, Rothchild's giraffes, zebras, colobus monkeys, and more.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Sarova Lion Hill Lodge for two nights after 5 full days in the Maasai Mara. It was a perfect place to unwind and relax while still enjoying some more game watching. The lodge is in a beautiful location and though it is bigger than the places we usually stay it seems to be, by a long shot, the best option at Lake Nakuru. I understand weekends can be busy as quite a few people make the trip from Nairobi though we had no problems as we were there in the week. The staff were very attentive. It was my husband's birthday and they made a lovely dessert and it was delivered to the table by African dancers. We also had a champagne breakfast in a private area of the garden which was reasonably priced and nicely presented.

Though if we return to Kenya we would probably opt for a luxury tented camp rather than a lodge we were not disappointed. Lake Nakuru offered us very good game viewing ( we had a great guide from SUNWORLD SAFARIS) and we saw five lions, including 2 huge males, 3 leopards, hyenas, jackals, both types of rhino plus more.

Having a sundowner at the hotels special place on the hill was a real treat. Had beautiful views over the lake.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

First and formost sarovas website is user friendly.
We went there to celebrate my sisters birthday , but i didnt manage informing the hotel in advance but after requesting Steve, we did manage to give her a surprise ........
Staff are friendly .
Beautiful view of lake Nakuru from the room.
Urgggggh Didnt see any lions nor flamingoes .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a very calm and relaxing hotel. In the middle of Lake Nakuru Reserve it is a great place to watch the birds and relaxes in between the games. The location is a plus.

The hotel is not as charm as the Sarava Mara (from the same group), but is also a good value. The room (it is not a lodge with tents) is clean and with enough space, the bathroom is also decent with a good shower.

Food is ok, not many options, but if you are staying for only 1 or 2 nights it is not a big deal.

Staff is very friendly and helpfull.

I would recommend this hotel if you are passing by Lake Nakuru.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2nights and was in full board. Very beautiful hotel and calming place, I loved the restaurant staff, very polite and helpful...the chef's too on buffet station soo cheery especially Nicholas always happy to point out food to try.

Buffet station is basic, not much creativity. For a sarova I would think they should have more better varieties. Location inside lake nakuru national park is a plus and we had amazing game drives. There's an entertainment group that gives cultural dances from all over Kenya in the evenings and I found this very nice.

One night at the restaurant a parent dropped a kid and the hostess NYomi soothed the kid; felt that was sweet.

Downside was housekeeping: we left our room for a game drive at 0630hrs and came back after breakfast at 0930 still room wasn't made up despite having put a "clean my room" on the door. We decided t head out again and tour the town, came back for lunch at 1330 and still room wasn't made up! Ok, I was a bit upset and called the housekeeping man I found on the path with cleaning supplies on a trolley asked him to go clean my room.

Overall would've given a 4 but this minor incident earned a 3.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Rift Valley, the Lake Nakuru national park is home to one of the most amazing ornithological spectacles in the world - the flight of the flamingos! Aside from the flamingos, the park has over 450 species of birds - a heaven for any avid bird watchers. The park is also a sanctuary to the highly-endangered black Rhino and abounds with other game such as buffalos, lions and the elusive leopard. Just two hour's drive from Nairobi; Sarova Lion Hill is one of only two lodges situated within the premises of the park. Each of the 67 recently refurbished chalets are equipped with modern conveniences and have an astounding view of the pink rimmed lake and the silhouetted hills beyond. Guests can enjoy country-style dining at the flamingo restaurant or if you like, the chef can set up something special under one of the beautiful acacia trees where one can enjoy lunch with an unobstructed view of the lake. The rift valley bar is just the right spot for that magical sundowner. Cultural dancers delight visitors with their enchanting dancing every night. An inviting swimming pool & sauna facilities are available. Guests can also enjoy outdoor massage treatments with the calming sounds of chirping birds. Outside catering facilities complement the "meals served in the bush", provided as premium add-ons, including cocktails at Baboon Cliff. The Lodge also offers conferencing facilities. The Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is one of the most sought after Rift Valley Lodges in Kenya, best known for offering finest quality services. A fabulous outdoor swimming pool to a business conference room, the hotel has almost everything that's required to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.