We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nakuru” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nakuru”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Like others going to Kenya we definetly didnt want to miss out on the famed pink flamingos or the rhinos of Lake Nakuru and therefore spent one night in Lake Nakuru and we were not disappointed. We arrived just before lunch, check in was quick and the first thing that hit us was the spectacular buffet spread, and this continued for dinner and breakfast, the meals were suited to appeal to every palate. Great service aswell. The rooms were very decent, bathrooms were modern and clean but slightly tiny. I had hurt my foot and got an EXCELLENT massage and some work done on my foot down at the spa. The hotel had also arrange for a pre dinner dance / cultural show with audience participation. A very nice lively atmosphere, the place also has a small gift shop but a bit overly priced as most inhouse gifts shops in africa tend to be.

The main sights and the lake itself is not very far from the hotel and you can start seeing animals within 5 minutes from leaving the hotel. Probably one of the top rated places in Nakuru and it should be.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    211
    78
    8
    3
See reviews for
171
192
14
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Sarova Lion Hill is one of the best property which i have seen in and around Masai Mara. Impeccable rooms, reasonable price, Lavish spread of breakfast, lunch and dinner and great surrounding. I did not use the pool but it looked lovely. Although bathroom leaves lot to be desired but overall room is fantastic.

Drive to the Lake was lovely and we saw lots of Rihno Families and they were peacefully grazing the grass near lake. Flamingoes were perched beautifully on the small piece of island on the lake...i wish i were carrying the professional SLR cameras. We closed the day by sighting a Leopard and suddenly whole lot of tourist vans arrived at the spot and the poor guy had to run to take shelter in the bushes. Overall a fantastic trip and a great hotel

Room Tip: Take a good SLR camera while travelling to Kenya.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I spent a day and a night in this hotel, back in March. Went there to show the Park to some colleagues, after a meeting. It was my first time in this hotel and I was not disappointed with the Sarova quality of service. The design and blending of the constructions with the surrounding vegetation is of very good taste.The cuisine is fantastic, with a great variety of food that spoils you for choice. Excellent service and kind staff. The rooms are small but nobody goes to Nakuru to stay in a room! Good value for money. I would go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are in the top of the hill and the view to the Par - and the Nakuru lake - althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We didn't want to miss Lake Nakuru on our trip, so we spent one night here on route to Samburu. The lodge is very clean. The dining is buffet-style and it is very family friendly. Fun dinner pre-show with singing and dancing and audience participation. Our trip to Kenya was a 30th anniversary trip and our tour operator had notified them. So after dinner, about 6 staff members came out singing and dancing for us with a cake and traditional Kenyan wraps for us. It was quite the surprise!

Security is plentiful and can be frequently seen walking the property.

Room Tip: I had read that the rooms are small and can feel a bit claustrophobic so we opted to book one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This place was great! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect and there is plenty to see while on the game drives. Would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed in ziwa suite as a family and the staff were excellent right from check in to the restaurant. We stayed for five days and four nights every evening there were traditional dancers entertaining guests by the bar and there was also bonfire at the bar terrace.We saw many animals in the park e.g rhino,jackal,buffaloes e.t.c Though it was raining the roads in the park are well maintained and have no worries of getting stuck.The staff are very friendly and we had a chance to interact with a few managers e.g Ken,Steve,Seif who all kept coming to check on our comfort the food was AMAZING...and the chef Kioko was always there and very willing to assist on any special request since my kids love chips masala.They have a small and nice swimming pool for a lodge and though it was under repair we still had a day and a half to swim.
Overall it was value for money.the beverage prices are reasonble and the ziwa suites is just too good for family holiday.the house keeping staff always ensured we had hot-water bottles in the bed just in case it was too cold overall this is an excellent lodge with excellent staff and management and place to be on holiday.

Room Tip: if you're travelling as a family ziwa suite is suitable,comfortable and ideal for bonding. You e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Clean rooms, Comfortable beds, 30minute cultural entertainment most nights before dinner, large log fire on the terrace outside the bar.

Food is really excellent with great choice from starters - salad through to fresh cooked dishes and superb desserts. This place is often full with weekend visitors from Nairobi so best to book early.

This is BEST lodge in the park by far, some choices just outside the main gate but stay here if you can.

Recommendation would be to take packed breakfast and go on a game drive, the absolute best views are from 'Out of Africa' viewpoint where you can see whole of lake, drive up is a little challenging and best in 4wd but also for that reason does not get as crowded as the other viewpoints.

Service is excellent, example being hot water bottle as part of bed turn-down - not that it is cold but thoughtful touch.

For overseas visitors you will need to pay park entry for each 24Hrs stay.

Room Tip: Ask for new rooms - slightly better with shower rather than bath/ shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Rift Valley, the Lake Nakuru national park is home to one of the most amazing ornithological spectacles in the world - the flight of the flamingos! Aside from the flamingos, the park has over 450 species of birds - a heaven for any avid bird watchers. The park is also a sanctuary to the highly-endangered black Rhino and abounds with other game such as buffalos, lions and the elusive leopard. Just two hour's drive from Nairobi; Sarova Lion Hill is one of only two lodges situated within the premises of the park. Each of the 67 recently refurbished chalets are equipped with modern conveniences and have an astounding view of the pink rimmed lake and the silhouetted hills beyond. Guests can enjoy country-style dining at the flamingo restaurant or if you like, the chef can set up something special under one of the beautiful acacia trees where one can enjoy lunch with an unobstructed view of the lake. The rift valley bar is just the right spot for that magical sundowner. Cultural dancers delight visitors with their enchanting dancing every night. An inviting swimming pool & sauna facilities are available. Guests can also enjoy outdoor massage treatments with the calming sounds of chirping birds. Outside catering facilities complement the "meals served in the bush", provided as premium add-ons, including cocktails at Baboon Cliff. The Lodge also offers conferencing facilities. The Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is one of the most sought after Rift Valley Lodges in Kenya, best known for offering finest quality services. A fabulous outdoor swimming pool to a business conference room, the hotel has almost everything that's required to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.