We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nakuru” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 7094 | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nakuru”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Like others going to Kenya we definetly didnt want to miss out on the famed pink flamingos or the rhinos of Lake Nakuru and therefore spent one night in Lake Nakuru and we were not disappointed. We arrived just before lunch, check in was quick and the first thing that hit us was the spectacular buffet spread, and this continued for dinner and breakfast, the meals were suited to appeal to every palate. Great service aswell. The rooms were very decent, bathrooms were modern and clean but slightly tiny. I had hurt my foot and got an EXCELLENT massage and some work done on my foot down at the spa. The hotel had also arrange for a pre dinner dance / cultural show with audience participation. A very nice lively atmosphere, the place also has a small gift shop but a bit overly priced as most inhouse gifts shops in africa tend to be.

The main sights and the lake itself is not very far from the hotel and you can start seeing animals within 5 minutes from leaving the hotel. Probably one of the top rated places in Nakuru and it should be.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    176
    68
    6
    3
See reviews for
137
156
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Sarova Lion Hill is one of the best property which i have seen in and around Masai Mara. Impeccable rooms, reasonable price, Lavish spread of breakfast, lunch and dinner and great surrounding. I did not use the pool but it looked lovely. Although bathroom leaves lot to be desired but overall room is fantastic.

Drive to the Lake was lovely and we saw lots of Rihno Families and they were peacefully grazing the grass near lake. Flamingoes were perched beautifully on the small piece of island on the lake...i wish i were carrying the professional SLR cameras. We closed the day by sighting a Leopard and suddenly whole lot of tourist vans arrived at the spot and the poor guy had to run to take shelter in the bushes. Overall a fantastic trip and a great hotel

Room Tip: Take a good SLR camera while travelling to Kenya.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I spent a day and a night in this hotel, back in March. Went there to show the Park to some colleagues, after a meeting. It was my first time in this hotel and I was not disappointed with the Sarova quality of service. The design and blending of the constructions with the surrounding vegetation is of very good taste.The cuisine is fantastic, with a great variety of food that spoils you for choice. Excellent service and kind staff. The rooms are small but nobody goes to Nakuru to stay in a room! Good value for money. I would go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are in the top of the hill and the view to the Par - and the Nakuru lake - althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We didn't want to miss Lake Nakuru on our trip, so we spent one night here on route to Samburu. The lodge is very clean. The dining is buffet-style and it is very family friendly. Fun dinner pre-show with singing and dancing and audience participation. Our trip to Kenya was a 30th anniversary trip and our tour operator had notified them. So after dinner, about 6 staff members came out singing and dancing for us with a cake and traditional Kenyan wraps for us. It was quite the surprise!

Security is plentiful and can be frequently seen walking the property.

Room Tip: I had read that the rooms are small and can feel a bit claustrophobic so we opted to book one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This place was great! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect and there is plenty to see while on the game drives. Would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed in ziwa suite as a family and the staff were excellent right from check in to the restaurant. We stayed for five days and four nights every evening there were traditional dancers entertaining guests by the bar and there was also bonfire at the bar terrace.We saw many animals in the park e.g rhino,jackal,buffaloes e.t.c Though it was raining the roads in the park are well maintained and have no worries of getting stuck.The staff are very friendly and we had a chance to interact with a few managers e.g Ken,Steve,Seif who all kept coming to check on our comfort the food was AMAZING...and the chef Kioko was always there and very willing to assist on any special request since my kids love chips masala.They have a small and nice swimming pool for a lodge and though it was under repair we still had a day and a half to swim.
Overall it was value for money.the beverage prices are reasonble and the ziwa suites is just too good for family holiday.the house keeping staff always ensured we had hot-water bottles in the bed just in case it was too cold overall this is an excellent lodge with excellent staff and management and place to be on holiday.

Room Tip: if you're travelling as a family ziwa suite is suitable,comfortable and ideal for bonding. You e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Clean rooms, Comfortable beds, 30minute cultural entertainment most nights before dinner, large log fire on the terrace outside the bar.

Food is really excellent with great choice from starters - salad through to fresh cooked dishes and superb desserts. This place is often full with weekend visitors from Nairobi so best to book early.

This is BEST lodge in the park by far, some choices just outside the main gate but stay here if you can.

Recommendation would be to take packed breakfast and go on a game drive, the absolute best views are from 'Out of Africa' viewpoint where you can see whole of lake, drive up is a little challenging and best in 4wd but also for that reason does not get as crowded as the other viewpoints.

Service is excellent, example being hot water bottle as part of bed turn-down - not that it is cold but thoughtful touch.

For overseas visitors you will need to pay park entry for each 24Hrs stay.

Room Tip: Ask for new rooms - slightly better with shower rather than bath/ shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 7094 | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is nestled along the Lion Hill overlooking the spectacular flamingo pink rimmed Lake Nakuru. Its location affords panoramic views of the Lake and the picturesque Lake Nakuru National Park. A short two hour drive from Nairobi, Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is a favourite with residents and visitors to Kenya.Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is cleverly laid out such that most rooms and sitting areas afford stunning views of the Lake and the Park. The Lodge incorporates natural landscaping with tall acacia trees, winding walkways and greens dotted with bird feeds. The Lodge is a natural haven for bird life and attracts over 50 species of birds amongst the 400 species that inhabit the Park.Lake Nakuru National Park was created in 1968 to protect the huge flocks of over a million the lesser flamingo that breed and nest at the edge of Lake Nakuru, giving it the characteristic pink rim. Lake Nakuru National Park located at an altitude of 4,000-5,767 feet above sea level, covers 188 square kilometers of land of great ecological diversity - from lake water, woodland, bush grassland, to rocky ridges. The park is home to not just the lesser flamingo but over 400 species of birds and one of the few places to see the endangered white rhino. Other wildlife at the park includes lions, leopards, zebra, gazelles, eland, giraffe and the hyrax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.