We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i enjoyed bird watching” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
nairobi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“i enjoyed bird watching”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Lion hill for me and my husband is a home away from home. we love the food,the animals the staff....everything! for the first time during our visit we decided to pay attention to the birds around the hotel. honestly we know nothing about birds but it was so much fun feeding them. and trying to catch them (no success) this led to swimming and later some pampering at the tulia spa....the dancers before dinner....we loved loved loved loved Lion hill and will definatley come back again.

Room Tip: chui room is much bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    218
    80
    9
    3
See reviews for
178
196
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

On entering the Lake Nakuru Natural Reserve, we were surrounded by nature in all its glory! Baboons running across the road, Bucks grazing, birds chirping… The uppermost thought in my mind….. ‘Am i really living in a concrete jungle with artificial ski slopes and the largest mall in the world? Can that compare to this natural beauty?” For those of you who know me- you know my answer too…

The short drive to Sarova Lion Hill Lodge was pleasant and of course our rooms weren’t ready! On their part the staff made a wonderful gesture of upgrading one couple amongst us who was celebrating one of their many anniversaries! After a sumptuous lunch and dropping into our rooms we were ready for our first game drive this trip!

Our rooms were a little small, but nice, with basic toiletries supplied. The suite which the couple were upgraded to was really nice and spacious.
There are insects in the night, so use the mosquito nets.
all in all- it was better than expected.

They had a small masai dance in the evening. It must be noted that the food was awesome and they had a variety of indian cuisine.

Also, please remember to ask for rooms that are on the lower level, else it may just be too much of a walk for you.

you can check http://antheaschronicles.wordpress.com for a detailed itinerary and review of this trip in September 2011! I'm sure it will be helpful:)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Somewhat of a dubious distinction, but since my travel partner is from Mombasa, she was really looking forward to some nice showers during our safari week. Of the 5 places we stayed at for the week, this was one of the best showers. The room was nice enough, grounds were nice. The restaurant felt "cafeteriaish" with the food lighting, but the food was good and a bonus point for the guy playing guitar and singing (which we didn't see at any of the other places). Nakuru was one of our favorite parks (liked it better than Masai Mara).

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chapel hill, nc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sarova Lodge while visiting Lake Nakuru as one stop on our trip to Kenya. We really enjoyed this lodge. It is incredibly beautiful and really a relaxing, calm way to recharge after busy days traveling and visiting the game park. We were greeted with great hospitality and enjoyed the staff of the lodge. The food was delicious with lots of variety to choose from and we were truly spoiled in every aspect. The grounds of the lodge are unparalleled with a fantastic view of the lake and really well-kept grounds. Birds of all types were throughout the outdoor arrangements and we enjoyed just relaxing on the porch. Overall, it really was a great stay. The only negative was that the beds were really firm and it took a little to get used to sleeping on. Otherwise we really had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Sitting on its own, this place is a great way to end the day, or even to have lunch, as part of your visit to Lake Nakuru. The accomodation is great, the food varied and good quality and the staff pleasant and helpful. Obviously take the usual precautions: insect repellant for the evenings and don't put ice in your drinks etc, but anyone going to Africa and not following basic health guidelines deserve all they get.
There's nothing quite like sitting on a veranda looking out of the park having lunch, while a baboon sits on the rail watching you.

Room Tip: Book with a local company to include the park and accomodation. This saves money and also makes sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We chose to stay at Lion Hill after reading all the positive comments. and have to admit, we were not disappointed.
This is a wonderful place, overlooking the Lake. The lodge surrounds are beautiful, not to mention the various species of birds that were roaming around the hotel.

They had some communication problems with their head office in Nairobi regarding our booking and payment, but then we were taken in to the Faru, everything was quickly forgiven and forgotten.

The Faru suite is really lovely. your veranda over looking the lake.
a living room with a fire place.
giant spacious and comfy bed with a huge mosquito net.
very nice bathroom.
Romance at its best.

The food was Buffet, every day there was something different. and the staff are always there to help you.

And Lake Nakuru is of course amazing. we so so many species, but i will mention that in the Nakuru review :)

Will be looking forward to going back Sarova Lion Hill.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the river :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Mary's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Very central for those doing a touring safari; so this may seem to be busier than other lodges you will stay at, but this is only apparent at meal times. Accommodation is of a fantastic standard as, in my experience, are other Sarova lodges. Lovely to sit out on the porch to my room looking out over Lake Nakuru. The area offers a lovely variety of wildlife and a different landscape to other Lodges I stayed at. Rhino a plenty, I thoroughly enjoyed the game drives done around my 1 night stay here. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Rift Valley, the Lake Nakuru national park is home to one of the most amazing ornithological spectacles in the world - the flight of the flamingos! Aside from the flamingos, the park has over 450 species of birds - a heaven for any avid bird watchers. The park is also a sanctuary to the highly-endangered black Rhino and abounds with other game such as buffalos, lions and the elusive leopard. Just two hour's drive from Nairobi; Sarova Lion Hill is one of only two lodges situated within the premises of the park. Each of the 67 recently refurbished chalets are equipped with modern conveniences and have an astounding view of the pink rimmed lake and the silhouetted hills beyond. Guests can enjoy country-style dining at the flamingo restaurant or if you like, the chef can set up something special under one of the beautiful acacia trees where one can enjoy lunch with an unobstructed view of the lake. The rift valley bar is just the right spot for that magical sundowner. Cultural dancers delight visitors with their enchanting dancing every night. An inviting swimming pool & sauna facilities are available. Guests can also enjoy outdoor massage treatments with the calming sounds of chirping birds. Outside catering facilities complement the "meals served in the bush", provided as premium add-ons, including cocktails at Baboon Cliff. The Lodge also offers conferencing facilities. The Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is one of the most sought after Rift Valley Lodges in Kenya, best known for offering finest quality services. A fabulous outdoor swimming pool to a business conference room, the hotel has almost everything that's required to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.