We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best holiday experience ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
nairobi
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“best holiday experience ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

nice food, spacious rooms, great service. My best sarova hotel so far. the traditional dancers are a must watch. unique cocktails great location. everything great great great. this is one place everyone ought to experience

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
"Everything great great great" trully captures the spirit of Refreshing African Hospitality.
Asante sana for taking time review your stay with us


Ken Korir
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    211
    78
    8
    3
See reviews for
173
192
14
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

The room at the lodge was very ordinary & the bathroom was small. Thankfully our room was very near to the reception. The rooms far from the reception were very difficult to access in the dark after dinner. The food spread on all the meals was vey good & the food was delicious. They have a show of african singing & dancing everyday before dinner. The service at the hotel was great. I was suffering from mouth ulcer & seeked medical help at the reception. They immediately sent a doctor to our room & he provided me with an ointment , that gave me instant relief & i was cured in 2 days. This was great on their part & quite unexpected in a forest area. The game drives at lake nakuru were great as well. We saw a rhino chase from very close by the bank of lake nakuru. A bigger white rhino was being chased by a smaller white rhino ---- was an amazing thing to see. you cant believe how fast they run !! Apart from that we also saw a black rhino family, 2 lionesses, cape buffelos, zebras , waterbucks & the lake full of flemingoes. Altogether it was great to visit lake nakuru.

Room Tip: book a room near the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad to note that other than the size of the room you found all else to have exceeded your expectations.

Talking about game drives we had a pride of lions taking residency just outside of our gate for the last 3 days, all the guests were so amazed more so with their thunder like roars at night.

Again Asante Sana for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Ken Korir
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I took my frend to the Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge in Nakuru for her birthday weekend. Being Kenyan, she's very hard to surprise or excite with game parks or resorts. We were met with warm towels and juice and smiles and shown into our delightful rooms, overlooking the forest reserve. Many species of birds ate and chirped feet away from as we soaked in the evening's entertainmentat the bar. The dinner and breakfast were incredible and the cake surprise complete with eternal torch and a huge entourage of singers n dancers blew her away! The management is handds on and we met honey-mooners, friends and families with young ones all satisfied and fervently promising to return. Somehow, the lay out provides privacy and I never once heard a kid even tho I saw them occasionall in the restaurant.The park is great with all of the big five except elephants and the million or so flamingos and pelicans more than compensate for elephants. its a beautiful sight to watch!. I'd reccomend this hotel to anyone loking for relaxation, adventure and pampering! Incredible value for money!!!!

Room Tip: My room facing the park was very quite and had a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Needag,
Many thanks for taking time to review your recent stay with us.
We are delighted that your stay was to use your words 'Incredible value for money'
We all look forward to your next visit

Ken Korir
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
541 reviews 541 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
340 helpful votes 340 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This was an amazing hotel. The view from the patio to the lake was so peaceful. Each set of guests had what I called a bungalow, one side of a 2 room cottage. The bungalow had a king bed, mosquito net (more for effect that need), a large bathroom and a wake up was done by a knock on your door. Flowers and landscaping were lovely. The pool was lovely and offered a secluded space with views and a honeymoon spot was hidden close by. There was nightly local african entertainment and the meals were buffet but offered extensive choices for both meat and non meat eaters. Breakfast included eggs to order as well as cereal, breads, pastries etc. We headed out from the resort down Lion hill and the first animals we saw were lions! The game rides were a bit dusty but we saw a lot of animals. The lake with rhino's walking amongst pelicans and flamingos was also beautiful. Excellent hotel for a honeymoon couple or anyone else.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Esteemed Guest,
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us.
I thank you most sincerely for finding time to review your stay on trip advisor.
Asante sana and we all look forward to your next visit.

Ken Korir
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

A perfect ending to a medical clinic trip in Nakuru/Kaptembwo. We were met with warm towels that refreshed us and a delicious drink. Our cabin was absolutely beautiful and had comfortable beds and clean restrooms. The porch was a place to relax with a wonderful view of the grounds. The meals were absolutely tasty with so many different choices. They turned the lights on for you at night, in your cabin & surprised us by turning down the blankets on the luxurious bed & sneaking in a hot water bottle. Pampered; completely pampered and I LOVED it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
"Pampered; completely Pampered" absolutely describes our Refreshing African Hospitality.
Thank you so much for finding time to review your stay with us and indeed for posting the same on this forum.
As we say here "Asante Sana" and we all look forward to your next visit


Ken Korir
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Awesome place! Room was clean and very comfortable. We stayed here for three nights on our safari tour of Kenya. Staff was extrememly accommodating and friendly. The NP is amazing. It is a relatively small park, but that allows you to see a large variety of the wildlife without spending the whole day in a van looking for something. We were very satisfied with the food. I thought the variety of food that was offered was exceptional. We never felt crowded or herded in our dining experiences. I would recommend Lion Hill Lodge to anyone planning a visit to Lake Nakuru, and I hope to return there myself soon.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a standard room and we were very satisfied with the size and comfort of the room. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Visited here in 25 Aug 2011 we had an amazing suite due to it being our honeymoon. We were looked after very well good location over looking lake Nakuru, WE saw hundreds of flamingoes and a white rhino laying asleep by the side of the lake. Also the views are to die for, when you drive up to the top of the area. We were on a week safarie this was the second lodge, we left next day to drive to the masai Mara, where I have visited twice before.

Room Tip: If you do a safarie you must travel in safarie jeeps for comfort some days we drove for six hours. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Rift Valley, the Lake Nakuru national park is home to one of the most amazing ornithological spectacles in the world - the flight of the flamingos! Aside from the flamingos, the park has over 450 species of birds - a heaven for any avid bird watchers. The park is also a sanctuary to the highly-endangered black Rhino and abounds with other game such as buffalos, lions and the elusive leopard. Just two hour's drive from Nairobi; Sarova Lion Hill is one of only two lodges situated within the premises of the park. Each of the 67 recently refurbished chalets are equipped with modern conveniences and have an astounding view of the pink rimmed lake and the silhouetted hills beyond. Guests can enjoy country-style dining at the flamingo restaurant or if you like, the chef can set up something special under one of the beautiful acacia trees where one can enjoy lunch with an unobstructed view of the lake. The rift valley bar is just the right spot for that magical sundowner. Cultural dancers delight visitors with their enchanting dancing every night. An inviting swimming pool & sauna facilities are available. Guests can also enjoy outdoor massage treatments with the calming sounds of chirping birds. Outside catering facilities complement the "meals served in the bush", provided as premium add-ons, including cocktails at Baboon Cliff. The Lodge also offers conferencing facilities. The Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is one of the most sought after Rift Valley Lodges in Kenya, best known for offering finest quality services. A fabulous outdoor swimming pool to a business conference room, the hotel has almost everything that's required to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.