We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Sarova Lion Hill Camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Valparaiso, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay at Sarova Lion Hill Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

A perfect ending to a medical clinic trip in Nakuru/Kaptembwo. We were met with warm towels that refreshed us and a delicious drink. Our cabin was absolutely beautiful and had comfortable beds and clean restrooms. The porch was a place to relax with a wonderful view of the grounds. The meals were absolutely tasty with so many different choices. They turned the lights on for you at night, in your cabin & surprised us by turning down the blankets on the luxurious bed & sneaking in a hot water bottle. Pampered; completely pampered and I LOVED it!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, responded to this review, October 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
"Pampered; completely Pampered" absolutely describes our Refreshing African Hospitality.
Thank you so much for finding time to review your stay with us and indeed for posting the same on this forum.
As we say here "Asante Sana" and we all look forward to your next visit


Ken Korir
Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    216
    78
    8
    3
See reviews for
176
193
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Awesome place! Room was clean and very comfortable. We stayed here for three nights on our safari tour of Kenya. Staff was extrememly accommodating and friendly. The NP is amazing. It is a relatively small park, but that allows you to see a large variety of the wildlife without spending the whole day in a van looking for something. We were very satisfied with the food. I thought the variety of food that was offered was exceptional. We never felt crowded or herded in our dining experiences. I would recommend Lion Hill Lodge to anyone planning a visit to Lake Nakuru, and I hope to return there myself soon.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a standard room and we were very satisfied with the size and comfort of the room. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Visited here in 25 Aug 2011 we had an amazing suite due to it being our honeymoon. We were looked after very well good location over looking lake Nakuru, WE saw hundreds of flamingoes and a white rhino laying asleep by the side of the lake. Also the views are to die for, when you drive up to the top of the area. We were on a week safarie this was the second lodge, we left next day to drive to the masai Mara, where I have visited twice before.

Room Tip: If you do a safarie you must travel in safarie jeeps for comfort some days we drove for six hours. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I recently took a small group to Tanzania and Kenya and Lion Hill was one of the lodges we overnighted at. I did find it a long drive for just one night. Also, when were there this past March, the drought was severe and the animals looked in terrible health. I actually found it heartbreaking to see. A rhino was collapsed next to Lake Nakuru, perhaps thinking it was water he could drink, but the lake is a "soda lake" so the animals cannot drink it. There were some flamingos and pelicans, but nothing compared to what I have seen in books. The Lodge sits up high and has a lovely vista from the Bar area and restaurant. Most of the rooms/cottage style have a view as well. I did give this property a "very good" but perhaps this is a little generous. I found the rooms very basic and really in need of an upgrade. The bed was not very comfortable and the bathroom was a bit run down. What made this resort very good, was the food. They offer different food stations, refrigerated and so efficient. You will feel totally safe eating anything, even all the salads and fruits. It was very impressive. The property has a nice swimming pool and bar area. We had local entertainment perform before dinner. Hopefully, they are working on upgrading the room facilities.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This place just didn’t work for me. The location, within Nakuru NP, is first-rate. The layout is good. The grounds are pretty. The rooms are very spacious with comfortable beds.
Perversely, however, there’s no view, even though the site is elevated and Lake Nakuru is a short distance away. I felt I was being teased, with occasional, fleeting, water glimpses through the acacia trees.
But that's a minor quibble compared to what really ruined our stay: the dire eating arrangements. The restaurant area is way too small for the number of guests and generates a bizarre kind of chaos static. I was shocked; I felt less institutionalised in my boarding school’s dining hall, where we used to sit 5 to a bench.
Also, the chain’s restaurant trademark appears to be elevated refrigerated cabinets for desserts which are displayed in individual portions (we also stayed in another of its hotels). In this confined space, with so many people coming and going, they made the restaurant feel like a cheap cafeteria.
We sensed that guest turnover is high because most, like us, stay for only one night. And that there were too few, overworked, staff to cope with the load that this turnover generates. They were definitely not as happy as those we met in our other four hotels.
That inevitably rubs off on the guests. Neither of our two meals was enjoyable and I was pleased there wouldn't have to be a third and fourth.
Others like this place. So I wonder what I'm missing. Certainly, Nakuru NP is fantastic. I would return in a heartbeat. But the NP isn't the Lodge. Which I left with the distinct impression I could only have what I was given. Ouch! It could provide a very good hotel experience. But it has let itself down by cutting corners where they count.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon and were thoroughly impressed when we arrived and found we had been upgraded to a suite!! The hotel staff provided wine and a lovely letter to us wishing us well for our honeymoon.

The room was fantastic - a super king bed, living room, and massive bathroom. Hotel was comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable. The evening entertainment was a great distraction before dinner and the food was varied and appetising.

This hotel is absolutely brilliant and a must if you are looking to go for a romantic getaway! Would definitely be back, once we have saved a few pennies again!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

1. No one told us that we are to pay park fees on arrival though we had paid all the amounts for our full-board accommodation and conferencing. We were kept at the date for an hour waiting for a response for the gate, forcing us to raise over Ksh 10,000 to facilitate our entry.
2. On arrival at the hotel, we needed internet facilities (which we had also paid for in advance), we were told that we can only use one computer...geez..we are here for a conference and we cannot extend internet..in this day and age a 4 star we pay for data, really?????/
3. We checked in and there was no one to escort us to our rooms, we have never been there, the least they could do is direct us, but it was up to us to find our rooms.
4. On day 2, one of our bed had a hot water bottle burst, and there was no one sight from front office or house keeping to assist (they had gone to sleep)...our colleague had to stay for over one hour waiting to be sorted out.
5. On a positive note, the food was awesome...There is a waiter called Christian...he just got awesome service..but as for the front office & housekeeping staff......

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge

Address: Lake Nakuru National Park | City Square, Lake Nakuru National Park 72493 - 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Lake Nakuru National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lake Nakuru National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the Rift Valley, the Lake Nakuru national park is home to one of the most amazing ornithological spectacles in the world - the flight of the flamingos! Aside from the flamingos, the park has over 450 species of birds - a heaven for any avid bird watchers. The park is also a sanctuary to the highly-endangered black Rhino and abounds with other game such as buffalos, lions and the elusive leopard. Just two hour's drive from Nairobi; Sarova Lion Hill is one of only two lodges situated within the premises of the park. Each of the 67 recently refurbished chalets are equipped with modern conveniences and have an astounding view of the pink rimmed lake and the silhouetted hills beyond. Guests can enjoy country-style dining at the flamingo restaurant or if you like, the chef can set up something special under one of the beautiful acacia trees where one can enjoy lunch with an unobstructed view of the lake. The rift valley bar is just the right spot for that magical sundowner. Cultural dancers delight visitors with their enchanting dancing every night. An inviting swimming pool & sauna facilities are available. Guests can also enjoy outdoor massage treatments with the calming sounds of chirping birds. Outside catering facilities complement the "meals served in the bush", provided as premium add-ons, including cocktails at Baboon Cliff. The Lodge also offers conferencing facilities. The Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge is one of the most sought after Rift Valley Lodges in Kenya, best known for offering finest quality services. A fabulous outdoor swimming pool to a business conference room, the hotel has almost everything that's required to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Lion Hill Game Hotel Lake Nakuru National Park
Sarova Lion Hill Hotel
Hotel Sarova Lion Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.