We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAM TRIP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Treetops Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Treetops Lodge to your Saves list
Treetops Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Aberdare National Park, Aberdare National Park, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FAM TRIP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hi, am so privileged to have visited the treetops lodge when i was doing the central/northern circuit and i must admit it is just fabulous.i would like to have a farm trip with my class from moi university and get to show us the facilities and services you offer since that is our specialization field.please get back to me and advise me on the way forward since we are planning to come there on 19th of this month.
thank you

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

For future fam trip request send an email to info@aberdaresafarihotels.com.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Regards

E. Nguraru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    77
    46
    16
    10
See reviews for
60
114
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

After reading all the terrible and poor reviews this place got i was pretty sceptical about visiting but those reviews do not do justice to Treetops Lodge and most were posted before the refurbishment..
Abderdare National park is gem with amazing water falls, forest and moorlands perfect cool weather.(Personal cars are now allowed at treetops so you can explore the park without paying for a shared game drive)
The lodge is beautiful, comfortable, bathrooms are modern and clean; staff are truly helpful, freindly and polite; the food was great had the best molo lamb i have had in my enitre life at Treetops lodge :-)
Game viewing not so easy because of the thick forest but animals do come to the salt licks and water hole.

All in all amazing place not to be missed!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on tripadvisor and looks like you had a great time watching animals from the comfort of the lodge. I look forward to your return when celebrating one of your many wedding anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I wish I had written on here a while ago but after reading some of the poorer reviews I felt I needed to! We spent a night as part of our honeymoon we were doing the Kuoni cheetah safari. As soon as we pulled up it blew us away. Staff were great! Ok so the rooms were very basic - we went before they were done up but in my opinion you haven't gone to sleep and spend time in there you're there to watch the wildlife!

After a wonderful evening meal my husband and I along with another couple went onto the roof with some blankets and sat there for hours! We saw rhinos, elephants, hyenas etc etc. We didn't hear the buzzer go off ever to tell people animals were seen but we didn't understand why people weren't up watching for them selves! We were the only people up and about through the night. I hadn't gone all that way to sleep!!

I would thoroughly recommend a visit here especially now the rooms have been upgraded but please if you do go then experience what you're there for, don't just go to bed and hope they buzz you, be the people who apt the animals!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

As luck would have it, we were given the same room that Queen Elizabeth stayed in in 1983 aptly named Princess Elizabeth Suite. We decided to self drive so after having lunch at Outspan Hotel we made our way to Aberdare National Park to check in at Treetops any time after 3pm (very specific about that).

The lodgings are really beautiful from the outside and our room was lovely too. However, the shower did not have a shower curtain which meant that the entire bathroom was wet after using the shower..

We were fortunate to see rhino, elephant, hyena and buffalo right in front of our room during our overnight stay.

However, whilst I can't say that I didn't enjoy my stay, I felt there was something lacking in terms of service, there just seemed to be a bit of disorganisation with the whole set up, dining service was good though.

Nevertheless, I'm sure that the property will still attract a number of guests because of it being rich in history. I for one am glad that I had the chance to experience this iconic retreat...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is really brilliantly located. And fortunately we got rooms from where we were able to see the elephant and the buffalos at extremely close quarters. Personally though I feel that, in hindsight, we couldve skipped this destination altogether as we went to Aberdare directly after our flight from Mumbai. This was coz the logistics of stepping out of a 6 hour flight and then stopping at Outspan to drop our luggage and then return the very next morning and drive to Samburu was a bit too tiring.

Room Tip: 1 day was a bit too short a time I thought to visit Aberdare and 2 days is too much. So its a bit tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We have noted your honest opinion and agree that it was a long journey to get to Treetops after a 6 hour flight from Mumbai. Ideally first stay can be at Outspan then have a relaxed second day at Treetops. We shall recommend to our partners change of itinerary for guests who arrive after long flights though this also depends on amount of time one has to spend in the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We visited Treetops for my wifes 50th Birthday and were not dissapointed. The location is iconic and set in a most beautiful game reserve. From the outset we felt privilaged to be there and were looked after by the small staff wonderfully. We had a double room with en-suite that had the most breathtaking views of the animals that visited the waterhole. Photography of the animals was easy to achieve at the Lodge and wider still Abedare is teaming with wildlife; though I should say most of it is only seen on the tracks as the undergrowth is thick either side and nothing really can be seen beyond what appears in front of you or just off the tracks. That said we did fortunately have good sightings; early morning seems good for a game drive.

The Restaurant in the hotel was excellent, with all guests having their own designated table and assigned waiter. All in all, we loved Treetops lodge and would recommend it highly for special occasions.

One word of warning though. We made the mistake of heading straight to Abedare Park and made our own way to Treetops within the park. The correct way to go to Treetops is to report to the hotel reception which is actually in the nearby town about 20 minutes drive away where you report at lunchtime, have lunch in the lovely grounds and then are taken to Treetops by their transport. If you report direct to Treetops they will not have a room number for you and indeed it is possible, as in our case, that there will be no one on the gate to let you in. This said, all this was most definately our fault and not the fault of the Lodge...........we should have read the website !!!

We loved the place and feel privilaged to have been..........highly recommended

Steve n Sue from Bradford UK

Room Tip: We had a lovely room and I suspect that all who go there have similar. All rooms face the waterhole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AberdareSafariHotels, Public Relations Manager at Treetops Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing with others your experience at Treetops and the excellent rating. We recommend self drive to the lodge through Outspan for guests to spend more time to enjoy parks beauty and serenity. We will be delighted to host you at Treetops on your next holiday trip in Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

this is a must place to visit and stay...the story goes that once a princess elizabeth went up to stay and came down as a queen...when her father passed away in London...while she was on a african safari..so to be a part of history itself adds value to this place

Room Tip: get rooms facing the salt water pond in front of the lodge...nice to wake up to animals in the morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Treetops Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge

Address: Aberdare National Park, Aberdare National Park, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Central Province > Aberdare National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Aberdare National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Treetops Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Aberdare National Park, this world-renowned rustic Treehouse is over 80 years old and was recently fully refurbished. This game viewing lodge was originally built in 1932 and is famous as the place where the then-Princess Elizabeth ascended to the British Throne. The father King George VI died on 5th Feb 1952 the night she spent at Treetops while on honeymoon.Treetops lies in the path of an ancient Elephant migratory route between the Aberdare Ranges and Mt Kenya National park, and is strategically sited right in front of a natural watering hole and salt lick.With large windows fitted in all guest rooms, restaurant and lounge guests can drink in the sight of Elephants, Buffalos, Rhinos and more from all areas including the view deck on top floor of the building. Die-hard animal lovers needn't worry about missed sightings, even into the early hours of the morning. An optional buzzer in the rooms alerts the guests when a spectacle is unfolding at the waterhole. Game drives and a lecture about Treetops are also available to the guests.This lodge-on-stilts is accessed through a gradual ramp to the top floor and a Tree grows right through the building. There are 36 en-suite guest rooms that include 3 spacious suites and 33 twin rooms that can be converted into double rooms. A disabled friendly room is located on the first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Treetops Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treetops Hotel Aberdare National Park
Treetops Lodge Kenya/Aberdare National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treetops Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.