We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply exotic, different kind of hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bait Ali

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bait Ali to your Saves list
Bait Ali
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Wadi Rum, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Simply exotic, different kind of hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Situated in the and dunes of Wadi Rum, Bait Ali Camp comprises several types of accommodation, from individual huts to mud & sand chalets, small to medium to deluxe. While tents are just sleeping beds with bath/toilet facility in a separate tent to be shared among tent residents ( which is inconvenient, specially if one has the habit of visiting toilet in the night), chalets have air conditioners and bathroom-shower with running hot water in each chalet. We had stayed in a medium chalet and we found it very comfy.
The entire campus is spread with a number of tents, chalets, dining hall,, and a few independent places, used for functions and dinner by separate groups. It is quite an exotic site, specially fo people coming from large cities.
Mr. Yousuf, the Manager, and his senior colleague Mrs Reema are wonderful people, very friendly, hospitable and cooperative. We are vegetarian, and Reema ensured that we are served with a good mix of Indian and Arabic vegetarian dinner. Thanks to her and yousuf. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Chalet should be preferred over tents, and the cost is not very much different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    58
    25
    20
    20
See reviews for
29
77
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

For my first visit to Wadi Rum I chose Bait Ali for what I heard and read about from friends and reviews.
I went there with a group of my friends, we arrived before sunset and had the chance to climb up the mountain to have a comprehensive look at the dessert and watch the sunset. The view was amazing and although I did not go through all its amenities, the place looked impressive. I saw they have a swimming pool.
Since we were a big group, they arranged for us a private place to set at with a big campfire. The dinner was a buffet of vegetables, small pieces of meat and chicken, and some salads, hummos and other types of appetizers. The food was not bad and food quantity was more than enough. The only thing is that we were promised a "Zarb", a traditional Bedouin way of cooking meat (or chicken) in an underground oven, the meat and chicken we ate were not cooked that way.

This was my first visit to Wadi Rum so I can not make any comparisons with other camps and facilities over there, but I liked the place and would visit it again later.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was our first visit to Wadi Rum and as I am 5 months pregnant and we were travelling with 3 children under 6 we decided to stay in the comforts of the chalets at Bait Ali. We had a double chalet and ensuite shower room - it was basic but clean and comfortable and I would think would be great for people (like ourselves) who in other circumstances might be up for more of an adventure (younger.. fitter etc!) but who really need the reassurance of an ensuite! We stayed on a Thursday night and the place was pretty empty so rather than a buffet they prepared a variety of dishes for our supper including some absolutely delicious chicken and lamb as well as the usual variety of hummus etc. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet and a bit more limited but perfectly fine. As we haven't stayed anywhere else in Wadi Rum we don't have any comparisons as to location but the surrounding area was beautiful and it was only a short drive to the Visitors Centre. We found all the staff to be very welcoming and helpful. On the morning we left we had a good clamber around the rocks around and then a swim in the cold but clean pool. All in all would highly recommend for those who want something a bit different but realistically want to have some comforts.

Room Tip: We stayed in Chalets 6 and 7 - good location close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wanting to experience the beautiful Wadi Rum desert but not having much time and still having the comfort of a hotel the Bait Ali Lodge is the place to stay. A short distance off the highway the Lodge is an oasis in the middle of stunning scenery. The gardens layout offers various styles of accomodation and we stayed in one of the deluxe cabins with a king size bed, toilet, shower and AC. There is solar hot water system that appears to be shared between cabins but when we went to have a shower in the morning our neighbouring cabin had used up all the hot water. The lodge has many comfortable and shaded seating areas and a lovely pool area. Food and drink is available for reasonable prices and dinner and breakfast are included in the over night rate. They don't have credit card facilities so make sure you can pay in cash. We stayed on a Friday night which is usually a party night at the lodge and were advise of this on check in. We found this a great way to meet and dance with Jordanians and was one of many highlights of our trip. The lodge can organise guides for desert trips and we went on a sunset trip which was simply stunning. We wish we had more time to enjoy the beauty of Wadi Rum but this was a nice way to experience it.

Room Tip: You can look at the different styles of accommodation before making a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was my fourth trip to Wadi Rum. I love the place, fascinating. This time, we thought to pay extra (it was around 400% more than what we paid before, in order to spend a more comfortable night. We got maybe 10 to 20% more for the 400% extra cost. Staff did not seem to care, specially the manager. The food was very very bad, the salad smelled like it contained rotten tomatoes. Would not go back.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a lovely stay for a good price. They have a nice pool and quad bikes and lovely food. Bare vibes agwan. Rode quad bikes into the sunrise and came back for a freshly cooked breakfast and a swim in the pool. Looking forwards to going back with my family

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

After doing quite a bit of research on places to stay in Wadi Rum, we chose Bait Ali, and what a great choice it was. We stayed for 2 nights and both nights were very different, as the first night was very quiet and peaceful and on the second night there was a party with great music and dancing.The cold water in the swimming pool is a welcome respite from the desert heat. The manager Yousef went out of his way to help us organise great activities with wonderful guides (camel, quad bikes, jeep safari). The food was delicious (zarb - the traditional bedouin way of cooking food underground) and some of the best hummus in Jordan. We stayed in a little room with a fan which was very good value. Some people are hesitant to stay here because it is not in the 'protected area' - for us it made no difference as the surrounding scenery is the same as what we saw in the protected area - desert and rocks. The facilities are worth it - it was great to lie down in the amphitheatre and watch the beautiful stars. Wifi in the reception area meant we were always in touch. I think in Jordan it's definitely worth doing the whole genuine 'camping with bedouins' at least once but if you've already done that and are looking for a bit more comfort and chill-out time this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bait Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bait Ali

Address: Wadi Rum, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bait Ali 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bait Ali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bait Ali Hotel Wadi Rum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bait Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.