We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for what i paid” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Desert Camp

Save Saved
You added Captain's Desert Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain's Desert Camp
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Ad-Disi, Wadi Rum 00962, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 100 Specialty lodging in Wadi Rum
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best value for what i paid”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I realy had great time there thank you guys at captains i had my dream at your camp
The camp was clean will orgenized and made our experience rich to remember
Jeep tour with the guide arranged by the camp was perfect also there is no words to tell sbout the camel ride
Food is somthing ! Best ever

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    53
    10
    11
    10
See reviews for
50
45
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

when i first went there i was amazed from the view and the camp it self, those guys knows how to do it and perfectly! there is a guys called shabaan you must set with him he reflects the real Jordanian hospitality with his attitude and professionalism , his way of talking showing around really give you the feeling of i dont wanna go back home i want to stay with those people as they knows how to treat and pamper you. Rafiq the owner is a gentleman who care for his guests and always try to invest the coming days to have them back again and again, they have local food Zarb you must try it as well the arayes don't miss the camels ride and the 4*4 tours, the tents are well equipped and the camp is very much clean.

they have oud player and arabic classical music that take your breath away while listening to them, nice show of the arabic coffee how to do it and guess what you try it as well, very nice !

captain camp wadi rum is a place where you go only if you wanna enjoy, relax and leave all issues behind! so mainly all wanna go there....

Room Tip: don't forget your cameras !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My first trip to Captain's Desert Camp in Wadi Rum was on 2003 I spent two nights, it was unforgettable amazing experience for me and my husband. We were treated so warmly, We ride camels and ride jeep hikes into the desert, then we watched the sunset, at night it’s something else … a very enjoyable evening around the campfire and the atmosphere was real bedouin, the food was full of varieties and the accommodation was comfortable.

Since that time am visiting Captain's Camp in Wadi Rum every year to repeat my dream. I highly recommend you to visit Captain's Camp in Wadi Rum, and am sure 100% the you will enjoy every moment of your stay there .

Room Tip: all rooms can be used
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Its was only obe night but it was a nice dream
Wadi rum is an amazing placce and captains camp made my trip there perfect
Clean warm nice elegant and great staff
Food is too tasty and too much
Tea served to us all time !
Simply it was a dream

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a private camp just for our tour group of 6 people that was organised by the Captain's Desert Camp. We travelled from the main Desert Camp to our camp on camels which was slow but great fun. Our Bedouin hosts were very friendly and prepared us delicious food for breakfast and dinner and heaps and heaps of tea. The tents were spacious and well appointed with beds and linen. The bathrooms were clean but didn't have hot water so be prepared for cold showers in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The visit to Wadi Rum (The moon valley) has been one of the highlights of out trip to Jordan! Wadi Rum is amazing. Stunning views and simply a breathtaking experience because of the great mountains and the beautiful desert.

We felt in very good hands at The Captain's Desert Camp and had a very unique experience. The camp is well equipped and has a beautiful layout in authentic beduin style - with the mountains in the background. It is very comfortable, cozy and clean. The staff and polite, helpful and very kind and go out of their way to make you feel at home.

We went driving in the desert in a 4x4 and enjoyed some desert racing (mind you, in a professional, experienced and controlled way!), had some amazing photo opportunities and climbed up on a tall rock to enjoy the sunset - stunning.

We enjoyed a delicious dinner and enjoyed beduin music and relaxed by the fire with our traditional tea afterwards - the perfect ending of our visit to Wadi Rum.
The only thing wrong with our experience at Wadi Rum and the Captain's Desert Camp was that it ended too soon! Will definitely have to come back to spend the night next time I go to Jordan.

Room Tip: Don't forget warm clothing, the desert gets cold at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viernheim
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our Overnight in Wadi Rum was for us an unforgettable amazing experience.
Starting with the support and organization in the Desert Camp. We had. a very enjoyable evening around the campfire with Shisha, Tea and home roasted Coffee.
I think that you can not do better. In Jordan itself has impressed us, the friendliness of the people. Always and everywhere, we were warmly greeted. Often it came at a tea to interesting conversations.
Also, the scenery and the variety of cultural witnesses We were pleasantly surprised.
Last but not least we would like to also thank our driver.
> Unfortunately, we lost his email address. With its open, human and lovable nature of our trip, he has put his personal stamp. We have always felt safe. He drove us not only through the area. He explained to us the country, people and history and brought closer.
Jordan, next year we'll be back.
Helmut V.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain's Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Desert Camp

Address: Ad-Disi, Wadi Rum 00962, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 100 Specialty lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Desert Camp 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains Desert Camps Offers more than an option for a pleasant, luxurious & comfortable stay in Wadi Rum. The magical desert of Wadi Rum is a true wonder of nature. You can choose from staying at the main captains camp located In Disi or at one of our echo camps inside the protected area of Wadi Rum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Captain's Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Desert Camp Hotel Wadi Rum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Desert Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.