We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rumshines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rumshines to your Saves list
Rumshines
Wadi Rum protected area, Wadi Rum 1999, Jordan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

There's quite a few camps in Wadi Rum but we were really impressed with this one. Khaled and his team are welcoming, tolerant, friendly, and extremely helpful with everything from access directions to explaining what to do in the area. This was necessary, as we had our own 4WD and got lost a lot...
The team cook tasty food, a lot of it, and are as accessible as you want. If you want privacy they give it, or if you want a lot of interaction that's also possible (with a smile). They cater equally well to independent families as they do to families with children. There's a great rock area right next to camp on which we played guitar and enjoyed spectacular sunsets. The tents are above ground on a firm base, and are comfortable and clean. We were very happy to stay at Rumshines, and recommend it to any traveller to Wadi Rum.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
23
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Pros
-Stunning Scenery
-Peaceful
-Wonderful Moments
-Really good food
-Beautiful Photos
-Great Guide 'Ahmed' & very friendly other guides
-Campfire & Stars
-Good fun :)
-Lots of walking
-Amazing tea! :)

Cons
-A bit slower pace then we were used to for the rest of the trip (long lunches, finished for the day by 4pm) but other people would probably prefer this pace
-We planned to do 2.5days/2nights trip but we managed to fit it all in 2 days/2nights nicely.
-1.5hr camel ride= sore bum! ha ha



Take a torch :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I brought my Mother to Jordan for her 50th birthday and spent a night with Rumshines in Wadi Rum. We were so impressed by their organization and professionalism. Khaled is a gentleman, very friendly, witty and so knowledgeable & passionate about Wadi Rum.

Our tour was so much fun, lots of climbing and hiking to great vantage points. The secenery is second to none- so beautiful and ever changing.

The food was a real surprise as it is prepared in the traditional Bedouin way- cooked under the sand, was so tasty that we went back for seconds!

The sunset & night under the stars was magical- a day & night we will never forget. I will be back for sure and couldn’t recommend Khaled & Rumshines highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumshines, Guest Relations Manager at Rumshines, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello
thank you for your great review and the recommendation to visit Rumshines and our staff so warmly. We are glad to hear, that you and your mother enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be pleased to see you again as guests in Rumshines
The Rumshines team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Simply incredible!!!
Amazing jeep tour with ALI, the best guide, who made us a typical Bedouin meal, in the middle of the desert.
And the evenings, drinking Bedouin tea. Khaled's stories are one of the great experiences you will get for staying in Rumshines camp!! It was really nice to sit around the fire with Khaled and his staff. The bedouin music and the dancing were very touching. And to look to the night stars.... You can see each and every galaxy. Simply marvelous!!!.
But what I liked (and that's why I will return) most is the magic desert, the silence...the relaxing atmosphere... I've never felt such happiness and peace.
I recommend Khaled's Camp as you won't be dissapointed !!! It is amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumshines, Guest Relations Manager at Rumshines, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello Ana,
thank you for your excellent review and the recommendation for Rumshines and our staff. We are happy to hear that the jeep tour was a great experience for all of you and that you could feel the magic of our place.
It was a pleasure to have you with your family here with us and hope to see you all soon here back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Let's face it Rumshines is a camp and like any camp in the desert you can't pretend to have absolute cleaniness.

So if you think you can't sleep if your tent is dusty then stay away from camping.

Said so, Rumshines team, lead by Khaled, is very professional and does its best to make your staying enjoyable and unique.

They pay a lot attention to details that you don't expect in the middle of Wadi Rum: paper cups, napkins and clean ceramic dishes, and other comforts like toilets and showers.

Service orientation and teamwork does make the difference but a lot of Rumshines success goes to Khaled who has over 10 years of managing experience in tourism and accommodation.

He belongs to the new generation of Bedouins understanding how to balance innovation with traditions, tourism management, social media and technology with Bedouins' celebrated sense of hospitality.

Best moment? At night under the stars all the guest around the campfire with our hosts singing chants and playing music!

Truly a great experience, I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumshines, Guest Relations Manager at Rumshines, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello jferri,
thank you for your detailed and good review about Rumshines camp. We are glad to hear, that you are appreciating the efforts we are doing to make the stay as comfortable as possible for our guests and that you enjoyed your time with us.
We would be glad to have you back here as a guest.
The Rumshines team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed over Easter under the 2 day (Hiking) 1 night package as part of an extended holiday through the Middle East. Easy to spot the camp reps post visitors centre and organise leaving car at lodge carpark (no issues).

We then had an afternoon driven round to some of the main 'tourist' sites of Wadi rum with our personal Bedouin guide which are visited by pretty much all the camps and their guests. It was reasonably hot but not uncomfortably and while there was a bit of small scrambling up a few dunes and/or rocky mountains there wasn't much of a 'hike' per se as expected which was a little dissapointing.

Arrived at the camp that afternoon which was pretty much full with circa 20-30 odd guests and left to relax watch the sunset

With no experience of staying in a camp previous it certainly seemed well maintained with a seperate shower/toilet block which included a western toilet and certainly on observation a lot 'posher' than the local Bedouins make do with.

Food was plentiful and as always Bedouin tea was in abundance. All staff were very welcoming and accomodating for the the different nationalities and guest agendas that seemed to be staying.

2nd day after breakfast we then did have a circa 2:30 hour hike (up and down) to a suspended arch which was good fun and included some mild scrambling before returning for lunch and then driven back to the exit.

Wadi Rum itself is beautiful and thoroughly recommended place to visit in a visit to Jordan. The team at Rumshines were very efficient and friendly - we misplaced a camera in our tent and Ahmed kindly arranged it to be posted back to the UK so again I cannot fault them and would happily recommend to friends.

If you are looking for well run efficient, modern wadi-rum desert experience then I would reserve with Rumshines as you won't be dissappointed. If you are looking for a bit more 'rough round the edges'/real back to basics then I would suggest seeking alternatives.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We booked a hiking tour with Rumshines for three days and three nights. We started our tour from Wadi Rum visitor center by jeep, visiting the sand dunes area and Lawrence’s house. We stopped near one of the rock bridges for lunch, and then we continued on hiking to the top of the rock bridge with our guide Salami and it took two and a half hours. We turned back to build our own tent for the night. It was a great night! Sitting around the fire and making our dinner there. You feel like you’re away from the whole world.
On the second day, after breakfast, we transferred by jeep to Jebel Al Hash, where we hiked for the whole day. We had our lunch on the top of this mountain, with the amazing view. We slept under the stars that night.
On the third day, we hiked to the tallest mountain in Jordan, Jebel Um ad Dami, from where we saw the border with Saudi Arabia. There was a nice view; we could see the different colors from the top of the mountain. We returned to our camp to build our own tent, because that night it was a little cold, but very nice sitting next to the fire and having our barbeque dinner there. We recommend this tour for anybody who loves a good hike. It was good that we had a choice to either sleep in the Bedouin camp, or outside. Thanks to all!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rumshines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumshines

Address: Wadi Rum protected area, Wadi Rum 1999, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Rumshines Team, local Bedouins living in Wadi Rum working in the tourism industry. We runs several different tours in Wadi Rum, from Hiking, Climbing, Walking, Camel, and Jeep Tours. We care about our community and our environment. We value cultural exchange and enjoy teaching our guests about the local history and ways of the Bedouin people. Our camp is located in the sunset area 14km from Wadi Rum village, inside the protected area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rumshines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumshines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.