We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rumshines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rumshines to your Saves list
Rumshines
Wadi Rum protected area, Wadi Rum 1999, Jordan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Superb service and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had the 4WD, hiking and camelride tour on a 2 night 2,5day tour. The setting of the camp is in a remote and stunning scenery of Wadi Rum. Don't expect any luxury out here. There's one shower and one suitable toilet for all, but expansion of the sanitairy block is under contruction. The food is felicious and drinks are included. The flies and dust are part of the trip to the desert...! The tours arefine, the drive brings you to all the interesting points, the hikes are best to be discussed before you take off for some include some mountaineering interest and/or no fear of steep cliffs. The camelride to the village was fun. All service is excellent, but do ask for any extra info, not every driver/guide knows how eager you are about the requested touristic needs.

Room Tip: All Bedoin tents have good matrasses, only one sheet, blankets. Mind to bring own towels and torches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumshines, Guest Relations Manager at Rumshines, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello maklijn, thank you for wonderful review about our desert camp. We are glad, that you and your family enjoyed the stay with us at Rumshines. As you mentioned, we are still improving our camp with a new sanitary block for the convenience of our guests and we hope to finish it soon.
We hope to see you again in Rumshines
The Rumshines team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
23
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I spent three days (two nights) with Rumshines, and absolutely loved the experience. Organisation of the trip was easy and communication was not an issue; our lodging was comfortable, clean and warm; and the tour was stunning! Our guide was very friendly and allowed us lots of opportunities for photos and to be flexible with our time. Due to rain, some of the itinerary was changed slightly, but we were always given an option and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring Wadi Rum. I can 100% recommend Rumshines as a quality and value-for-money option when visiting Wadi Rum.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumshines, Guest Relations Manager at Rumshines, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello adainty, thank you for your warm review about our Rumshines camp and the recommendation to others to visit Rumshines.

We are glad to have you as our guests again, maybe next time without rain.
The Rumshines team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, ca
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We loved our day/night with Rumshines. Ahmed and Khaleed were very professional in arranging our stay. Salame was a great guide - fluent in English and funny. We took two tours with him. Food was honest and good. Despite rockhard pillows and no topsheet (I'm not a germaphobe but even in fine hotels want a sheet between blanket and skin) we slept like the rocks around us. We took a camel ride to cross it off the bucket list. Rumshines arranged it well, just not something we liked. In all, I'd recommend Rumshines ardently.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rumshines, Guest Relations Manager at Rumshines, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello robbinpeggy, thank you for your great review and the recommendation to visit Rumshines. We are glad, that you and your friends enjoyed the tours with Salame and that you appreciate our organisation for your stay.
We would be pleased to see you again as guests in Rumshines
The Rumshines team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonberg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Located at a perfect spot in the Rum Desert the Camp is a wonderful place. Perfectly organized by Khaled (the owner) everything went smoothly from the booking via email, the tour itself with a very good guide and the time at the camp. Good food, comfortable tents and even a real bathroom in the middle of the desert. The people are friendly and helpful. The trip to the desert was the absolute highlight of our Jordan trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent 2 nights, 1 day in this place (Jeep tour). I was totally impressed by the landscapes and... silence. It will stay one of the best memory of our Jordan trip. The camp is great with a central tent where everybody shares good cups of tea and meals. Hosts are very nice and arrange everything to make your trip great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

For the great moments in the desert, for the conversations around the fire, for the eating in the sun... no, eating in the shade - no this is a windy place! ;) For camel coats, pushing trucks, caressing camels, drinking tea. For the flowers on the sand, for the smell, for the sunset. For the year of the snow.
Red, dusty, rocky, smoky, adventurous, warm, cold, romantic, million stars... great Suleiman!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

What a wonderful experience it was camping with the Bedouin in Rumshines. Khalid, Ahmed, Yousef and Adel made us feel so welcome and were wonderful hosts. They were curious about our lives and were very open when we asked them about theirs.
Accommodation is very comfortable in raised Tents with solid floors and beds. They are in the process of building a separate Ladies shower / toilet block so there will be no need to share soon (although it wasn't a problem at all). Food was outstanding for a desert camp (thanks Yousef) and they guys had great suggestions as to things to do. I would recommend at least two nights and I would say that three or four may be better. They offer great 4x4 trips around the Wadi and great hikes as well. This has to be the best way to experience the awe inspiring Wadi Rum.
Keep in mind that there is no electricity. I was lucky enough to have bought my car charger for my Camera and had to use it both nights. I recommend extra batteries if you plan on staying a few days. A torch is also needed. We visited in March 2014 and the weather was perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We had a queen sized bed which was quite comfortable. You will need your own pil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rumshines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumshines

Address: Wadi Rum protected area, Wadi Rum 1999, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Rumshines Team, local Bedouins living in Wadi Rum working in the tourism industry. We runs several different tours in Wadi Rum, from Hiking, Climbing, Walking, Camel, and Jeep Tours. We care about our community and our environment. We value cultural exchange and enjoy teaching our guests about the local history and ways of the Bedouin people. Our camp is located in the sunset area 14km from Wadi Rum village, inside the protected area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Rumshines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rumshines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.