We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot, great guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunrise Camp to your Saves list
Sunrise Camp
Rum Village, Wadi Rum, Jordan   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Amman
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, great guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you go to Wadi Rum look no further than Ali Hamad. He was extremely kind, helpful and great company. He cooked us a great meal and we had the camp all to ourselves. It was a truly glorious night under the stars. Thank you Ali and see you soon, Alex. :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali Hamad Z, Owner at Sunrise Camp, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi Alex,

Thank you very much for the Excellent review and we always do our maximum.

See you soon Alex

Wish you all the best

Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at first in Sunrise Camp of Ali at first with my TV crew 9 years ago, We enjoyed it very much. He and his family all are amazing persons. He took us by his car all over the Wadi Rum, he showed us very romantic and mystical places , He knows all the legends of this miracle place. His family is the most ancient family of the desert, he teached my daughter to make fire in the desert for the tea and his family cooked delicous dinner under the sand. We were sleeping under the stars. I have never watched so many stars on the sky than in Ali, s camp.
We returned this year again. My husband was climbing and I was wondering the nature and the life of bedouin people. Location is nice and very comfortable. Bathroom in the desert! Shortly we love this camp and we love so much Ali and his family. We want to go back very soon. You can find yourself hear. Amazing place, incredible people and friends forever. Try it, never forget it! Thanks Ali! We come back soon! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali Hamad Z, Owner at Sunrise Camp, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hello Andrea, nice to hear from you here.

Thank you very much for the wonderful review and reportage you did for your TV channel about Sunrise camp.

We love to see you here and you are always welcome.

Catch you soon

Take care

Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It is an amazing ...withe an amazing team I realy enjoyed with my family ..it was a beautiful place to relax ....the food ...the people especialy Mrs ali ..everything was great...Iam dreaming every day to go back there ...its my favourite place in the world.. u can feel and see the real generouse of bedouin life and people.. I do recommend everyone to visit that wonderful camp and enjoy thier services :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali Hamad Z, Manager at Sunrise Camp, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello Magdoleen,

Well, we never forgot you and your family, specially you are always very kind with a smile.

Thank you for writing a wonderful review for us.

Wish you all th best and hope to see you here again for more adventures.

Warmest Regards

Ali Hamad Zalabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I visit Wadi Rum whenever I get the chance and need some real relaxation. I have been maybe 8-10 times now and always call Ali Hamad first.
Sunrise camp is ideally located if you want the best of the sunrise and sunset. It has the classic viewpoint chosen by David Lean (in the film Lawrence of Arabia) to display the magnificent Jabal Rum and Jabal Um Ishrin. The light hitting these mountains at dusk and dawn is indescribable and there cannot be many better locations to experience this.
The accommodation is basic and traditional but comfortable and flexible. There is a relaxed and friendly atmosphere in the camp and the needs of visitors are the priority for Ali. The price is very good value and there are no hidden extras. Ali will always do his best to take care of his guests and supply their needs. This includes pick up and drop off times and locations, day trips, hikes, jeep or camel tours etc etc. You can be confident that you are getting the best deal and the best service. I would recommend Ali and Sunrise camp to anyone. Many arab friends of mine have said that their stay there was the best experience of Wadi Rum they have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali Hamad Z, Owner at Sunrise Camp, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice words, my friend.

We love to see you here with us and we are happy when you are happy.

Hope to see you here soon for more adventures.

We are also offering discount packages to people who has been here many times.

We wish you all the best for your future

Catch you soon here someday

Ali Hamad Zalabia

www.wadirumdesert.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The breathtaking landscapes, sunsets, sunrises, shifting shadows and animated colours of Wadi Rum made for a uniquely relaxing and magical experience.

Lying on one of the silky red dunes and staring up into the silent night sky before sleeping is something I will never forget.

Ali is a wonderful host, a gentleman, super cool and of course a great story teller. His motivation to enrich your experience clearly comes from great love for, and a powerful connection to his beautiful home. Nothing is a problem and whatever you need, Ali will do his utmost to provide for you. Great value and no hidden costs. If you need any add on experiences, Ali will advise what is on offer and make the necessary arrangements for you. There's no pushing or a hard sell either, so just ask if want to do a bit more than just chill.

Tasty fresh food and snacks, refreshing tea and plenty of water is provided during your stay. Your main meal will be beautifully cooked on a dessert wood fire before your eyes.

Don't think twice about making this trip and entrusting a memorable experience to Ali and his great team.

Simply wonderful and not to be missed.

See you soon Ali. أراك في مابعد

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali Hamad Z, Owner at Sunrise Camp, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi Kalross,

Thank you for writing to us again we are very happy that you enjoyed your trip in Wadi Rum.
We hope to see you again ,fell free to contact us any time.

Take care.

Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsica, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I wouldn't say it's the best camp in Wadi Rum because it's the only one I have been to, but this one was just perfect : Ali and Alia just do their best (and succeed to) to host you, feed you, give the best advices for the moutains around, and share their family life with you. Wadi Rum is not the easier spot to climb and trek for 2 girls, but with Ali and Alia as a base camp, you feel like you're coming back home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali Hamad Z, Owner at Sunrise Camp, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Delphine,


Thanks for calling us again and interest, pleasure that you are happy when you are staying here

We wish to see you again in Wadi Rum .
Take care ,

Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pont en Royans, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I'm a mountain guide specialized in rock climbing guiding tours all over the world. 10 years ago I met Ali and now I have travelled more than 15 times with him. The only thing I can say is that it's perfect and I have never been disappointed. If you want to learn the desert, the mountains and the bedouin's life go on and trust Ali !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ali Hamad Z, Owner at Sunrise Camp, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hi Simon, thank you for trusting us and you will never be disappointed :-)

I'm always happy to climb with you and you are one of the most experienced climbers I ever been with. I'm glad to know you.

Catch you soon in Wadi Rum.

Wish you all the best.

Take care

Ali Hamad Zalabia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunrise Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Camp

Address: Rum Village, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunrise Camp is the first Bedouin camp in the desert of Wadi Rum owned by Ali Hamad Zalabia. We offer many packages such as Jeep tours, hiking, climbing, camel rides, local Bedouin food with sleeping under thousands of stars. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.