We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top north” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bedouin Directions

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wadi Rum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bedouin Directions
Save
You added Bedouin Directions to your Saves list
Bedouin Camp, Wadi Rum Protected Area | PO Box 1008, Wadi Rum, Jordan   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top north”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Mihedi and his crew are top notch. Prior to booking the desert trip, I emailed a number of different companies, and Mihedi's responses were always the most prompt, and most thorough. He tailored a program just for us (my wife and I had had some uninspired desert experiences before, we wanted something different this time around), and worked with us to keep to our admittedly tight budget. The campsite was great - there were no other camps in sight, so it felt like we had a corner of the desert to ourselves. We were there during a full moon so it was light enough to do a late-night moonlight hike as well - definitely a highlight. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    39
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
84
137
29
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Drove from Petra to Wadi Rum. Underestimated the time needed at Petra, so got to Wadi Rum a couple of hours late. Borrowed a guys phone at Petra, to tell him that we would be late. Mehedi, said no problem. Make sure you do the talking. Local to local doesn't seem to have the same effect. Once you get to the gates of Wadi Rum. You'll be inundated by loiterers wanting to buy a marked up ticket on your behalf. Ignore them and go to the guard building directly. Buy your ticket. Ask for Mehedi, and his brother (their picture is on the website) will call ahead for you. Drive a mile in and park on the right, take photos of the 7 pillars on the left. Mehedi was waiting for us at the parking lot and helped with your gear.

You'll find that his camp is inside a horseshoe rock formation that does wonders at blocking the wind. The location makes sleeping outside of your tent under the stars terrific.

Everything is scheduled. So we had were able to make our way to Aquaba and into Eilat on time the next day. We met mostly Americans and Canadians around Wadi Rum's sights. Would definitely come back.

Bring a headlamp for brushing your teeth at night. Also a strong flashlight for walking around at night.

Didn't use the shower. Did that in Israel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We really enjoyed spending New Years' Eve in Wadi Rum with Bedouin Directions including a full day jeep tour and overnight stay. Everything was very well organised from the very beginning. Mehedi replied to our mail promptly and provided answers to all our answers. He has also helped us organize our trip from Petra to Wadi Rum and was more than willing to explain to us everything for our tour when we arrived in the village there but also in the camp after our tour.

The guide that came with us along the jeep tour was very nice and helpful, took us to various sightseeings where we took our time to enjoy the nature at its best and take photos without rush.

The camp is located in a very nice spot, naturaly surrounded by rocks, which offer some more hiking opportunities if a visitor wants to explore the area around it. The whole team was very friendly and helpful and always willing to accomodate in the best possible way the visitor requests. The dinner was really tasty and cooked in the tradditional way while there was also music and dance when all guests gathered together enjoying the Bedouin hospitality with plenty of Bedouin tea in the main tent next to the fire. We stayed up until late and the evening ended with some fireworks so as to welcome 2013!

We would definitely recommend Bedouin Directions to other visitors and we hope that we will be able to get back one day as Wadi Rum cannot be exhausted with one day visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great email communication, value, food and unforgettable experience. Highly recommend this tour group:) The camp's unique location (compared to other tour company's) is the coolest! Note: there are no hot showers (only cold) provided in the winter but a big pot of hot water can be provided for washing up before bed and in the morning:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Bedouin Directions experience was awesome and I would highly recommend this camp for your stay in Wadi Rum. Mehedi arranged everything that we wanted to do, and the stay was perfect. We arrived in the afternoon to the Bedouin village, and Mehedi was there to greet us. He brought us to our camels and guide, and we took an hour long camel ride towards camp (which was a good amount of time). We were then driven the rest of the way to the remote Bedouin Directions camp. The location of the camp makes you feel like you are the only one out in the middle of the vast, beautiful desert. Prior to arriving, I emailed Mehedi and asked about special food accomodations, and Mehedi arranged everything, resulting in an amazing and unforgetable dinner experience! The evening music and entertainment provided was a wonderful glimpse into Bedouin traditions, and we later took a late-night stroll in the desert, which was truly extraordinary. On our second day, Mehedi arranged for us to take a desert jeep tour which was marvelous and should not be missed. An even better treat was that our jeep tour guide happened to be one of Mehedi's friends that is a renowned Jordanian musician!
In summary, Bedouin Directions was a stellar Wadi Rum experience, accommodating special requests, last minute changes to our schedule, with no problem. I would love to go back and spend more time in the Wadi Rum with the Bedouin Direction group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radebeul, Deutschland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Myself and my friends recently used Bedouin Directions for our jeep tour and overnight in Wadi Rum. Our Guide Salem cooked our lunch over the fire.
We spend the night in the camp and have traditionell food, tee and folk music.

Mehedi is a brilliant guide, very flexible, understated, and has a mischievious sense of humour. We would recommend him to anyone. Next time we plan to go back to Wadi Rum for a bit longer and we will definitely use Bedouin Directions again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had the pleasure of going on a tour with Bedouin Directions in November. From the beginning of my planning Mehedi was excellent. He replied promptly to emails and managed to create a very flexible itinerary for us. He also organised all our transfers from the border at Aqaba to Wadi Rum and from Wadi Rum to Petra. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Wadi Rum. We rode camels, drank tea in tents, climbed sand dunes and rocks and watched the sun set over the dessert. Our guide and cook were excellent too. There were only the 3 of us on the tour and so we spoke to our guide a lot and learnt a lot about his culture which was very interesting. Would definitely recommend a) visiting Wadi Rum and b) using Bedouin Directions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedouin Directions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedouin Directions

Address: Bedouin Camp, Wadi Rum Protected Area | PO Box 1008, Wadi Rum, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Wadi Rum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy some dinner, the stars and the night in the desert. This Bedouin camp is in the white desert in a unique and beautiful location, secluded and away from any other tourist camps well within the protected area of Wadi Rum. We have simple desert bathrooms which have showers and toilets (Arab & Western). We have a comfortable main tent with a fire for sitting and relaxing in. Guests sleep in Bedouin tents which are supplied with mattresses and plenty of blankets. Guests also have the option of sleeping outside under the stars, in the camp or we can take you to a special camping spot in the wilderness area, away from the camp. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedouin Directions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.